One week in Istanbul

  • 8 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • General public
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Medium

A long stay makes it possible to fully appreciate the city and discover its many facets. In addition to the inevitable, you will have the pleasure of walking through all the districts to understand the riches of the Sublime Gate. It is also within your reach to carry out several cruises and escapades far from the urban hustle and bustle of this 15 million megalopolis.

Photo gallery

Blue Mosque. Panoramic Bosphorus views from the top of the Galata tower. The Blue mosque (at the foot) and the mosque Firuz Aga (in the foreground). View from the terrace of Hotel Sultanahmet at n ° 20 Divanyolu Caddesi. The dock with ferries on the Golden Horn, against a backdrop of the mosquéee Soliman-le-Magnifique. <p>Tour of Galata.</p> <p>Dolmabahce Palace.</p> View of Sultanahmet and Topkapi palace from the Galata tower.

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Istanbul
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: One week in Istanbul - 8 days

Day 1 : The historical city and the ancient Pera

Start with the visit of Topkapi Palace and its harem that will remember you for the morning. Then go back to Sultanahmet and head after a short lunch break to the Basilica of Saint Sophia. When leaving this one, immerse yourself in the fantastic coat of the Basilica, which is just a few meters away. Then cross the gardens leading to the Blue Mosque and then go to the adjacent Hippodrome Square. All of these sites are located in a restricted area and can be done in one afternoon. At the beginning of the evening, cross the Corne d 'Or through the Galata Bridge to the old Pera district dominated by the Galata geese. In the passages and alleys surrounding Tünel Square, you will find the choice of choosing a restaurant and having a drink in one of the countless cafes bordering Istiklal Caddesi. You will then taste the hectic stambulilian evenings.

Day 2 : From bazaars to mosques

The Grand Bazaar remains an essential stopover. You will spend more or less time there depending on whether or not you want to bring back some memories, after the hard bargaining of rigour. Treat yourself to tea (possibly with a chicha) in some kahve (picturesque coffee) or in the gardens of an old medersa. Coming out west of the bazaar, a pleasant little book market will take you to Beyazit Square. Fans can visit the Calligraphy Museum and then cross the university gardens to reach the mosque of Suleyman the Magnificent, the largest in the city, built by the brilliant architect Sinan. From there, go to the Egyptian Bazaar (spice market) to get drunk with scents and colours before heading to the quays of Eminönü. A fish sandwich will satisfy the hungry and you will never get tired of watching the comings and goings of this very lively neighbourhood

Day 3 : Over the Bosphorus

A cruise on the Bosphorus allows you to admire the wonders that border its shores in complete peace of mind. Every day at 10:30 am, a steamer leaves the port of Eminönü and travels up the strait for 30 km to the Black Sea. Throughout the route, you will see the palaces (Dolmabahçe, Ciragan, Beylerbeyi...), the mosquées (Ortaköy)Yali (majestic houses on the waterfront), the villages (Aranvutköy, Bebek, Kanlica...), the bridges and fortresses (Rumeli Hisari and Anadolu Hisari). A 3-hour stopover is planned for lunch before returning by boat, either on the European side (Sariyer) or at the last stop on the Asian side. The first option is to descend the European coast and make stops at Emirgan Park, the Sakip Sabanci Museum, the Rumeli Hisari Fortress or the Dolmabahçe Palace.

Day 4 : Eyüp, Fatih and the Golden Horn

To discover these authentic districts, far from the hustle and bustle of tourism, take one of the boats along the Golden Horn of Eminönü to the Eyüp district. A cable car will take you to the top of the hill where the Pierre Loti café is located. Like this "Turkophile" writer, you can sip tea and admire the superb panoramic view of the city before going down through the cemetery to the mausoleum of Eyüp, one of the city's great holy sites. Take a taxi to the walls of Theodosius and visit the old church of Saint-Sauveur-in-Chora. Then, you can cross the traditional district of Fatih to the religious complex of the same name, and descend to the shores of the Golden Horn to discover the popular districts of Balat and Fener, former strongholds of the Greek and Jewish communities. Relaxing, the waterfront walk will allow you to visit the headquarters of the Greek Orthodox Patriarchate as well as various monasteries, churches and synagogues. After these strenuous walks, nothing better than a traditional hammam to relax.

Day 5 : Between Galata and Taksim

Walk across the Galata bridge, where fishermen, coffee shops and fish shops are located. Once in the Karaköy district, take the "Camondo" staircase and continue up to the Galata Tower, the last remnant of the enclosure built by the Genoese in the 14th century, from which you can enjoy a superb view of Istanbul. Continue up to Tünel and let yourself be carried away by the crowd that walks through Istiklal Caddesi. Walk past St. Anthony's Church and rush into the Balik pazari (fish market), take a look at the retro atmosphere of Çiçek Pasaji. Going along the Galatasaray High School, go down to Çukurcuma, the antique dealers' district, via the pretty French street. Then head to the Bosporus to visit the Museum of Modern Art. Then you can relax in Tophane to the rhythm of backgammon and chicha, sitting on a lung. Spend your evening on Taksim's side.

Day 6 : A short tour of Asia

In the early morning, a steamer from Eminönü or KabataşŸ will take you across the Bosporus Strait to the Asian shore. The Kadiköy district around Baghdad and Moda Avenue displays a trendy face with its shops and cafés as well as some examples of Art Deco architecture. Further north, Üsküdar the popular one shelters some interesting mosques. You can then continue to Kuzguncuk, a small village with a cosmopolitan charm, and the palace of Beylerbeyi, a small marble jewel on the Bosporus. After this busy day, spend the evening in Ortaköy, one of Istanbul's trendiest neighbourhoods.

Day 7 : Escapade out of the city

A visit to the Princes Islands is essential, but make sure you schedule this trip during the week and not on weekends. Located about an hour and a half by boat from Istanbul, the archipelago on the Marmara Sea consists of nine islands, the largest of which, Büyükada, has become the favourite holiday destination of Istanbul residents. Cars are not allowed, so everyone can travel by horse-drawn carriage or bicycle (rental on site). It is possible to swim even if you should not expect dream beaches (pontoon or beach club), but you will come especially for the stroll punctuated by noble Ottoman floral residences, the monastery dating from the 10th century, the magnificent view from the top of Büyükada and the relaxed atmosphere of the ports.

Day 8 : Last steps in the Sublime Door

To fix your magical memories, dedicate your last day to Sultanahmet. Take your time to stroll through its alleys, make some purchases, meditate while singing the muezzin. Have a last tea in the charming garden of the little Saint Sophia (Küçük Ayasofya) behind the Blue Mosque, visit the Archaeological Museum or visit the Museum of Turkish Islamic Works. A last stopover at Eminönü and the Egyptian Bazaar will allow you to enjoy the Istanbul excitement again, unless you prefer a trendy last trip around Taksim.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Une semaine à Istanbul

  • 8 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Tout public
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Moyen

Un long séjour permet d'apprécier pleinement la ville et d'en découvrir les nombreuses facettes. En plus des incontournables, vous aurez le loisir de déambuler dans tous les quartiers afin d'appréhender les richesses de la Sublime Porte. Effectuer plusieurs croisières et escapades loin du tumulte urbain de cette mégalopole de 15 millions d'habitants est également à votre portée.

Galerie photos

Mosquée Bleue. Vue panoramique sur le Bosphore depuis le sommet de la tour de Galata. La Mosquée Bleue (au fond) et la mosquée Firuz Aga (au premier plan). Vue depuis la terrasse de l'Hotel Sultanahmet au n° 20 Divanyolu Caddesi. Le quai aux ferries sur la Corne d'Or, avec en arrière-plan la mosquéee de Soliman-le-Magnifique. Tour de Galata. Palais de Dolmabahçe. Vue de Sultanahmet et du palais de Topkapı depuis la tour de Galata.

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Istanbul
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Une semaine à Istanbul - 8 jours

Jour 1 : La cité historique et l'ancienne Péra

Commencez par la visite de l'incontournable palais de Topkapi et de son harem qui vous retiendra pour la matinée. Remontez ensuite sur Sultanahmet et dirigez-vous, après une courte pause déjeuner, vers la basilique Sainte-Sophie. En sortant de celle-ci, plongez dans l'antre fantastique de la Citerne Basilique qui se trouve à quelques mètres. Traversez ensuite les jardins menant à la mosquée Bleue puis rendez-vous sur la place de l'Hippodrome adjacente. Tous ces sites se trouvant dans un périmètre restreint, le tour peut se faire en un après-midi. En début de soirée, traversez la Corne d'Or par le pont de Galata pour rejoindre le quartier de l'ancienne Péra dominé par la tour génoise de Galata. Dans les passages et ruelles cernant la place Tünel, vous n'aurez que l'embarras du choix pour choisir un restaurant et boire un verre dans l'un des innombrables cafés bordant Istiklal Caddesi. Vous goûterez ainsi aux trépidantes soirées stambouliotes.

Jour 2 : De baears en mosquées

Le Grand Bazar reste une étape incontournable. Vous y passerez plus ou moins de temps selon que vous souhaitiez ou non rapporter quelques souvenirs, après l'âpre marchandage de rigueur. Octroyez-vous un thé (éventuellement agrémenté d'une chicha) dans quelque kahve (café pittoresque) ou dans les jardins d'une ancienne medersa. En ressortant à l'ouest du bazar, un agréable petit marché aux livres vous mènera à la place Beyazit. Les amateurs pourront faire un tour au musée de la Calligraphie puis traverser les jardins de l'université pour rejoindre la mosquée de Soliman le Magnifique, la plus grande de la ville, construite par le génial architecte Sinan. De là, allez vous enivrer de senteurs et de couleurs au Bazar égyptien (marché aux épices) avant de rejoindre les quais d'Eminönü. Un sandwich au poisson comblera les petites faims et vous ne vous lasserez pas d'observer les va-et-vient de ce quartier très vivant.

Jour 3 : Au fil du Bosphore

Une croisière sur le Bosphore permet d'admirer en toute quiétude les merveilles qui bordent ses rives. Tous les jours à 10h30, un vapur quitte le port d'Eminönü et remonte le détroit sur ses 30 km jusqu'à la mer Noire. Tout au long du trajet, vous voyez défiler les palais (Dolmabahçe, Ciragan, Beylerbeyi...), les mosquées (Ortaköy), les Yali (majestueuses maisons sur le front de mer), les villages (Aranvutköy, BebekKanlica...), les ponts et les forteresses (Rumeli Hisari et Anadolu Hisari). Une étape de 3 heures est prévue pour déjeuner avant le retour en bateau, au choix sur la partie européenne (Sariyer) ou au dernier arrêt de la rive asiatique. La première option permet de redescendre la côte européenne et de faire des arrêts au parc Emirgan, au musée Sakip Sabanci, à la forteresse de Rumeli Hisari ou au palais de Dolmabahçe.

Jour 4 : Eyüp, Fatih et la Corne d'Or

Pour découvrir ces quartiers authentiques, loin de l'agitation touristique, prenez l'un des bateaux qui longent la Corne d'Or d'Eminönü jusqu'au quartier d'Eyüp. Un téléphérique vous mènera au sommet de la colline où se trouve le café Pierre Loti. Comme cet écrivain " turcophile ", vous pourrez siroter un thé et admirer le superbe panorama sur la ville avant de redescendre à travers le cimetière pour vous rendre au mausolée d'Eyüp, l'un des grands lieux saints de la ville. Rejoignez en taxi les murailles de Théodose et visitez l'ancienne église Saint-Sauveur-in-Chora. Ensuite, vous pourrez traverser le quartier traditionnel de Fatih jusqu'au complexe religieux du même nom, et redescendre sur les rives de la Corne d'Or à la découverte des quartiers populaires de Balat et de Fener, anciens fiefs des communautés grecque et juive. Relaxante, la balade au bord de l'eau vous permettra de visiter le siège du patriarcat orthodoxe grec ainsi que divers monastères, églises et synagogues. Après ces éprouvantes balades rien de mieux qu'un hammam traditionnel pour vous détendre.

Jour 5 : Entre Galata et Taksim

Traversez à pied le pont de Galata investi par les pêcheurs, les cafés et les échoppes de poisson. Une fois dans le quartier de Karaköy, empruntez l'escalier " de Camondo " et poursuivez la montée jusqu'à la tour de Galata, dernier vestige de l'enceinte érigée par les Génois au XIVe siècle, du haut de laquelle vous embrassez superbement tout Istanbul. Poursuivez jusqu'à Tünel et laissez-vous porter par la foule qui arpente Istiklal Caddesi. Passez devant l'église Saint-Antoine et engouffrez-vous dans le Balik pazari (marché aux poissons), jetez un coup d'oeil au Çiçek Pasaji à l'ambiance rétro. En longeant le lycée de Galatasaray, redescendez vers Çukurcuma, le quartier des antiquaires, en empruntant la jolie rue Française. Dirigez-vous ensuite vers le Bosphore pour visiter le musée d'Art moderne. Vous pourrez ensuite vous relaxer à Tophane au rythme du backgammon et de la chicha, assis sur un pouf. Passez votre soirée du côté de Taksim.

Jour 6 : Un petit tour en Asie

De bon matin, un vapur au départ de Eminönü ou KabataşŸ vous fera traverser le détroit du Bosphore pour vous emmener sur la rive asiatique. Le quartier de Kadiköy affiche autour de l'avenue de Bagdad et de Moda un visage branché avec ses boutiques et cafés ainsi que quelques exemples d'architecture Art déco. Plus au nord, Üsküdar la populaire abrite quelques mosquées intéressantes. Vous pouvez ensuite poursuivre vers Kuzguncuk, petit village au charme cosmopolite, et le palais de Beylerbeyi, petit bijou de marbre sur le Bosphore. Après cette journée bien remplie, passez la soirée à Ortaköy, l'un des quartiers les plus tendance d'Istanbul.

Jour 7 : Escapade hors de la ville

Une visite des îles des Princes s'impose, mais veillez à fixer cette sortie en semaine et non le week-end. Situé à environ 1 heure 30 de bateau d'Istanbul, l'archipel posé sur la mer de Marmara se compose de neuf îles, dont la plus grande, Büyükada, est devenue le lieu de villégiature préféré des Stambouliotes. Les voitures étant proscrites, tout le monde se déplace en calèche ou en vélo (location sur place). Il est possible de vous baigner même s'il ne faut pas vous attendre à des plages de rêve (ponton ou beach club), mais vous viendrez surtout pour la balade ponctuée de nobles demeures ottomanes fleuries, le monastère datant du Xe siècle, la magnifique vue au sommet de Büyükada et l'ambiance décontractée des ports.

Jour 8 : Derniers pas dans la Sublime Porte

Pour fixer vos souvenirs magiques, consacrez votre dernière journée à Sultanahmet. Prenez votre temps pour déambuler dans ses ruelles, effectuer quelques achats, vous recueillir lors du chant du muezzin. Prenez un dernier thé dans le ravissant jardin de la petite Sainte-Sophie (Küçük Ayasofya) derrière la mosquée Bleue, rendez-vous au Musée archéologique ou visitez le musée des oeuvres turco-islamiques. Une dernière halte du côté d'Eminönü et du Bazar égyptien vous permettra de jouir encore de l'effervescence stambouliote, à moins que vous ne préfériez une dernière virée branchée dans les environs de Taksim.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur