Top 5 of hikes in Madeira

  • 7 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Friends
  • Faune and flora
  • Adventure / Sports & Leisure
  • Medium

Madeira's subtropical climate has promoted the development of the island's natural biodiversity. Its lush vegetation and colourful flowers adorn the hiker. Madeira's unique landscape rich in its famous levadas, wind up to green valleys, offers hikers an unforgettable experience in the heart of the primeval forest, a preserved treasure classified as UNESCO Heritage. Its fauna and flora offer many endémismes that it is pleasant to uncover at the foot of the levadas, under its trees and tree ferns, in its flowery valleys. Its volcanic origins have shaped its shattered cliffs and spectacular mountains that offer equally fascinating landscapes. Here is a panorama of the island's most beautiful hikes:

Photo gallery

Botanical garden, panoramic terrace with views of Funchal. <p>The Old Blandy Madeira Wine Lodge.</p> <p>Jardim do Mar.</p> Natural swimming pool. <p>Mercado dos Lavradores, fruit of passion.</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Funchal
  • Ponta do Sol
  • Prazeres
  • Jardim do Mar
  • Porto Moniz
  • São Jorge
  • Santana
  • Paúl do Mar
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Top 5 of hikes in Madeira - 7 days

Day 1 : Piornais, between town and valley

Route: this is a small walk between town and nature, ideal for those who want to get some fresh air without leaving Funchal. As is often the case in Madeira, the path is clear: all you have to do is go up the Levada current. The first part of the path takes place behind a residential area, giving the walker a glimpse of the flowered gardens, the new city a little further away and the ocean in the background.

Departure: from Funchal, take bus no. 24 on Avenida do Mar, in front of the São Lourenço Palace. After 10 minutes of travel, ask the driver to let you get off at "Bairro de Ajuda". Then walk to the overhanging buildings: the levada dos Piornais passes just above. You can also take bus no. 45 (or no. 8) to Estádio dos Barreiros (Barreiros Stadium). The hike begins just above, at the crossroads of the levada and the road to Nazaré.

Back: if you don't want to go the other way all the way back: after turning around, take the road again and go under the bridge again. After 5 minutes along the levada, you will cross a road in a curve. Bus number 24 returns to Funchal.

Distance-Duration: about 7 km one way, 2 hours.

Day 2 : In the heights of Ponta do Sol

Departure: from Funchal, take the coastal road to the village of Punta do Sol, then head for the heights: Lombada da Ponta do Sol. Take the Solar dos Esmeraldos mansion as a drop-off point. The levada dos Moinho starts just behind the church next to it. From Funchal, the Rodoeste bus No. 142 (or bus No. 146) stops at Ponta do Sol - Lombada.

Return: the Nova levada brings you back to 150 m from your starting point.

Distance-Duration: about 10 km. 3 hours.

Route: the levada do Moinho used to supply the sugar mill of the Solar dos Esmerados manor near the church (moinho = mill), now a school. No time to think, the ride begins on the hats of wheels by throwing the walker at a beautiful altitude. The whole walk takes place on a small not very wide wall, and in some places the security barrier is missing. Vigilance and concentration are therefore required! The mountain rises on your right as the murmur of the Ribeira da Ponta do Sol river below rhythms the pace. Generous nature and vertiginous spaces are at the rendezvous. All along the way we can guess the levada Nova which runs a bit like a floor above the one you are surveying here. After 45 minutes of walking, you reach the source of Levada Nova and the noise of the water on the rock is the signal to take the stairs climbing on the right, to attack the second part of the path.

The high point of the walk is revealed here: after narrow zigzags on the mountainside, a waterfall appears, rolling its powerful waves in the middle of the path (even more in winter or after heavy rains)! If showering seems inevitable, damage will be limited by digging into the rock to skillfully cross the water obstacle. The second highlight of the walk is in the form of a 200 m tunnel: flashlight lit, we sink into the darkness of this mineral gut to find the daylight 5 minutes later.

Day 3 : Jardim do Mar: stairs overlooking the Ocean

For the more sporty, the walk from Jardim do Mar to Prazeres and then Paul do Mar is a good alternative in the western region of the island. The return to Jardim do Mar will take place along the beach, on pebbles. Beware of the tides!

Distance-duration: 7 km. 3:30 a. m.

Day 4 : The North Coast: in the river gorge

From Porto Moniz, take the ER 101 for 3 km towards Funchal, turn left towards "Levada Ribeira da Janela - Lamaceiros", then after 3.4 km drive, park near the Lamaceiros water tower. Bus numbers 80, 139 and 150.

Return: this levada hike is a round trip

Distance-Duration: about 25 km round trip. 5 to 8 hours

Route: this beautiful walk is easily accessible and follows the "Levada Central da Ribeira da Janela", one of the best maintained on the island. At several points along the route, there are tables for picnics and even a few bins! To begin, go up the levada that runs on the right of the huge water bottle of the Lamaceiros water tower. As soon as the first bend has passed, a magnificent panorama of the houses framed by the terraced crops of the valley is revealed to the walker, the ocean in the background! It's easy to find your way around: follow the levada that runs straight into the interior of the island and its dense vegetation, where hydrangeas and agapanthes rub shoulders with fruit trees and tree ferns...

Day 5 : From the Levada do Rei to the crystal clear waters of the Ribeiro Bonito

Departure: It is at the water Purification Plant of Quebradas, a place located near São Jorge, which begins the hiking of Levada do Rei. This superb hike in the northern part of the island follows the "king of the king", one of the most beautiful Levadas in Madeira. The Quebradas water reservoir, where hiking begins, caters for the water needs of the São Jorge region. Follow the sign "PR 18 - Levada do Rei" and engouffrez yourself in the lush vegetation of the humid primeval forest. Some éclaircies in the vegetation offer magnificent views over the cultures of São Jorge and the cultivated Santana lands. This course is famous for its biodiversity, where a variety of plant species are flourishing, consisting of endémismes and species established by man. Of course, there are the centuries-old laurels of the Laurel, where the finches of the trees and the orange crête roitelets are émoustillent. The road ends on the idyllic Ribeiro Bonito, the "beautiful river" with crystal clear waters and a gentle waterfall.

Day 6 : Visit of Funchal

Return to Funchal, rest and walk in the capital of the island

Day 7 : On the departure

Return journey. 

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Top 5 des randonnées à Madère

  • 7 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Amis
  • Faune et flore
  • Aventure / Sports et loisirs
  • Moyen

Le climat subtropical de Madère a favorisé le développement de la biodiversité naturelle de l'île. Sa végétation luxuriante et ses fleurs aux couleurs éclatantes éblouissent le randonneur. Le paysage unique de Madère riche de ses fameuses levadas qui serpentent jusqu'aux vallées verdoyantes offre aux randonneurs une expérience inoubliable au coeur de la forêt primitive, un trésor préservé classé au Patrimoine de l'Unesco. Sa faune et sa flore offrent bon nombre d'endémismes qu'il est agréable de débusquer au pied des levadas, sous ses arbres et ses fougères arborescentes, dans ses vallées fleuries. Ses origines volcaniques ont façonné ses falaises déchiquetées et ses montagnes vertigineuses qui offrent des paysages tout aussi fascinants. Voici un panorama des plus belles randonnées de l'île :

Galerie photos

Jardin botanique, terrasse panoramique avec vue sur Funchal. <p>The Old Blandy Madeira Wine Lodge.</p> <p>Jardim do Mar.</p> Piscine naturelle. <p>Mercado dos Lavradores, fruits de la passion.</p>

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Funchal
  • Ponta do Sol
  • Prazeres
  • Jardim do Mar
  • Porto Moniz
  • São Jorge
  • Santana
  • Paúl do Mar
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Top 5 des randonnées à Madère - 7 jours

Jour 1 : Piornais, entre ville et vallée

Parcours : il s'agit là d'une petite balade oscillant entre ville et nature, idéale pour qui souhaite prendre un peu l'air sans s'éloigner de Funchal. Comme bien souvent à Madère, le chemin est tout tracé : il suffit de remonter le courant de la levada. La première partie du chemin se déroule à l'arrière d'un quartier résidentiel, laissant entrevoir au promeneur les jardins fleuris, la ville-nouvelle un peu plus loin et l'océan au troisième plan.

Départ : au départ de Funchal, prenez le bus n° 24 sur l'Avenida do Mar, face au Palais São Lourenço. Après 10 minutes de trajet, demandez au chauffeur de vous laisser descendre à " Bairro de Ajuda ". Dirigez-vous alors à pied vers les immeubles en surplomb : la levada dos Piornais passe juste au-dessus. Vous pouvez également, avec le bus n° 45 (ou le n° 8), rejoindre l'Estádio dos Barreiros (le stade de Barreiros). La randonnée débute juste au-dessus, au croisement de la levada et de la route qui mène à Nazaré.

 

Retour : si vous ne souhaitez pas refaire tout le chemin dans l'autre sens : après avoir fait demi-tour, reprenez la route et passez à nouveau sous le pont. Après 5 minutes à longer la levada, vous croiserez une route en virage. Le bus n° 24 retourne vers Funchal.

Distance-Durée : environ 7 km aller, 2 heures.

Jour 2 : Dans les hauteurs de Ponta do Sol

Départ : au départ de Funchal, prendre la route côtière jusqu'au village de Punta do Sol, puis direction les hauteurs : Lombada da Ponta do Sol. Prenez le manoir Solar dos Esmeraldos comme point de chute. Le levada dos Moinho commence juste derrière l'église qui la jouxte. Depuis Funchal, le bus n° 142 de la compagnie Rodoeste (ou bus n° 146) s'arrête à Ponta do Sol - Lombada.

Retour : le levada Nova vous ramène à 150 m de votre point de départ.

Distance-Durée : environ 10 km. 3 heures.

Parcours : la levada do Moinho alimentait jadis le moulin à sucre du manoir Solar dos Esmerados près de l'église (moinho = moulin), désormais devenue une école. Pas le temps de réfléchir, la balade débute sur les chapeaux de roues en projetant le marcheur à une belle altitude. Toute la balade se déroule sur un petit muret pas bien large, et à quelques endroits la barrière de sécurité fait défaut. Vigilance et concentration sont donc de mise ! La montagne se dresse sur votre droite pendant que le murmure du fleuve Ribeira da Ponta do Sol en contrebas rythme le pas. Nature généreuse et vertigineux espaces sont au rendez-vous. Tout le long du chemin on devine la levada Nova qui court en quelque sorte un étage au-dessus de celle que vous arpentez ici. Après 45 minutes de marche, on débouche sur la source de la Levada Nova et le fracas de l'eau sur la rocaille est le signal qu'il faut emprunter les escaliers grimpant sur la droite, pour attaquer la deuxième partie du chemin.

 

Le point d'orgue de la balade se dévoile ici : après d'étroits zigzags à flanc de montagne, une cascade apparaît, déroulant ses puissantes ondes au beau milieu du chemin (plus encore en hiver ou après de fortes pluies) ! Si la douche semble inévitable, on limitera les dégâts grâce au passage creusé dans la roche qui permet de traverser habilement l'obstacle aquatique. Le deuxième point fort de la balade se présente sous la forme d'un tunnel de 200 m : lampe torche allumée, on s'enfonce dans l'obscurité de ce boyau minéral pour retrouver la lumière du jour 5 minutes plus tard.

Jour 3 : Jardim do Mar : des escaliers sur l'Océan

Pour les plus sportifs, la balade au départ de Jardim do Mar rejoignant Prazeres puis Paul do Mar est une bonne alternative dans la région ouest de l'île. Le retour à Jardim do Mar se fera le long de la plage, sur les galets. Attention aux marées !

Distance-durée : 7 km. 3 heures 30.

Jour 4 : La Côte Nord : dans la gorge de la rivière

Départ de Porto Moniz, prenez l'ER 101 pendant 3 km en direction de Funchal, tournez à gauche direction " Levada Ribeira da Janela - Lamaceiros ", puis après 3,4 km de route, garez-vous près du château d'eau de Lamaceiros. Bus n° 80, 139 et 150.

Retour : cette randonnée de levada est un aller-retour. 

Distance-Durée : environ 25 km aller-retour. 5 à 8 heures

Parcours : cette belle marche est facile d'accès et suit la " Levada Central da Ribeira da Janela ", une des mieux entretenues de l'île. On trouve en plusieurs points du parcours des tables prévues pour le pique-nique et même quelques poubelles ! Pour commencer, remontez la levada qui court sur la droite de l'immense bonbonne à eau du château d'eau de Lamaceiros. A peine le premier virage passé, un magnifique panorama sur les habitations encadrées des cultures en terrasses de la vallée se dévoile au marcheur, l'océan en arrière-plan ! Rien de plus facile pour s'orienter : suivez la levada qui file droit vers l'intérieur de l'île et sa dense végétation, où hortensias et agapanthes côtoient arbres fruitiers et fougères arborescentes...

Jour 5 : De la Levada do Rei aux eaux limpides de la Ribeiro Bonito

Départ : c'est à la station d'épuration des eaux de Quebradas, un lieu-dit situé près de São Jorge, que débute la randonnée de la Levada do Rei. Cette superbe randonnée du nord de l'île suit la " levada du roi ", une des plus belles levadas de Madère. Le réservoir d'eau de Quebradas, où débute la randonnée, subvient aux besoins en eau de la région de São Jorge. Suivez le panneau " PR18 - Levada do Rei " et engouffrez-vous dans la végétation luxuriante de l'humide forêt primitive. Quelques éclaircies dans la végétation offrent de magnifiques points de vue sur les cultures de São Jorge et les terres cultivées de Santana. Ce parcours est fameux pour sa biodiversité où s'épanouit une grande variété d'espèces végétales composée d'endémismes et d'espèces implantées par l'homme. On y retrouve bien sûr les lauriers centenaires de la Laurisilva où s'émoustillent les pinsons des arbres et les roitelets à crête orangée. Le chemin s'achève sur l'idyllique Ribeiro Bonito, la " belle rivière " aux eaux limpides et à la douce cascade.

Jour 6 : Visite de Funchal

Retour à Funchal, repos et balade dans la capitale de l'île. 

Jour 7 : Sur le départ

Voyage retour. 

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur