Hiking adventure in the footsteps of Guadeloupe

  • 8 days
  • Spring
  • Autumn
  • Winter
  • Friends
  • Group
  • Faune and flora
  • Adventure / Sports & Leisure
  • Medium

While most tourists prefer the blue of the Caribbean Sea, it is possible to opt for a stay focused on walking in the heart of steep and tropical landscapes. In Guadeloupe, there are no less than 200 km of trails and hiking trails called "traces". If professionals offer guided outings for all levels, you can also organize yourself with a good map and the informed information of the local offices

Photo gallery

Cuba's tropical beach. Cemetery of Morne-à-l'Eau. The port of Alexandria. North Coast of Madeira. Path leading to the Carbet falls. Tropical forest in the National Park of Guadeloupe. Cascade aux écrevisses.

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Anse-Bertrand
  • Capesterre-Belle-Eau
  • Morne A L' Eau
  • Port-Louis
  • Saint-Claude
  • Saint-François
  • Saint-Louis
  • Sainte-Anne
  • Vieux-Habitants
  • Route De La Traversée
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Hiking adventure in the footsteps of Guadeloupe - 8 days

Day 1 : Arrival at Pointe-à-Pitre, direction South Grande-Terre

To limit fatigue, and especially if your flight arrives late in the evening, choose accommodation in Grande-Terre, near Sainte-Anne or Saint-François. This will avoid traffic jams during rush hour on the road leading to Basse-Terre, an economic and tourist area. Relax, tomorrow a few kilometers of walking await you!

Day 2 : Jolan Wood

Departure from the kite-surf school at Anse du Belley beach, on the territory of Sainte-Anne, towards the famous Bois Jolan beach, famous for its lagoon with turquoise and shallow waters. The path allows you to walk through a small mangrove forest populated by herons and sandpipers, walk between ponds and ponds, before landing on the splendid beach of Bois Jolan, bordered by coconut palms. No difficulty to report on the 8 km round trip of the itinerary.

Day 3 : Anse-Bertrand

Head north of Grande-Terre for a second hike, this time 9 km long, with no difference in altitude and rather easy. From Port-Louis, it is a question of following the coast, first going up along the Anse du Souffleur beach, which is perfectly suited for swimming at the Port Saint-Louis cemetery, just after which the path sinks into the mangrove swampy areas. Once past Anse Lavolvaine, popular with surfers, it is the one of the Petite Chapelle that is revealed. All you have to do is follow the coconut trees to Anse-Bertrand

Day 4 : The Paradise Waterfall

Early in the morning, we will reach Vieux-Habitants, in Basse-Terre, to attack the superb Cascade Paradis. The walk, which is quite easy and has a maximum altitude difference of 100 metres, is done in the heart of the Grand-Rivière valley, in the Guadeloupe National Park, and is completed in about 3 hours. Lush vegetation and riverside paths lead you to the waterfall, remarkable in that its basin is framed by harmonious geological formations called basalt organs

Day 5 : First fall of the Carbet

Also located in the national park, the hike to the first Carbet Falls, 115 metres high, will give less experienced walkers a hard time, due to a slightly greater difference in altitude (350 m) than on previous routes. The path is nevertheless sumptuous, allowing you to discover various layers of the humid forest, before facing the torrent exploding on a rock that has become orange as a result of the passage of sulphate-laden water. Count 4 hours 30 to complete the 7 km of the trail, 1 hour 30 more if you decide to go to the second waterfall

Day 6 : The Soufrière

Perhaps the highlight of the stay! The ascent of the Soufrière, the highest point in the archipelago, is certainly not the easiest walk, because of its 500 m altitude difference, but it is certainly the one that offers the most satisfaction to walkers. From the path, with its fumaroles and powerful sulphur smells, emerges an atmosphere that is as volcanic as ever, and the diversity of fauna and flora is amazing. Once you reach the crater, on sunny days, you can enjoy a 360° panoramic view of the whole of Guadeloupe. An unforgettable show!

Day 7 : The Trade Winds Trail - Day 1

This hike is only for trained walkers, so the less experienced walkers will stick to the La Soufrière hike. The Trace des Alizés is indeed an old long-distance hiking trail - the GR-G1 - criss-crossing the ridges from the Route de la Traversée to Les Amandiers, north of Basse-Terre. The first stage is 27 km long, which can be completed in 8 hours, and links the centre of Basse-Terre to the Belle-Hôtesse refuge. Remember to check with local associations before starting this walk

Day 8 : The Trade Winds Trail - Day 2

This second stage is a little shorter than the first, since its 20 km can be covered in 5 hours for the most sporty, but is no less sumptuous! It should be noted, however, that as you leave the Belle-Hôtesse refuge, the trail gains in altitude, making it a little difficult to make progress at first, while allowing you to reach an unobstructed panorama, before gently heading towards the sea and the Almond trees.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Aventure pédestre dans les traces de Guadeloupe

  • 8 jours
  • Printemps
  • Automne
  • Hiver
  • Amis
  • Groupe
  • Faune et flore
  • Aventure / Sports et loisirs
  • Moyen

Si la plupart des touristes privilégient le bleu de la mer des Caraïbes, opter pour un séjour axé sur la marche au coeur de paysages abrupts et tropicaux est tout à fait possible. En Guadeloupe, on compte pas moins de 200 km de sentiers et chemins de randonnée appelés "traces". Si des professionnels proposent des sorties accompagnées pour tous les niveaux, on peut aussi s'organiser seul avec une bonne carte et les informations avisées des offices locaux.

Galerie photos

Montagnes de Madere Cimetière de Morne-à-l'Eau. La ville de Bellagio, sur les rives du Lac de Côme. Côte Nord de Madère. <p>Chemin menant aux chutes du Carbet.</p> Forêt tropicale dans le parc national de la Guadeloupe. Cascade aux écrevisses.

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Anse-Bertrand
  • Capesterre-Belle-Eau
  • Morne A L' Eau
  • Port-Louis
  • Saint-Claude
  • Saint-François
  • Saint-Louis
  • Sainte-Anne
  • Vieux-Habitants
  • Route De La Traversée
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Aventure pédestre dans les traces de Guadeloupe - 8 jours

Jour 1 : Arrivée à Pointe-à-Pitre, direction Sud Grande-Terre

Pour limiter la fatigue, et surtout si votre vol arrive tard en soirée, choisissez un hébergement en Grande-Terre, du côté de Sainte-Anne ou de Saint-François. Vous éviterez ainsi les embouteillages aux heures de pointe sur la route menant à Basse-Terre, zone économique et touristique. Détendez-vous, demain quelques kilomètres de marche vous attendent !

Jour 2 : Bois Jolan

Départ depuis l'école de kite-surf de la plage d'Anse du Belley, sur le territoire de Sainte-Anne, en direction de la fameuse plage de Bois Jolan, réputée pour son lagon aux eaux turquoise et peu profondes. Le sentier permet de parcourir une petite mangrove peuplée de hérons et bécasseaux, de cheminer entre mares et étangs, avant de débarquer sur la splendide plage de Bois Jolan, bordée de cocotiers. Aucune difficulté à signaler sur les 8 km aller-retour du l'itinéraire.

Jour 3 : Anse-Bertrand

Direction le nord de Grande-Terre pour une deuxième randonnée, de 9 km cette fois-ci, sans dénivelé et plutôt facile. Au départ de Port-Louis, il s'agit de suivre le littoral, en le remontant d'abord le long de la plage de l'Anse du Souffleur, qui se prête parfaitement à la baignade au niveau du cimetière de Port Saint-Louis, juste après lequel le sentier s'enfonce dans la mangrove et des zones marécageuses. Une fois passé l'Anse Lavolvaine, prisée par les surfeurs, c'est celle de la Petite Chapelle qui se dévoile. Vous n'avez plus qu'à suivre les cocotiers jusqu'à Anse-Bertrand.

Jour 4 : La Cascade Paradis

Tôt le matin, on rejoindra Vieux-Habitants, en Basse-Terre, pour partir à l'assaut de la superbe Cascade Paradis. La balade, assez facile et affichant un dénivelé de 100 mètres maximum, se fait au coeur de la vallée de Grand-Rivière, dans le parc national de Guadeloupe, et se complète en environ 3 heures. Végétation luxuriante et sentiers de bord de rivière vous accompagnent jusqu'à la cascade, remarquable en ceci que son bassin est encadré d'harmonieuses formations géologiques appelées orgues basaltiques.

Jour 5 : Première chute du Carbet

Elle aussi située dans le parc national, la randonnée qui mène à la première chute du Carbet et ses 115 mètres de haut donnera du fil à retordre aux marcheurs les moins expérimentés, en raison d'un dénivelé un peu plus important (350 m) que sur les précédents itinéraires. Le chemin n'en est pas moins somptueux, permettant de découvrir diverses couches de la forêt humide, avant de se trouver face au torrent explosant sur une roche devenue orange à force du passage d'une eau chargée en sulfate. Compter 4 heures 30 pour effectuer les 7 km de la trace, 1 heure 30 de plus si vous décidez de vous rendre jusqu'à la seconde cascade.

Jour 6 : La Soufrière

Peut-être le point d'orgue du séjour ! L'ascension de la Soufrière, point culminant de l'archipel, n'est certes pas la balade la plus aisée, en raison de ses 500 m de dénivelé, mais est certainement celle qui offre le plus de satisfaction aux marcheurs. Du chemin, avec ses fumerolles et ses puissantes odeurs de soufre, se dégage une atmosphère on ne peut plus volcanique, et la diversité de la faune et de la flore est étonnante. Une fois atteint le cratère, on jouit, les jours de beau temps, d'une vue panoramique à 360° sur l'ensemble de la Guadeloupe. Un spectacle inoubliable !

Jour 7 : La Trace des Alizés - Jour 1

Cette randonnée ne s'adressant qu'aux marcheurs entraînés, les marcheurs les moins avertis s'en tiendront à celle La Soufrière. La Trace des Alizés est en effet un ancien sentier de grande randonnée - le GR-G1 - sillonnant les crêtes depuis la Route de la Traversée jusqu'aux Amandiers, au nord de Basse-Terre. La première étape compte 27 km, qu'il est possible d'accomplir en 8 heures, et relie le centre de Basse-Terre au refuge de Belle-Hôtesse. Pensez à vous renseigner auprès d'associations locales avant d'entreprendre cette marche.

Jour 8 : La Trace des Alizés - Jour 2

Cette seconde étape est un peu moins longue que la première, puisque ses quelque 20 km peuvent être parcourus en 5 heures pour les plus sportifs, mais n'en est pas moins somptueuse ! A noter cependant qu'en quittant le refuge de Belle-Hôtesse, la trace gagne en altitude, rendant la progression un peu difficile au début, tout en permettant d'atteindre un panorama dégagé, avant de filer doucement vers la mer et les Amandiers.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur