Central Azores

  • 10 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Autumn
  • Solo
  • Friends
  • Group
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Faune and flora
  • Adventure / Sports & Leisure
  • Medium

Starting with Faial directly since Lisbon, you can hope to visit the three islands of the central group; It is then necessary to negotiate its journey, depending on the timetables of the boats in particular.

Photo gallery

<p>View of Faial.</p> Marina de Horta. <p>An island ideal for a green stay!</p> Ascension on Pico Island. <p>Landscape of Pico Island.</p> <p>View of the São Jorge coast.</p> <p>View of the Capelinhos volcano.</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Horta
  • Cedros
  • Caldeira
  • Capelinhos
  • Pico
  • Madalena
  • Lajes do Pico
  • São Jorge
  • Velas
  • Ribeira Seca
  • Fajã do Vimes
  • Fajã da Caldeira de Santo Cristo
  • São Roque
  • Praia do Almoxarife
  • Rosais
  • Castelo Branco
  • Crição Velha
  • Lajido
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Central Azores - 10 days

Day 1 : Arrival on the island of Faial

. Visit to Horta from his port. Climb Monte da Guia for a good overview of the bay. It is possible to swim in Porto Pim on the other side of the peninsula.

Day 2 : Escapade in the volcanic zone

Tour of Faial Island, passing through Praia do Almoxarife, Cedros, Capelinhos and his fascinating center of interpretation of the volcano. Walk on the heights or on the volcano, then return to Horta by the south via Morro de Castelo Branco.

Day 3 : Hiking in the green nature of the island

Hiking in the Naturel Natural Park in the centre of the island. The passage by Caldeira.

Day 4 : Departure for Pico Island and exploration of vines around Madalena

Departure for Pico by boat (only minutes) and discovery of Madalena and its surroundings. Explore the Gruta das Torres, get lost in the giant labyrinth of Crição Velha's vineyards, classified as World Heritage, visit the Vin Wine Museum and leave with a bottle of verdelho. Sleep in Madalena.

Day 5 : Tower of Pico Island

Tower of Pico Island following the north coast. In the middle of the adegas, these traditional wine cellars in basalt, and discover the wine area and the interpretation center of Lajido. Visit of São Roque and its whaling plant. Direction the interior and its sparkling lakes, then Lajes do Pico, its beautiful museum, its end of the world and its breathtaking views of Mount Pico.

Day 6 : Observation of whales

Whale watching in Lajes (also possible from Madalena), then walk in the afternoon. Or visit the south coast and its mistérios, lava flows that swept everything on their path, or on the east coast, aside from everything, and less tourist.

Day 7 : Departure for the island of São Jorge

Departure from Madalena or São Roque (Cais do Pico) for São Jorge. Arrival in Laid and discover the small town. Visit of Sete Fonts park, near Rosais. Walk to the lighthouse if possible.

Day 8 : Discovery of local crafts

South coast of São Jorge. Visit of the handicraft cooperative of Senhora da Encarnaço, in Ribeira do Nabo, and then the Fromage cheese factory at Riberira Seca. Photo stops on the fajãs road, and definitely stop at Fajã dos Vimes Café. Depending on your time, push to Topo or return directly to Laid.

Day 9 : Trekking

North Shore of São Jorge and his fajãs. Not to miss: Fajã do Ouvidor, Fajã dos Cubres and Fajã da Caldeira de Santo Cristo, one of the most inaccessible. Only walkers will succeed in achieving it: beautiful panoramic views.

Day 10 : Last Stroll

Last walk on São Jorge before returning to Faial. The ultimate stroll stroll along the mythical pier of Horta marina and Peter's Bar, an equally legendary institution.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Les Açores centrales

  • 10 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Automne
  • Solo
  • Amis
  • Groupe
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Faune et flore
  • Aventure / Sports et loisirs
  • Moyen

En partant pour Faial directement depuis Lisbonne, vous pouvez espérer visiter les trois îles du groupe central ; il faut alors bien négocier son périple, en fonction des horaires des bateaux notamment.

Galerie photos

Vue de Faial. Marina de Horta. Une île idéale pour un séjour vert ! Ascension sur l'île de Pico. Paysage de l'île de Pico. Vue de la côte de São Jorge. Vue du volcan Capelinhos.

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • RIBEIRA SECA
  • SÃO ROQUE
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Les Açores centrales - 10 jours

Jour 1 : Arrivée sur l'île de Faial

Faial. Visite de Horta, de son port. Ascension du Monte da Guia pour un bon aperçu de la baie. Avec un peu de temps, il est possible de se baigner à Porto Pim, de l'autre côté de la péninsule.

Jour 2 : Escapade dans la zone volcanique

Tour de l'île de Faial, en passant par Praia do Almoxarife, Cedros, Capelinhos et son passionnant centre d'interprétation du volcan. Promenade sur les hauteurs ou sur le volcan même, puis retour à Horta par le sud via Morro de Castelo Branco.

Jour 3 : Randonnée dans la nature verdoyante de l'île

Randonnée dans le parc naturel de Faial, dans le centre de l'île. Passage incontournable par Caldeira.

Jour 4 : Départ pour l'île de Pico et exploration des vignes autour de Madalena

Départ pour Pico en bateau (à peine une trentaine de minutes) et découverte de Madalena et de ses environs. Explorer la Gruta das Torres, se perdre dans le labyrinthe géant des vignes de Crição Velha, classées au Patrimoine mondial, visiter le musée du Vin de Carmo et repartir avec une bouteille de verdelho. Dormir à Madalena.

Jour 5 : Tour de l'île de Pico

Tour de l'île de Pico en suivant la côte nord. Balades au milieu des adegas, ces caves à vin traditionnelles en basalte, et découverte de la zone viticole et du centre d'interprétation de Lajido. Visite de São Roque et de son usine baleinière. Direction l'intérieur et ses lacs étincelants, puis Lajes do Pico, son beau musée, son ambiance de bout du monde et ses vues imprenables sur le mont Pico.

Jour 6 : Observation des baleines

Observation des baleines à Lajes (possible aussi depuis Madalena), puis promenade l'après-midi dans les environs. Ou visite de la côte sud et de ses mistérios, coulées de lave qui ont tout emporté sur leur chemin, ou encore de la côte orientale, écartée de tout, et moins touristique.

Jour 7 : Départ pour l'île de São Jorge

Départ depuis Madalena ou São Roque (Cais do Pico) pour São Jorge. Arrivée à Velas et découverte de la petite ville. Visite du parc de Sete Fontes, près de Rosais. Promenade jusqu'au phare si possible.

Jour 8 : Découverte de l'artisanat local

Côte sud de São Jorge. Visite de la coopérative d'artisanat de Senhora da Encarnaço, à Ribeira do Nabo, puis de la fabrique de fromage de Lourais, à Riberira Seca. Arrêts photo sur la route des fajãs, et immanquable halte au Café Nunes de Fajã dos Vimes. Selon le temps qu'il vous reste, pousser jusqu'à Topo ou rentrer directement à Velas.

Jour 9 : Randonnée sur les fajãs

Côte nord de São Jorge et ses fajãs. A ne pas manquer : Fajã do Ouvidor, Fajã dos Cubres et Fajã da Caldeira de Santo Cristo, l'une des plus inaccessibles. Seuls les marcheurs parviendront à l'atteindre : superbes panoramas garantis.

Jour 10 : Dernières flâneries

Dernière balade sur São Jorge avant de revenir à Faial. Ultimes flâneries le long de la jetée mythique de la marina de Horta et au Peter's Bar, une institution tout aussi légendaire.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur