One week in Maui

  • 7 days
  • All seasons
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Family
  • Friends
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Faune and flora
  • Discovery
  • Adventure / Sports & Leisure
  • Free time
  • Relaxation / Well-being
  • Medium

If you have a one-week stay in Hawaii, it's better to focus on one of the four most important islands. Due to a fairly strenuous time lag, it is tiring to take up the plane almost immediately to go to another island. Here is thus a stay entirely dedicated to Maui.

Photo gallery

<p>Overview of Kahului.</p> <p>Majestic volcano.</p> Véliplanchistes de Hookipa Beach. Haleakala National Park.

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Lahaina
  • Kaanapali
  • Kahului
  • Wailuku
  • Kihei
  • Wailea
  • Makena
  • Paia
  • La Route De Hana
  • Hana
  • Haleakala National Park
  • La Route De Kula
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: One week in Maui - 7 days

Day 1 : Lahaina

Arrival at Kahului airport early in the morning or the day before. Take a hotel in Lahaina on the first day because it is a city where you can do everything on foot and one of the few places of Maui where nightlife is lively. The day will be devoted to the visit o museums and historic monuments, shopping in the shops of the charming streets of the city centre, with a whale watching session if it is the season (from December to April; plan 4 hours). For lunch or dinner, Lahaina offers cheap restaurants and good foods.

Day 2 : Kaanapali beaches

Spend the day on the beautiful Kaanapali coast, discovering its dream beaches where you can bathe safely and snorkel (Black Rock Beach is an excellent spot). Lunch at the Whalers Village, nearby, where you can also make do your shopping. In the evening, it's advisable to sleep in Lahaina, which is only at 15 minute drive and where hotels are much cheaper than in Kaanapali.

Day 3 : Cai Valley and its surrounding area

In the morning, hiking through the pretty and greenish Iao Valley, overlooked by the stunning peak, the "Iao Needle", a result of the volcanic erosion for thousands of years. Around noon, picnic at the Tropical Gardens of Maui (Botanical Garden with endemic plants of Hawaii). In the afternoon, visit the Kepaniwai Park & Hawaii Nature Center, which, through sculptures and pavilions, pays tribute to all groups of migrants coming to Maui and more generally to Hawaii. In the evening, go to Kihei, where you can find an apartment or bed & breakfast for the night. Dinner and exit at Kihei Kalama Village, where you can find all the restaurants and bars.

Day 4 : Makena

Spend the day on the sublime beaches of Magburaka (Black Sand Beach and Big Beach are absolute must!). Picnic or lunch at the Commercial shopping centre of Wailea in the north (15 minutes' drive). At about 5 p. m. take the road to the north and settle down at one of the hotels in Wailuku (in the centre of the island) or Paia on the north coast. Dinner in town in Paia or Wailuku.

Day 5 : The Hana Road

Early departure from Paia. "Hana road" is this long winding road dotted with stunning natural shows, between majestic waterfalls and secret beaches, exotic odorous forests and beautiful panoramas. This road starts in Paia and end in Hana.

Day 6 : Around Hana

Start the day with the stages in the south of Hana: Wailua Falls and hiking on the Pipiwai Trail. Return to Hana for a picnic on the beautiful beach of Red Sand Beach. In the afternoon, go back to Wailuku or Paia and make additional stops on the Hana Road.

Day 7 : he Haleakala Volcano and the Kula Road

In the morning: the Haleakala volcano. You need to leave the hotel early so as to be able to attend the sunrise on the Haleakala volcano between 5.45 and 7 pm. The Haleakala, "the sun's house" in Hawaiian, is a sleeping volcano (3 055 m altitude) that occupies two thirds of Maui. Starting from Kahului, it takes 2 hours to travel 38 miles (61 km) leading to the crater. The ascent is steep and winding. Be patient because you can only see the crater at the end of the journey. In the afternoon: the Kula road. It crosses the entire centre of the island and finishes its race on the plains of Ulupakua. The must-visits: the Ulupakua Ranch, the Roggeri vines and the lavender fields "Alii Kula Lavender". Sleep in Wailuku or Kahului, to be near the airport for your flight the next day.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Une semaine à Maui

  • 7 jours
  • Toutes saisons
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Famille
  • Amis
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Faune et flore
  • Découverte
  • Aventure / Sports et loisirs
  • Farniente
  • Détente / Bien être
  • Moyen

Si on reste une semaine à Hawaï, il vaut mieux se concentrer sur l'une des quatre îles les plus importantes. En raison du décalage horaire assez éprouvant, il est fatigant de reprendre l'avion presque tout de suite pour aller sur une autre île. Voici donc un séjour entièrement consacré à Maui.

Galerie photos

<p>Survol de Kahului.</p> <p>Danse à l'ombre des volcans.</p> <p>Véliplanchistes de Hookipa Beach.</p> Haleakala National Park.

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Lahaina
  • Kaanapali
  • Kahului
  • Wailuku
  • Kihei
  • Wailea
  • Makena
  • Paia
  • La Route De Hana
  • Hana
  • Haleakala National Park
  • La Route De Kula
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Une semaine à Maui - 7 jours

Jour 1 : Lahaina

Arriver à l'aéroport de Kahului tôt le matin ou la veille. Prendre un hôtel à Lahaina le premier jour car c'est une ville où on peut tout faire à pied et l'un des rares endroits de Maui où la vie nocturne est animée. La journée sera consacrée à la visite des musées et des monuments historiques, au shopping dans les boutiques des charmantes ruelles du centre-ville, avec en prime une séance de whale-watching (observation des baleines) si c'est la saison (de décembre à avril ; prévoir 4 heures de temps disponible). Pour déjeuner ou dîner, Lahaina compte aussi bien des restaurants bon marché que des bonnes tables.

Jour 2 : Plages de Kaanapali

Passer la journée sur la superbe côte de Kaanapali, à la découverte de ses plages de rêve où l'on peut se baigner sans danger et faire du snorkeling (Black Rock Beach est un excellent spot). Déjeuner au Whalers Village, à proximité, où l'on en profitera pour faire les magasins. Le soir, il serait judicieux de dormir à Lahaina, qui n'est qu'à 15 minutes de route et où les hôtels sont beaucoup moins chers qu'à Kaanapali.

Jour 3 : Iao Valley et environs

Le matin, randonnée à travers la jolie et verdoyante Iao Valley, surplombée par l'étonnant pic, le " Iao Needle ", résultat de l'érosion volcanique pendant plusieurs milliers d'années. Vers midi, pique-nique aux Tropical Gardens of Maui (jardin botanique aux plantes endémiques d'Hawaï). L'après-midi, visite du Kepaniwai Park & Hawaii Nature Center, qui, à travers sculptures et pavillons, rend hommage à tous les groupes de migrants venus s'installer à Maui et plus généralement à Hawaï. Le soir, aller à Kihei, où l'on trouvera un appartement ou un Bed & Breakfast pour la nuit. Dîner et sortie au Kihei Kalama Village, où se trouvent tous les restaurants et bars.

Jour 4 : Makena

Passer la journée sur les sublimes plages de Makena (Black Sand Beach et Big Beach sont incontournables !). Pique-nique sur place ou déjeuner au centre commercial de Wailea, au nord (à 15 minutes de route). Vers 17h, prendre la route vers le nord et poser ses valises dans un des hôtels de Wailuku (au centre de l'île) ou de Paia, sur la côte nord. Dîner en ville à Paia ou Wailuku.

Jour 5 : La route de Hana

Départ tôt de Paia. On appelle " route de Hana ", cette longue route sinueuse parsemée de spectacles naturels époustouflants, entre chutes d'eau majestueuses et plages secrètes, forêts exotiques odorantes et panoramas superbes. Cette route commence à Paia pour se terminer à Hana.

Jour 6 : Autour de Hana

Commencer la journée par les étapes au sud de Hana : Wailua Falls et randonnée sur le Pipiwai Trail. Retourner à Hana pour pique-niquer sur la jolie plage de Red Sand Beach. Prendre l'après-midi pour revenir vers Wailuku ou Paia en faisant des arrêts supplémentaires sur la route de Hana.

Jour 7 : Le volcan Haleakala et la route de Kula

Le matin : le volcan Haleakala. Il faut prévoir de partir tôt de son hôtel pour pouvoir assister au lever de soleil sur le volcan Haleakala, entre 5h45 et 7h. Le Haleakala, " maison du soleil " en hawaïen, est un volcan endormi (3 055 m d'altitude) qui occupe les deux tiers de Maui. En partant de Kahului, il faut 2 heures pour parcourir les 38 miles (61 km) qui mènent au cratère. La montée en voiture est raide et sinueuse. S'armer de patience car on n'aperçoit le cratère que sur la fin du trajet. L'après-midi : la route de Kula. Elle traverse tout le centre de l'île et termine sa course dans les plaines d'Ulupakua. Les immanquables : l'Ulupakua Ranch, les vignes Tedeschi et les champs de lavande " Alii Kula Lavender ". Dormir à Wailuku ou Kahului, pour être près de l'aéroport pour son vol le lendemain.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur