Chicago, Madison and Milwaukee, witnesses to the architecture of the 20th and 21th centuries

  • 7 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Autumn
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Friends
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Medium
Chicago is undoubtedly the capital of architecture in the Midwest and perhaps in the United States. We come from all over the world to study its fascinating buildings and its private avant-garde houses. Madison and Milwaukee, discrete neighbours, also reserve beautiful artistic surprises that should be mentioned.

Photo gallery

<p>Aerial view of Chicago's skylines</p> Motorcyclists with Chicago and their beautiful machine. Futuristic De ́ cors à Chicago Chicago skyline Comedy Musical <p>Milwaukee and Lake Michigan.</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Chicago
  • Milwaukee
  • Madison
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Chicago, Madison and Milwaukee, witnesses to the architecture of the 20th and 21th centuries - 7 days

Day 1 : Arrival in Chicago

To recover from the jet lag, make a simple visit fo the Loop area and Michigan Avenue. Passage via Millennium Park. Evening and night in the Loop.

Day 2 : Guided tour of the Loop

In the morning, enjoy an architectural tour guided by the ArchiCenter of the late 19th - early 20th century buildings of Loop (Monadnock Building, Fisher Building, Marquette Building, Rookery Building, Old Colony Building...). In the afternoon, the ArchiCenter also organizes a guided tour, recent Loop buildings (Willis Tower, Thompson Center...). Dinner in the Loop.

Day 3 : Cruise on Lake Michigan

Get aboard Chicago's First Lady. The boat pass in the middle of downtown skyscrapers and departs from the skyline of Chicago.

Day 4 : Museum Campus, University of Chicago and Gold Coast

Guided tour by ArchiCenter by bus, lasting three hours: the Loop, Museum Campus, Jackson Park, University of Chicago and the famous campus designed by Mies van der Rohe, Robie House. Return to North Chicago for a visit to the Gold Coast neighbourhood and the beautiful Astor Street houses.

Day 5 : Oak Park, a residential area unlike any other

Visit of the Oak Park district of Chicago. Home and Studio of Frank Lloyd Wright, and then walk in the neighborhood where he signed twenty-five houses designed for his clients.

Day 6 : Madison and Taliesin, Wright and Jordan Lands

Departure by car rental to Madison. Visit of the Monona Center designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and then departure to Spring Green where you can find his extraordinary book, Taliesin. In the late afternoon, the House on the Rock designed by Alex Jordan, an architectural marvel that is home to motley collections. Overnight in Madison.

Day 7 : Milwaukee

Go to Milwaukee to discover the Milwaukee Art Museum, a superb museum of contemporary art designed by the Spanish architect Calatrava. You will have lunch in the Third ward neighbourhood, a warehouse district which is now completely rehabilitated, before returning to Chicago.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Chicago, Madison et Milwaukee, témoins de l'architecture des XXe et XXIe siècles

  • 7 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Automne
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Amis
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Moyen
Chicago est sans conteste la capitale de l'architecture dans le Midwest et peut-être même aux Etats-Unis. On y vient du monde entier pour étudier ses buildings fascinants et ses maisons particulières avant-gardistes. Madison et Milwaukee, discrètes voisines, réservent elles aussi de belles surprises artistiques qui méritent que l'on s'y attarde.

Galerie photos

Vue aérienne de grattes-ciel de Chicago Le Wrigley Field, arène de l'équipe des Chicago Cubs. Le Cloud Gate au milieu du Millenium Park. Le pavillon Jay Pritzker, Millenium Park. Vue aérienne de Chicago et du Navy Pier.

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • CHICAGO
  • MILWAUKEE
  • MADISON
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Chicago, Madison et Milwaukee, témoins de l'architecture des XXe et XXIe siècles - 7 jours

Jour 1 : Arrivée à Chicago

Pour récupérer du décalage horaire, simple visite à pied du quartier du Loop et de Michigan Avenue. Passage par Millennium Park. Soirée et nuit dans le Loop.

Jour 2 : Visite guidée du Loop

Le matin, offrez-vous une visite architecturale guidée par l'ArchiCenter des bâtiments de la fin du XIXe siècle-début XXe du Loop (Monadnock Building, Fisher Building, Marquette Building, Rookery Building, Old Colony Building...). L'après-midi, l'ArchiCenter organise également un tour guidé, des bâtiments récents du Loop (Willis Tower, Thompson Center...). Dîner dans le Loop.

Jour 3 : Croisière sur le Lac Michigan

Embarquez à bord du Chicago's First Lady. Le bateau passe au milieu de la forêt de gratte-ciel du centre-ville et s'en écarte pour admirer la skyline de Chicago.

Jour 4 : Museum Campus, Université de Chicago et Gold Coast

Visite guidée par l'ArchiCenter en bus, d'une durée de trois heures : le Loop, Museum Campus, Jackson Park, université de Chicago et le célèbre campus dessiné par Mies van der Rohe, la Robie House. Retour vers les quartiers nord de Chicago pour une visite du quartier de Gold Coast et des belles maisons d'Astor Street.

Jour 5 : Oak Park, un quartier résidentiel pas comme les autres

Visite du quartier d'Oak Park de Chicago. Home and Studio de Frank Lloyd Wright, puis balade dans le quartier où il a signé vingt-cinq maisons conçues pour ses clients.

Jour 6 : Madison et Taliesin, terres de Wright et Jordan

Départ en voiture de location vers Madison. Visite du Monona Center dessiné par Frank Lloyd Wright, puis départ vers Spring Green où se trouve son extraordinaire ouvrage, Taliesin. En fin d'après-midi, visite de la House on the Rock dessinée par Alex Jordan, merveille architecturale qui abrite des collections hétéroclites. Nuit à Madison.

Jour 7 : Milwaukee

Rendez-vous à Milwaukee pour découvrir le Milwaukee Art Museum, superbe musée d'art contemporain dont le design a été réalisé par l'architecte espagnol Calatrava. On déjeunera dans le quartier du Third Ward, quartier des entrepôts aujourd'hui complètement réhabilité, avant de rentrer à Chicago.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur