Weekend in Istanbul

  • 2 days
  • All seasons
  • General public
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Medium

Only 3 hours from France by plane, Istanbul is the ideal destination for a change of scenery, even on a short weekend. One of the advantages of the city is the high concentration of monuments and attractions, which saves the visitor in a hurry to spend too much time on transport to reach one point at another. The Sultanahmet district offers a wide range of hotels and is strategically located in the heart of the historic city, which is full of wonders. In two days, it is possible to see the most famous sites to immerse yourself in the magic of Byzantium and Constantinople.

Photo gallery

Blue Mosque. Panoramic Bosphorus views from the top of the Galata tower.

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Istanbul
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Weekend in Istanbul - 2 days

Day 1 : The historic city and the old Péra

Start with a visit to the must-see Topkapi Palace and its harem, which will hold you for the morning. Then go up to Sultanahmet and after a short lunch break, head for the Basilica of Saint Sophia. As you leave it, dive into the fantastic cave of the Basilica Tank, which is a few metres away. Then cross the gardens leading to the Blue Mosque and head to the adjacent Hippodrome Square. All these sites are within a restricted area, so the tour can be done in one afternoon. In the early evening, cross the Golden Horn over the Galata Bridge to reach the old Péra district dominated by the Genoese tower of Galata. In the passageways and alleys surrounding Tünel Square, you will have plenty to choose from to choose from for a restaurant and a drink in one of the countless cafés bordering Istiklal Caddesi. You will be able to enjoy the hectic Istanbul evenings.

Day 2 : Bazaars, mosques and churches

Located not far from Sainte-Sophie and the Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar (closed on Sundays) remains an essential stopover. Enjoy a cup of tea in some kahve (picturesque coffee) or in the gardens of an old medersa. Coming out west of the bazaar, a pleasant little book market will take you to Beyazit Square. Fans can visit the Calligraphy Museum and then cross the university gardens to reach the mosque of Suleyman the Magnificent, the largest in the city, built by the brilliant architect Sinan. From there, go to the Egyptian Bazaar (spice market) to get drunk with scents and colours before heading to the quays of Eminönü. A fish sandwich will satisfy the hungry and you will never get tired of watching the comings and goings of this very lively neighbourhood. Then, board a boat to enjoy the Bosphorus before leaving and go around it. Nevertheless, we can only recommend the Kariye muzesi (Saint-Sauveur-in-Chora), whose mosaics are one of the most fantastic legacies of Byzantine art.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Week-end à Istanbul

  • 2 jours
  • Toutes saisons
  • Tout public
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Moyen

A seulement 3h de la France en avion, Istanbul est la destination idéale pour une échappée dépaysante, même sur un court week-end. L'un des avantages de la ville est la grande concentration des monuments et des attractions, ce qui évite au visiteur pressé de passer trop de temps dans les transports pour joindre un point à un autre. Le quartier de Sultanahmet offre un grand choix d'hôtels et se trouve stratégiquement placé au coeur de la cité historique qui regorge de merveilles. En deux jours, il est possible de voir les sites les plus connus pour vous imprégner de la magie de Byzance et de Constantinople.

Galerie photos

Mosquée Bleue. Vue panoramique sur le Bosphore depuis le sommet de la tour de Galata.

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Istanbul
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Week-end à Istanbul - 2 jours

Jour 1 : La cité historique et l'ancienne Péra

Commencez par la visite de l'incontournable palais de Topkapi et de son harem qui vous retiendra pour la matinée. Remontez ensuite sur Sultanahmet et dirigez-vous, après une courte pause déjeuner, vers la basilique Sainte-Sophie. En sortant de celle-ci, plongez dans l'antre fantastique de la Citerne Basilique qui se trouve à quelques mètres. Traversez ensuite les jardins menant à la mosquée Bleue puis rendez-vous sur la place de l'Hippodrome adjacente. Tous ces sites se trouvant dans un périmètre restreint, le tour peut se faire en un après-midi. En début de soirée, traversez la Corne d'Or par le pont de Galata pour rejoindre le quartier de l'ancienne Péra dominé par la tour génoise de Galata. Dans les passages et ruelles cernant la place Tünel, vous n'aurez que l'embarras du choix pour choisir un restaurant et boire un verre dans l'un des innombrables cafés bordant Istiklal Caddesi. Vous goûterez ainsi aux trépidantes soirées stambouliotes.

Jour 2 : Bazars, mosquées et églises

Situé non loin de Sainte-Sophie et de la mosquée Bleue, le Grand Bazar (fermé le dimanche) reste une étape incontournable. Octroyez-vous un thé dans quelque kahve (café pittoresque) ou dans les jardins d'une ancienne medersa. En ressortant à l'ouest du bazar, un agréable petit marché aux livres vous mènera à la place Beyazit. Les amateurs pourront faire un tour au musée de la Calligraphie puis traverser les jardins de l'université pour rejoindre la mosquée de Soliman le Magnifique, la plus grande de la ville, construite par le génial architecte Sinan. De là, allez vous enivrer de senteurs et de couleurs au Bazar égyptien (marché aux épices) avant de rejoindre les quais d'Eminönü. Un sandwich au poisson comblera les petites faims et vous ne vous lasserez pas d'observer les va-et-vient de ce quartier très vivant. Ensuite, embarquez sur un bateau pour profiter du Bosphore avant de partir et faites le tour de celui-ci. Malgré tout, on ne saurait que trop vous conseiller le Kariye muzesi (Saint-Sauveur-in-Chora), dont les mosaïques constituent l'un des plus fantastiques héritages de l'art byzantin.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur