The source of Armenian spirituality

  • 13 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Autumn
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Medium

Armenia, a country of temples and monasteries. Take your walking shoes, and leave on this spiritual road, which will also allow you to enjoy spectacular scenery.

Photo gallery

<p>Fish market in Gisenyi.</p> Ancient temple of Furnished. <p>Majestic volcano.</p> <p>Village near Vanadzor.</p> <p>Church of Gyumri.</p> Monastery of Khor Virap. <p>Village in around Goris.</p> <p>Dance in the shadow of volcanoes.</p> <p>Landscape in the Eastern Province.</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Garni
  • Dzaghkadzor
  • Achtarak
  • Mughni
  • Ohanavan
  • Saghmosavan
  • Gyumri
  • Talin
  • Vanadzor
  • Alaverdi
  • Sanahin
  • Haghpat
  • Akhtala
  • Djermouk
  • Sisian
  • Goris
  • Tatev
  • Geghard
  • Khor Virap
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: The source of Armenian spirituality - 13 days

Day 1 : Arrival in Yerevan

Arrival in Yerevan and installation in the capital. First contact with the city and the inhabitants.

Day 2 : Visit of the city

Visit of Yerevan, its museums, churches, including the brand new cathedral Gregory the Illuminator (Krikor Loussavoritch) and its Persian mosque. In the afternoon visit the cathedral of Etchmiadzin, seat of the catholicos, and churches of the city.

Day 3 : First excursion

A short excursion to the temple of Garni, followed by a visit to the monastery of Geghard.

Day 4 : Circuit around Mount Arakadz

Departure by bus or car for the locality of Achtarak (20 km from Yerevan), starting point of a large circuit around Mount Arakadz, punctuated by numerous monasteries and medieval churches (Saghmosavan, Ohanavan, Mughni, etc.). Crossing villages inhabited by Yezidis Kurds. After a stop on the banks of the artificial lake of Abaran, housing around the town of Vanadzor, surrounded by forests.

Day 5 : On the road to monasteries

From Vanadzor, take the river Débed to Alaverdi to visit the magnificent monasteries of Haghpat and Sanahin. A little further north, to Georgia, the monastery of Akhtala, with its churches adorned with frescoes and protected by well preserved walls, deserves the detour.

Day 6 : Around Vanadzor

Half turn towards Vanadzor, from where we will take the west, via Spitak, to Gyumri, ex-Léninakan, which slowly recovers from the terrible earthquake of 1988. Old neighbourhoods typical of Russian colonial architecture, but marked by Armenian influences, visible in the decor of facades of old mansions and churches. Possible accommodation and excursion to Lake Arpa, more than 2 000 m above sea level, at the borders of Armenia and Georgia, in the steppe decor of the Plaine plain.

Day 7 : Volcanic stones and archeological remains

Back to the south, via the town of Artik, famous for its quarry quarries, the volcanic stone in which most Armenian buildings are built, including the beautiful monastery of Haritchavank. Halte in Erérouk, with its ancient Paleochristian basilica and views on the majestic ruins of the ancient Armenian capital Ani, on Turkish territory.

Day 8 : Return to Everan

Return to Winterthur via, and its grand cathedral.

Day 9 : Departure for Southern Armenia

Visit of the rural south through the site of Khor Virap, nestled in vineyards and orchards at the foot of Mount Ararat, visit of the well where Grégoire the Illuminator was locked for thirteen years. We take the road towards the monastery of Noravank, with its singular churches adorned with sculptures, in a decor of high mountains and deep valleys. Accommodation in Djermouk, spa center of altitude, sparkling waterfalls.

Day 10 : Immersion in Armenian rural culture

Visit of the Zanguzour region, which preserved its rural traditions, via Sisian, to Goris and a little further south, the Tatev Monastery, rebuilt after the earthquake that ruined it in the 1930 s, and accessed since 2010 by an exceptional cable car, the longest in Europe.

Day 11 : Yerevan

Return to Yerevan.

Day 12 : Walking along the shores of Lake Sevan

Excursion to Lake Sevan and visit its ancient chapels, via the mountain Resort of Dzaghkadzor.

Day 13 : End of stay

Departure from Yerevan.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Au source de la spiritualité arménienne

  • 13 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Automne
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Moyen

L'Arménie, pays des temples et des monastères. Prenez vos chaussures de marche, et partez sur cette route spirituelle, qui vous permettra également d'apprécier des paysages grandioses.

Galerie photos

Marché de poissons à Gisenyi. Danse à l'ombre des volcans. Site antique de Garni. Majestueux volcan. Village aux environs de Vanadzor. Danse traditionnelle. Monastère de Khor Virap. Village aux environs de Goris. Ruches au bord de l'eau. Pont suspendu dans la forêt de Nyungwe.

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • GARNI
  • DZAGHKADZOR
  • ACHTARAK
  • MUGHNI
  • OHANAVAN
  • SAGHMOSAVAN
  • GYUMRI
  • TALIN
  • VANADZOR
  • ALAVERDI
  • SANAHIN
  • HAGHPAT
  • AKHTALA
  • DJERMOUK
  • SISIAN
  • GORIS
  • TATEV
  • GEGHARD
  • KHOR VIRAP
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Au source de la spiritualité arménienne - 13 jours

Jour 1 : Arrivée à Erevan

Arrivée à Erevan et installation dans la capitale. Premier contact avec la ville et les habitants.

Jour 2 : Visite de la ville

Visite d'Erevan, de ses musées, de ses églises, dont la toute nouvelle cathédrale Grégoire l'Illuminateur (Krikor Loussavoritch) et de sa mosquée persane. Dans l'après-midi, visite de la cathédrale d'Etchmiadzin, siège du catholicos, et des églises de la ville.

Jour 3 : Première excursion

Courte excursion au temple de Garni, suivie d'une visite au monastère de Geghard.

Jour 4 : Circuit autour du mont Arakadz

Départ en bus ou en voiture pour la localité d'Achtarak (20 km d'Erevan), point de départ d'un grand circuit autour du mont Arakadz, jalonné par de nombreux monastères et églises médiévaux (Saghmosavan, Ohanavan, Mughni, etc.). Traversée de villages habités par des Kurdes Yézidis. Après une halte sur les rives du lac artificiel d'Abaran, logement autour de la ville de Vanadzor, entourée de forêts.

Jour 5 : Sur la route des monastères

Depuis Vanadzor, remonter le cours de la rivière Débed, jusqu'à Alaverdi, pour visiter les superbes monastères de Haghpat et Sanahin. Un peu plus au nord, vers la Géorgie, le monastère d'Akhtala, avec ses églises ornées de fresques et protégées par des murailles bien conservées mérite le détour.

Jour 6 : Autour de Vanadzor

Demi-tour vers Vanadzor, d'où on prendra le chemin de l'ouest, via Spitak, jusqu'à Gyumri, ex-Léninakan, qui se remet lentement du terrible séisme de 1988. Vieux quartiers typiques de l'architecture coloniale russe, mais marqués par les influences arméniennes, visibles dans le décor des façades des anciens hôtels particuliers et des églises. Logement possible et excursion au lac d'Arpa, à plus de 2 000 m d'altitude, aux confins de l'Arménie et de la Géorgie, dans le décor steppique de la plaine de Chirak.

Jour 7 : Pierres volcaniques et vestiges archéologiques

Retour vers le sud, via la ville d'Artik, célèbre pour ses carrières de tuf, la pierre volcanique dans laquelle sont construits la plupart des édifices arméniens, dont le beau monastère de Haritchavank. Halte à Erérouk, avec son antique basilique paléochrétienne et le point de vue sur les ruines majestueuses de l'ancienne capitale arménienne Ani, en territoire turc.

Jour 8 : Retour à Everan

Retour à Erévan, via Talin et sa grande cathédrale.

Jour 9 : Départ pour le Sud de l'Arménie

Visite du sud rural en passant par le site de Khor Virap, niché dans les vignobles et les vergers au pied du mont Ararat, visite du puits où fut enfermé Grégoire l'Illuminateur pendant treize ans. On reprend la route en direction du monastère de Noravank, avec ses singulières églises ornées de sculptures, dans un décor de hautes montagnes et de vallées profondes. Logement à Djermouk, centre de cure thermale d'altitude, bruissant de cascades.

Jour 10 : Immérsion dans la culture rural arménienne

Visite de la région du Zanguézour, qui a préservé ses traditions rurales, via Sisian, jusqu'à Goris et un peu plus au sud, le monastère de Tatev, reconstruit après le séisme qui l'avait ruiné dans les années 1930, et auquel on accède depuis 2010 par un téléphérique exceptionnel, le plus long d'Europe.

Jour 11 : Erevan

Retour à Erevan.

Jour 12 : Balades le long des rives du lac Sevan

Excursion au lac Sevan et visite de ses antiques chapelles, via la station de montagne de Dzaghkadzor.

Jour 13 : Fin du séjour

Départ d'Erevan.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur