Archaeological treasures of Uzbekistan

  • 14 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Autumn
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Friends
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Discovery
  • High

Few countries offer travellers the opportunity to visit such pristine ancient sites. After multiple excavation campaigns in Soviet times, many fortresses, citadels or necropolises were left as they were and now constitute as many opportunities to get lost in the desert, in the shoes of a budding archaeologist. You can even, if you pass through a specialized local agency, give a few shovels or brush strokes with the teams of archaeologists at work

Photo gallery

Madrasas Barak Khan. Samarkand Bazaar. Backgammon game. Madrasas Nadir-Divanbeg. Tchor Minor, the monument to "four minarets". Dealers of plates. Bazar Bazaar. Pedestrian street Saligoh.

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Tachkent
  • Khiva
  • Noukous
  • Boukhara
  • Vabkent
  • Navoï
  • Samarkand
  • Shahrisabz
  • Termez
  • Denau
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Archaeological treasures of Uzbekistan - 14 days

Day 1 : Contact with Central Asian civilization

Arrival in Tashkent. Start by familiarizing yourself with the local history and archaeological finds of the country by visiting the Museum of the History of Peoples of Uzbekistan and the Amur Timur Museum in the afternoon. Walk in the evening and show at the Navoi Opera House.

Day 2 : Heading south

Morning flight to Termez. Visit in the afternoon the Archaeological Museum of Surkhan Daria, certainly one of the most beautiful in Uzbekistan, which presents all the wonders found in the many excavation sites in the region.

Day 3 : The sands of Surkhan Daria

Visit of the main archaeological sites around Termez: Fayaz tepe, Kara tepe, Zurmala tower. All these sites are dated to the same period and bear witness to the passage of Buddhism from India to China via Central Asia. Be careful, some of them are on the Iranian border and require special authorization

Day 4 : Remains on the Silk Road

Visit of a new excavation site located a little further from Termez: Kampyr Tepe, where the ruins of an old port on the river Amou Daria were discovered. It was an important milestone on the Silk Road.

Day 5 : Shakhrisabz and the Imperial Palace

Morning drive to Shakhrisabz, Tamerlan's hometown. You can visit the ruins of the White Palace as well as some very beautiful mosaics restored by a French team. Do not miss the main monuments erected by the emperor, especially the crypt where he had planned to be buried before finally resting in Samarkand

Day 6 : The treasures of Samarkand

Drive to Samarkand in the early morning. Daytime visit to Registan (Oulough Beg Madrasa, Tillia-Kari Madrasa, Chir Dor Madrasa), Bibi Khanum Mosque and Shah i Zinda Necropolis at the end of the day. Enjoy the beautiful fading lights on the domes of the "necropolis of the living king".

Day 7 : Afrosyab website

Morning visit to the Oulough Begh Observatory. In the afternoon, you will walk along the gigantic Afrosyab site, the hill where Samarkand's original location was located, just next to Shah i Zinda. Excavations are still going well on this gigantic site, and a guided tour is highly recommended if you want to be able to decipher the organization of the ancient city.

Day 8 : On the road to Bukhara

Road to Bukhara with a stop on the way to the caravanserai of Rabât-i Malik. Visit also the cistern of Gijduvan and the minaret of Vabkent. Other steps can be programmed along the way depending on the type of transport you choose. A car with driver will allow you to stop where and when you want.

Day 9 : The Pearl of Islam

Visit of the old town of Bukhara. From the central basin (liab i khaouz), follow the maze of market domes to reach the Poy Kalon complex and its sumptuous minaret. In the afternoon, get off the beaten track by exploring the Tchor Minor district, then come back to cool off around the pool to finish the day.

Day 10 : Ancient monuments

Morning visit to the Samanid mausoleum, a unique architectural treasure of its kind, and one of the oldest monuments in the entire Muslim world still standing. After a detour through the Mazar Chachma Ayoub and the Bolo Khaouz Mosque, reach the citadel and visit the site of the former Bukhara fortress. At the end of the day, enjoy being in a large craft centre to do some shopping in the shopping domes, then visit the nearby Magok i Attari mosque, one of the oldest in the country.

Day 11 : The former Kingdom of Du

Journey to Uzs. The road is long and devastating in summer, but there are flights several times a week between the two cities, probably preferable if you do not support the heat. At the end of the day, first contact with Uzs, former capital of Khorezm.

Day 12 : The fortresses of the desert

Departure for the fortresses of Karakalpakistan. Visit of Toprak kala, the former capital of the Kingdom of Khorezm. With a good taxi, you can then link two or three other fortresses (there are more than fifty in the desert) including Kyzyl Kala. We recommend spending the night under the yurt, in Ayaz kala or Djambaz Kala, in the heart of the desert.

Day 13 : The fortresses of the desert (continued)

Drive towards the citadels even deeper into the desert like Kirkiz Kala, then take the road to Nukus. About 30 km before arriving in the capital of Karakalpakstan, visit the 2,000-year-old necropolis of Mizdakhan.

Day 14 : Meeting Karakalpak Art

Visit the Savitsky Museum, where hundreds of works of the Soviet avant-garde have been saved from censorship. The museum department dedicated to Karakalpakstan is just as interesting and will familiarize you with the habits and customs of this little-known people.

Evening flight to Tashkent

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Trésors archéologiques d'Ouzbékistan

  • 14 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Automne
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Amis
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Découverte
  • Élevé

Peu de pays offrent aux voyageurs l'opportunité de visiter des sites antiques aussi vierges. Après de multiples campagnes de fouilles à l'époque soviétique, de nombreuses forteresses, citadelles ou nécropoles ont été laissées en l'état et constituent aujourd'hui autant d'opportunités de se perdre dans le désert, dans la peau d'un archéologue en herbe. Vous pourrez même, à condition de passer via une agence locale spécialisée, donner quelques coups de pelle ou de pinceau avec les équipes d'archéologues au travail.

Galerie photos

Madrasa Barak Khan. Le oulak, sport national. Mosquée Kok Goumbaz. Bazar de Samarkand. Partie de backgammon. Madrasa Nadir-Divanbeg. Tchor Minor, le monument au " quatre minarets ". Marchands d'assiettes. Bazar Dekhon. Rue piétonne Saligoh.

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Tachkent
  • Khiva
  • Noukous
  • Boukhara
  • Vabkent
  • Navoï
  • Samarkand
  • Shahrisabz
  • Termez
  • Denau
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Trésors archéologiques d'Ouzbékistan - 14 jours

Jour 1 : Prise de contact avec la civilisation centrasiatique

Arrivée à Tachkent. Commencez par vous familiariser avec l'histoire locale et les trouvailles archéologiques du pays en visitant l'après-midi le musée d'Histoire des peuples d'Ouzbékistan et le musée Amur Timur. Promenade à pied en soirée et spectacle à l'Opéra Navoï.

Jour 2 : Cap au sud

Vol en matinée jusqu'à Termez. Visite l'après-midi du Musée archéologique du Sourkhan Daria, certainement l'un des plus beaux d'Ouzbékistan, qui présente l'ensemble des merveilles mises à jour dans les très nombreux sites de fouille de la région.

Jour 3 : Les sables du Sourkhan Daria

Visite des principaux sites archéologiques autour de Termez : Fayaz tepe, Kara tepe, la tour de Zurmala. Tous ces sites sont datés de la même période et témoignent du passage du bouddhisme de l'Inde vers la Chine via l'Asie centrale. Attention, certains d'entre eux se trouvent à la frontière de l'Iran et nécessitent une autorisation spéciale.

Jour 4 : Vestiges sur la Route de la soie

Visite d'un nouveau chantier de fouille situé un peu plus loin de Termez : Kampyr Tepe, où on été mises à jour les ruines d'un ancien port sur  le fleuve  Amou Daria. Il constituait une étape importante sur la route de la soie.

Jour 5 : Shakhrisabz et le palais impérial

Route en matinée jusqu'à Shakhrisabz, la ville natale de Tamerlan. Vous pourrez visiter les ruines du Palais blanc ainsi que de très belles mosaïques restaurées par une équipe française. Ne manquez pas les principaux monuments érigés par l'empereur, en particulier la crypte où il avait prévu d'être enterré avant de finalement reposer à Samarkand.

Jour 6 : Les trésors de Samarkand

Route jusqu'à Samarkand en début de matinée. Visite en journée du Registan (madrasa Oulough Beg, madrasa Tillia-Kari, madrasa Chir Dor), de la mosquée Bibi Khanum et de la nécropole du Shah i Zinda en fin de journée. Profitez des belles lumières déclinantes sur les coupoles de la "nécropole du roi vivant".

Jour 7 : Le site d'Afrosyab

Visite en matinée de l'observatoire d'Oulough Begh. L'après-midi, vous arpenterez le gigantesque site d'Afrosyab, la colline où se trouvait l'emplacement d'origine de Samarkand, juste à côté du Shah i Zinda. Les fouilles vont toujours bon train sur ce site gigantesque, et une visite guidée est très recommandée si vous voulez pouvoir décrypter l'organisation de la ville antique.

Jour 8 : Sur la route de Boukhara

Route jusqu'à Boukhara avec un arrêt en chemin au caravansérail de Rabât-i Malik. Visite également de la citerne de Gijduvan et du minaret de Vabkent. D'autres étapes peuvent être programmées en cours de route selon le type de transport que vous choisirez. Une voiture avec chauffeur vous permettra de vous arrêter où et quand vous le désirez.

Jour 9 : La perle de l'Islam

Visite de la vieille ville de Boukhara. Depuis le bassin central (liab i khaouz), suivez le dédale des coupoles marchandes pour arriver jusqu'à l'ensemble Poy Kalon et son somptueux minaret. L'après-midi, sortez des sentiers battus en explorant le quartier de Tchor Minor, puis revenez vous rafraîchir autour du bassin pour finir la journée.

Jour 10 : Des monuments antiques

Visite en matinée du mausolée des Samanides, trésor architectural unique en son genre, et l'un des plus vieux monuments de tout le monde musulman encore debout. Après un crochet par le mazar Chachma Ayoub et la mosquée Bolo Khaouz, rejoignez la citadelle et visitez le site de l'ancienne forteresse de Boukhara. En fin de journée, profitez d'être dans un grand centre artisanal pour faire un peu de shopping dans les coupoles marchandes, puis visitez la mosquée Magok i Attari voisine, une des plus vieilles du pays.

Jour 11 : L'ancien royaume du Khorezm

Trajet jusqu'à Khiva. La route est longue et éprouvante en été, mais il existe des vols plusieurs fois par semaine entre les deux villes, sans doute préférables si vous supportez mal la chaleur. En fin de journée, première prise de contact avec Khiva, ancienne capitale du Khorezm.

Jour 12 : Les forteresses du désert

Départ pour les forteresses du Karakalpakistan. Visite de Toprak kala, l'ancienne capitale du royaume du Khorezm. Avec un bon taxi, vous pouvez ensuite enchaîner deux ou trois autres forteresses (il y en a plus de cinquante dans le désert) dont Kyzyl Kala. Nous vous recommandons de passer la nuit sous la yourte, à Ayaz kala ou à Djambaz Kala, au coeur du désert.

Jour 13 : Les forteresses du désert (suite)

Foncez vers les citadelles encore plus enfoncées dans le désert comme Kirkiz Kala, puis prenez la route de Nukus. Environ 30 km avant d'arriver dans la capitale du Karakalpakstan, visitez la nécropole de Mizdakhan, vieille de plus de 2 000 ans.

Jour 14 : À la rencontre de l'art karakalpak

Visitez le musée Savitsky, où ont été sauvées de la censure des centaines d'oeuvres de l'avant-garde soviétique. Le département du musée consacré au Karakalpakstan est tout aussi intéressant et vous familiarisera avec les us et coutumes de ce peuple méconnu.

Vol en soirée pour Tachkent.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur