Washington D.C., at the heart of a political and cultural America

  • 7 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Autumn
  • General public
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Medium

The American capital is an essential destination for those interested in art, especially American art. Many high-level museums are gathered on these streets, such as the National Museum of Women in the Arts or the Phillips Collection. It is a very cultural week that awaits you.

Photo gallery

<p>Washington Monument.</p> <p>Capitol of the United States.</p> <p>Capitol of the United States.</p> <p>Capitol of the United States.</p> <p>Lincoln Memorial.</p> <p>White House.</p> White House.

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Washington Dc
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Washington D.C., at the heart of a political and cultural America - 7 days

Day 1 : Trolley and National Mall

Start by getting to know the city by getting in a trolley. They regularly go next to the South Station (subway of the same name, red line), tickets are purchased at 50 Massachusetts Avenue. On bord this old-fashioned bus, you will discover the different neighborhoods in Washington. In the afternoon, stroll along the National Mall, the place most frequented by all those who come to Washington for the first time. Then, go to the new major information centre at the Capitol, to take brochures, maps, etc. Jazz lovers will surely find the Blues Alley very pleasant to spend the evening. Otherwise, dine at Adams Morgan (at 2 Amys for example) and have a drink at Madam's Organ (this neighborhood is liveliest on weekends)!

Day 2 : Memorials and National Gallery of Art

There are so many museums in Washington (and almost all free) that you need to target those who are interested before you start the visits. To begin with a breath of fresh air, you are advised to spend the morning at the Mall, to discover the many war memorials of the last century and those in homage to the presidents, such as Jefferson and Lincoln (this is the same, there are many, so select a few beforehand). Then, before you attack the National Gallery of Art, have lunch in the cafeteria (there are no good restaurants around the Mall). The West Building is longer than the East, but the two are worth seeing, so it's up to you to judge.

Day 3 : Georgetown

The Europeans who went to Washington often evoke the name of this pleasant neighbourhood. Here are the main places to see during the day: Georgetown University, the Old Stone House (in M Street), the fabulous Dumbarton Oaks gardens (and the small Pre-Columbian art museum), the clothing shops on Wisconsin Avenue and M Street, or the antique shops of Wisconsin Avenue. In the evening, dine at Bistro Français and have a drink at Blue Ridge.

Day 4 : National Museum of the American Indian

The National Museum of the American Indian is one of the must-visit museums in the city. It highlights the art and current life of American Indians who live mostly on reserves. It is generally well done and didactic, but politically correct... (there is never any question of their extermination by European settlers). You may think that this is a form of recognition by the US Government of past acts. In the afternoon, we recommend the International Spy Museum or the Museum of Air and Space.

Day 5 : Washington National Cathedral and U Street

Start the day by visiting the cathedral of Washington, the sixth largest in the world. Admission is free. For lunch, the pizzeria 2 Amys is strongly advised. The location is full of premises and the pizzas are delicious. In the afternoon, you are invited to discover U Street, a black American area uergoing rehabilitation (jazz bars, restaurants...). The African American Civil War Museum, located in the True Reformer Building (Duke Ellington and a piano are painted at the top of the building), traces the history of the black community during the American civil war, with photos, archival documents and paintings. Almost in front of this building, Ben's Chili Bowl (one of Bill Cosby's favourite fast foods), whose storefront bore the inscription "Soul Brother" during the segregation, remains an institution of the neighbourhood to be discovered. Next to the Lincoln Theater is the completely restored Lincoln Theater. At the corner of U Street and the 12th Street, the famous Bohemian Caverns, which can be seen on the saxophone at the entrance. Turn right onto 12th Street and U Street, and discover the houses built between 1890 and 1920. Almost at the end of the street, on the right sidewalk, stop for a moment in front of the building on the door of which you can read: "Thursood Marshall Center for Service and Heritage". This building is a former YMCA (Young Mens Christian Association) or a sports centre for the people in the neighbourhood. At the end of the street, turn right onto S Street. On the left sidewalk, Garrison Elementary School bears the name of one of the most important figures in the history of abolitionism in the United States. Before turning right onto 13th Street, admire the French style houses Second Empire located on the left sidewalk after the crossing of S Street and 13th Street. On 13th Street, at number 1805, there is the residence where Duke Ellington (Edward Kennedy Ellington of his real name) lived before leaving for New York. A little further, at number 1829, the Whitelaw building was a hotel, opened in 1919, where many black personalities passing through Washington were located. The hotel has been converted into a building for low-income families. Turn right onto T Street and 13th Street, then turn left onto Vermont street. You will come across the African-American Civil War Memorial with, beside the monument, the names of all soldiers who fought during this war. For dinner, we recommend Ben's Chili Bowl, an institution in Washington since 1958, and a jazz club then, Utopia or Bohemian Caverns. Finally, those who want to listen to a concert can watch the programming of 9:30 Club.

Day 6 : Phillips Collection and Dupont Circle neighbourhood

This very famous museum houses the first private collection of modern art in the United States. Spend the morning strolling through the renovated house of its former owner, the collector Duncan Phillips. Over several floors, you will discover the paintings of the permanent collection (the Degas are superb). Also take a look at the temporary exhibitions, if you feel like it. Then, have lunch at Dupont Circle and go to the Kramerbooks & Afterwords bookstore, open 24 hours a day on certain days of the week. If you want to see some embassies, take Massachusetts Avenue at Scott Circle level and walk north of the city. Or take any bus N (Westound) to Dupont Circle, which will make you discover the "Embassy Row" (where the embassies of Turkey, Brazil, Netherlands, Vatican... are aligned). In the evening, have a drink at the Bravo! Bravo! or at Brickseller.

Day 7 : White House and National Museum of Women in the Arts

Before visiting the White House (from afar, since visits are no longer permitted, unless you are boosted), go to White House Visitor's Center to get brochures describing the various parts of the presidential residence. After getting through security (as at the airport), you can see a permanent exhibition on life in the White House, the American presidents, their wives and their children, with texts and photos in support. Finally, do not leave the city before visiting the National Museum of Women in the Arts, one of the most curious museums in Washington devoted to women painters from the 16th century to the present day. A great tribute!

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Washington D.C., au coeur d'une Amérique politique et culturelle

  • 7 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Automne
  • Tout public
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Moyen

La capitale américaine est une destination incontournable pour ceux qui s'intéressent à l'art, notamment américain. De nombreux musées de très haut niveau sont réunis dans ces rues, comme le National Museum of Women in the Arts ou la Phillips Collection. C'est une semaine très culturelle qui vous attend.

Galerie photos

<p>Washington Monument.</p> <p>Capitole des États-Unis.</p> <p>Capitole des États-Unis.</p> Le mémorial Martin Luther King à Washington. <p>Capitole des États-Unis.</p> <p>Lincoln Memorial.</p> <p>White House.</p>

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Washington Dc
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Washington D.C., au coeur d'une Amérique politique et culturelle - 7 jours

Jour 1 : Trolley et National Mall

Commencez par faire connaissance avec la ville en montant dans un trolley. Ils partent régulièrement à côté de la gare South Station (métro du même nom, ligne rouge), les billets s'achètent au 50 Massachusetts Avenue. A bord de ce bus à l'ancienne, vous découvrirez les différents quartiers de Washington. L'après-midi, promenez-vous le long du National Mall, le lieu le plus fréquenté par tous ceux qui viennent à Washington pour la première fois. Ensuite, passez au nouveau grand centre d'information du Capitole, pour y prendre brochures, cartes, etc. Les amateurs de jazz trouveront sûrement le Blues Alley fort agréable pour passer la soirée. Sinon, dîner à Adams Morgan (au 2 Amys par exemple) et verre à Madam's Organ (c'est le week-end que ce quartier est le plus animé) !

Jour 2 : Mémoriaux et National Gallery of Art

Il y a tant de musées à Washington (et presque tous gratuits) qu'il faut cibler ceux qui vous intéressent avant de commencer les visites. Pour débuter par une bouffée d'oxygène, on vous conseille de passer la matinée au Mall, pour découvrir les nombreux mémoriaux des guerres du siècle dernier et ceux en hommage aux présidents, comme Jefferson et Lincoln (là, c'est pareil, il y en a beaucoup, donc en sélectionner quelques-uns au préalable). Ensuite, avant d'attaquer la National Gallery of Art, déjeuner à la cafétéria (il n'y a pas de bons restos autour du Mall). Le West Building est plus long que le East, mais les deux sont à voir, donc c'est à vous de juger.

Jour 3 : Georgetown

Les Européens qui sont allés à Washington évoquent souvent le nom de cet agréable quartier. Voici les principaux endroits à voir pendant la journée : Georgetown University, the Old Stone House (dans M Street), les fabuleux jardins de Dumbarton Oaks (et le petit musée d'art précolumbien), les boutiques de vêtements sur Wisconsin Avenue et dans M Street, ou les antiquaires de Wisconsin Avenue. Le soir, dîner au Bistro Français et verre au Blue Ridge.

Jour 4 : National Museum of the American Indian

Le National Museum of the American Indian est un des musées incontournables de la ville. Il met en lumière l'art et la vie actuelle des Indiens d'Amérique qui vivent pour la plupart dans des réserves. C'est dans l'ensemble bien fait et didactique, mais politiquement correct... (il n'est jamais question de leur extermination par les colons européens). On peut penser qu'il s'agit d'une forme de reconnaissance du gouvernement américain des actes passés. L'après-midi, on vous recommande l'International Spy Museum ou le Museum of Air and Space.

Jour 5 : Washington National Cathedral et U Street

Commencez la journée en allant voir la cathédrale de Washington, la sixième plus grande du monde. L'entrée est libre. Pour le déjeuner, on vous conseille vivement la pizzeria 2 Amys. L'endroit est plein de locaux et les pizzas sont délicieuses. L'après-midi, on vous propose d'aller découvrir U Street, un quartier noir américain en cours de réhabilitation (bars de jazz, restos...). Le musée African American Civil War, situé dans le True Reformer Building (Duke Ellington et un piano sont peints en haut du bâtiment), retrace l'histoire de la communauté noire pendant la guerre civile américaine, avec photos, documents d'archives et tableaux. Quasiment en face de ce bâtiment, Ben's Chili Bowl (un des fast-foods préférés de Bill Cosby), dont la devanture portait l'inscription " Soul Brother " pendant la ségrégation, reste une institution du quartier à découvrir. A côté se dresse le Lincoln Theater, entièrement restauré. A l'angle de U Street et de la 12th Street trône la fameuse Bohemian Caverns, repérable à son saxophone à l'entrée. Tournez à droite dans la 12th Street et U Street, et découvrez les maisons construites entre 1890 et 1920. Quasiment au bout de la rue, sur le trottoir de droite, arrêtez-vous un instant devant le building sur la porte duquel on peut lire : " Thursood Marshall Center for Service and Heritage ". Ce bâtiment est un ancien YMCA (Young Mens Christian Association) ou un centre de sport pour les gens du quartier. Au bout de la rue, tournez à droite dans S Street. Sur le trottoir de gauche, la Garrison Elementary School porte le nom d'un des plus importants personnages de l'histoire de l'abolitionnisme aux États-Unis. Avant de tourner à droite dans la 13th Street, admirez les maisons de style français Second Empire situées sur le trottoir de gauche après le croisement de S Street et 13th Street. Sur la 13th Street, au numéro 1805, se trouve la demeure où Duke Ellington (Edward Kennedy Ellington de son vrai nom) habita avant de partir à New York. Un peu plus loin, au numéro 1829, le bâtiment Whitelaw fut un hôtel, ouvert en 1919, où résidaient de nombreuses personnalités noires de passage à Washington. L'hôtel a été transformé en immeuble pour des familles à faibles revenus. Tournez à droite dans T Street et 13th Street, puis prenez la première à gauche dans Vermont Street. Vous tomberez sur le African-American Civil War Memorial avec, à côté du monument, les noms de tous les soldats qui se sont battus pendant cette guerre. Pour dîner, on vous conseille Ben's Chili Bowl, une institution à Washington depuis 1958, et une boîte de jazz ensuite, l'Utopia ou la Bohemian Caverns. Enfin, ceux qui ont envie d'écouter un concert peuvent regarder la programmation du 9 : 30 Club.

Jour 6 : Phillips Collection et le quartier de Dupont Circle

Ce musée très renommé abrite la première collection privée d'art moderne aux États-Unis. Passez la matinée à déambuler dans la maison rénovée de son ancien propriétaire, le collectionneur Duncan Phillips. Vous découvrirez, sur plusieurs étages, les toiles de la collection permanente (les Degas sont superbes). Jetez aussi un oeil à l'expo temporaire, si le coeur vous en dit. Ensuite, déjeunez à Dupont Circle et passez à la librairie Kramerbooks & Afterwords, ouverte 24h/24 certains jours de la semaine. Si vous voulez voir quelques ambassades, prenez Massachusetts Avenue au niveau de Scott Circle et marchez en direction du nord de la ville. Ou bien, prenez n'importe quel bus N (Westound) à Dupont Circle, qui vous fera découvrir l' " Embassy Row " (où s'alignent les ambassades de Turquie, du Brésil, des Pays-Bas, du Vatican...). Le soir, prenez un verre au Bravo ! Bravo ! ou au Brickseller.

Jour 7 : Maison-Blanche et National Museum of Women in the Arts

Avant d'aller voir la Maison-Blanche (de loin, puisque les visites ne sont plus autorisées, à moins d'être pistonné), passez au White House Visitor's Center pour vous procurer des brochures décrivant les différentes pièces de la demeure présidentielle. Après avoir passé la sécurité (comme à l'aéroport), on peut voir une expo permanente sur la vie à la Maison-Blanche, les présidents américains, leurs épouses et leurs enfants, avec textes et photos à l'appui. Enfin, ne quittez pas la ville avant d'avoir visité le National Museum of Women in the Arts, un des musées les plus curieux de Washington entièrement consacré aux femmes peintres, du XVIe siècle jusqu'à nos jours. Un bel hommage !

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur