Jamaica, the big loop

  • 21 days
  • All seasons
  • General public
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Faune and flora
  • Discovery
  • Adventure / Sports & Leisure
  • Relaxation / Well-being
  • High
Welcome to Jamaica! The 12,000 square kilometres of the island that gave birth to Bob Marley and the Rasta culture are home to a few natural wonders that will win the admiration of the most experienced explorer. From the sumptuous beaches of Port Antonio, Negril and Treasure Beach to the fierce mountains of the Blues Mountains, the unexpected and unforgettable encounters are multiplying. Not to mention the frenetic nights to the sound of reggae dancehall and culinary discoveries!

Photo gallery

<p>Various fruits and vegetables are found in the Kingston market.</p> <p>Sale of ackees (national vegetable) on the Kingston market.</p> View of the Blue Lagoon from a villa. <p>Even birds bear the colours of Jamaica.</p> <p>Tyrolean activity near Ocho Rios.</p> <p>Fishing boats to Ocho Rios.</p> <p>Blue Hole ocho Rios.</p> <p>Mayfield Falls.</p> Tropical landscape around Montego Bay. <p>Seven Mile Beach, Negril, Jamaica.</p> <p>The coast of Negril.</p> Revolver in gem for the strong characters. <p>Blue Mountains.</p> Devon House, a colonial residence to visit absolutely.

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Kingston
  • Port Royal
  • Port Antonio
  • Oracabessa
  • Ocho Rios
  • Falmouth
  • Montego Bay
  • Negril
  • Ys Falls
  • Black River
  • Treasure Beach
  • Anchovy
  • Blue and John Crow Mountains National Park
  • Castleton
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Jamaica, the big loop - 21 days

Day 1 : Arrival in Kingston

Immerse yourself in the calm and greenery from the very beginning by visiting Hope Gardens. On the way to your hotel, stop at Devon House, where you can enjoy the best ice cream in the country at I-Scream. Go out and enjoy the sulphurous atmosphere of Jamaican sound systems.

Day 2 : Kingston and walks at sea

In the morning, visit the historic centre of the city. Promenade on the seafront passing through the Parade. A market tour, Coronation Market, to discover the country's tastes and aromas. Extend your getaway to Port Royal: Here you'll find freshly caught seafood at Gloria and then embark for a sea trip to Lime Kay, an island where it's nice to let you sunbathe, or swim in the crystal clear waters. Return to Kingston.

Day 3 : Port Antonio

On the way to Port Antonio. The locals speak of it as the most beautiful part of the island; it is indeed a very beautiful place, often forgotten by tourists. On the way, stop at Castleton Garden. This magnificent garden, located on both sides of the road to Port Antonio, houses a river with calm and refreshing waters. You can plan a picnic because the offer on site is limited to a few roadside vendors. Arrival in Port Antonio in the middle of the afternoon. Get off at the Ivanhoe. You can relax on the beach of French Man Cove, then have dinner on site in one of the many restaurants that surround the place.

Day 4 : Blue Lagoon

In the morning, take a tour in the city, not forgetting to stop at the market, where you can enjoy fresh local products. Then go to the Blue Lagoon and its waters of deep turquoise blue. For an exciting drink or Evening, try the Roof Club, the rendezvous of the locals and tourists of Port Antonio.

Day 5 : James Bond Beach

Give in to the temptation of Oracabesa and the famous James Bond Beach. The place is generally very lively, with music everywhere. You can let the day go slowly by having lunch on the beach. You can also visit the plantation located a few kilometers away. In the afternoon, take the road to Ocho Rios ("Ochie" for friends).

Day 6 : Dolphin Cove and Turtle Beach

Enjoy a unique experience while swimming with the dolphins of Dolphin Cove. Walk through the duty free shopping malls, and rest on Turtle Beach, the city's largest beach. Also check out the beautiful collections of paintings in Harmony Hall, a little to the east.

Day 7 : Reggae Beach and Fern Gully

Discover Reggae Beach and its natural beauty. The whirlpool and small pebble beach are appreciated. Tried by an excursion? Try the Fern Gully, a vegetation tunnel where you can watch local wildlife with guidance from a guide.

Day 8 : From Dunn's River Falls to Montego Bay

Forced passage to the Dunn's River Falls, magnificent waterfall near Ocho Rios. Spend half a day before your departure for Montego Bay. Allow a stopover in Falmouth, a small fishing village halfway between these two cities, where you will be able to swim in the "light lagoon" in the evening (around 19 h).

Day 9 : Montego Bay and its surroundings

Visit the city of Montego Bay. A short tour to The Cage, a tiny prison inherited from the slave era and Sam Sharpe Square, the city's nerve centre, then explore the interior by the road to Anchovy and Montpelier, and even as far as Seaford Town for adventurers.

Day 10 : Montego Bay Marine Reserve and Doctor's Cave Beach

Montego Bay is home to the largest marine reserve in the Caribbean. Don't miss the opportunity to discover the aquatic fauna. The day will then pass quietly at Doctor's Cave Beach. For those who come back for more after the morning adventure, the beach also offers many marine activities. In the evening, the bay offers a welcoming setting for many restaurants and bars.

Day 11 : Negril - Day 1

Continue towards Negril, the most beautiful beach on the island where hotels and resorts of all kinds are located. Count three days of idleness to enjoy its dream beach, 7 Miles.

Day 12 : Negril - day 2

Second day to stroll in the sun. It is possible to visit the beautiful hinterland with local people. Don't miss the sunset from the cliffs of the West End.

Day 13 : Negril - day 3

Last day of relaxation (and celebration) in Negril before heading back on the road.

Day 14 : Black River

Departure towards Black River. A quick tour of the city will allow you to discover the architectural richness inherited from successive colonizers and sail on the longest river in the country.

Day 15 : Crocodile Safari

Black River and Great Moras Marsh are the natural habitat for many species, including more than 200 crocodiles that you can observe under the watchful eye of your guide during a boat trip. Take a trip to YS Falls to swim in the clear water of these beautiful waterfalls.

Day 16 : Treasure Beach

Spend a day at Treasure Beach to enjoy this beautiful beach and its peaceful atmosphere.

Day 17 : Kingston - Bob Marley Museum

Return to Kingston. A visit to the Bob Marley Museum and Tuff Gong Studios is a must.

Day 18 : Blue Mountains - Day 1

The Blue Mountains are open to you, a few kilometres from Kingston. A dinner at Mount Edge Guest House will be an opportunity to discover typical Jamaican organic and Italian recipes. Enjoy the famous Blue Mountains coffee, before starting the ascent of Whitfield Hall. From there, reach the sky by climbing to the Blue Mountain Peak. Let yourself be won over by the splendour of the place and enjoy the fresh air.

Day 19 : Blue Mountains - Day 2

Second day in the heart of the beautiful Blue Mountains to learn more about Rasta culture before heading to the capital.

Day 20 : Hellshire and dancehall evening

Enjoy one last time on the beach in Hellshire, Portmore, in the immediate suburbs of Kingston. Have lunch on site with fried fish and lobsters at more than reasonable prices. Reggae dancehall atmosphere guaranteed.

Day 21 : Kingston and departure

Last day in Jamaica. Small tour in town for a shopping session prior to departure.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Jamaica, la grande boucle

  • 21 jours
  • Toutes saisons
  • Tout public
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Faune et flore
  • Découverte
  • Aventure / Sports et loisirs
  • Détente / Bien être
  • Élevé
Welcome to Jamaica ! Les 12 000 km2 formant l'île qui a vu naître Bob Marley et la culture rasta abritent quelques merveilles naturelles qui forceront l'admiration du plus aguerri des explorateurs. Des somptueuses plages de Port Antonio, Negril et Treasure Beach jusqu'au farouche massif des Blues Mountains, les rencontres aussi inattendues qu'inoubliables se multiplient.  Sans parler des frénétiques nuits au son du reggae dancehall et des découvertes culinaires !

Galerie photos

On trouve divers fruits et légumes sur le marché de Kingston. Vente d'ackees (le légume national) sur le marché de Kingston. Vue sur Blue Lagoon depuis une villa. Mêmes les oiseaux portent les couleurs de la Jamaïque. Chutes de la rivière Dunn. Découvrez la faune et la flore de Prospect Plantation. Harmony Hall. Chutes de Mayfield. Paysage tropical autour de Montego Bay. Les eaux sont propices aux plongeons. Dans une communauté rasta de Négril. Treasure Beach, une plage à la beauté encore sauvage. Révolver en bijou pour les forts caractères. Devon House, une demeure coloniale à visiter absolument.

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • KINGSTON
  • PORT ROYAL
  • PORT ANTONIO
  • ORACABESSA
  • OCHO RIOS
  • FALMOUTH
  • MONTEGO BAY
  • NEGRIL
  • YS FALLS
  • BLACK RIVER
  • TREASURE BEACH
  • ANCHOVY
  • BLUE AND JOHN CROW MOUNTAINS NATIONAL PARK
  • CASTLETON
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Jamaica, la grande boucle - 21 jours

Jour 1 : Arrivée à Kingston

Plongez dès les premiers instants dans le calme et la verdure en visitant Hope Gardens. En route vers votre hôtel, arrêtez-vous à Devon House, où vous dégusterez les meilleures glaces du pays, chez I-Scream. Sortez pour goûter à l'ambiance sulfureuse des sound systems jamaïcains.

Jour 2 : Kingston et balade en mer

Le matin, visite du centre historique de la ville. Promenade au front de mer en passant par la Parade. Un petit tour au marché, Coronation Market, pour découvrir les goûts et senteurs du pays. Prolongez votre escapade jusqu'à Port Royal : là, vous déjeunerez de fruits de mer fraîchement pêchés chez Gloria, puis embarquerez pour une balade en mer vers Lime Kay, un îlot où il fait bon se laisser dorer au soleil, ou se baigner dans les eaux limpides. Retour à Kingston.

Jour 3 : Port Antonio

En route vers Port Antonio. Les locaux en parlent comme le plus beau coin de l'île ; c'est effectivement un fort bel endroit, souvent oublié des touristes. Sur la route, faites une halte à Castleton Garden. Ce magnifique jardin, occupant les deux côtés de la route de Port Antonio, abrite une rivière aux eaux calmes et rafraîchissantes. Vous pouvez prévoir un pique-nique car l'offre sur place se limite à quelques vendeurs en bord de route. Arrivée à Port Antonio en milieu d'après-midi. Descendez à l'Ivanhoé. Vous pourrez vous prélasser sur la plage de French Man Cove, puis dîner sur place dans l'un des multiples restaurants qui entourent l'endroit.

Jour 4 : Blue Lagoon

Le matin, faites un tour dans la ville en n'oubliant pas de faire une halte au marché, où vous pourrez déguster des produits locaux frais. Rendez-vous ensuite au Blue Lagoon et ses eaux d'un bleu turquoise profond. Pour un verre ou une soirée endiablée, essayez le Roof Club, le rendez-vous des locaux et des touristes de Port Antonio.

Jour 5 : James Bond Beach

Cédez à la tentation de Oracabesa et de la célèbre James Bond Beach. L'endroit est généralement très animé, la musique omniprésente. Vous pouvez laisser doucement la journée s'écouler en déjeunant sur la plage. Vous pouvez également visiter la plantation située à quelques kilomètres de là. L'après-midi, prenez la route de Ocho Rios (" Ochie " pour les intimes).

Jour 6 : Dolphin Cove et Turtle Beach

Profitez d'une expérience unique en vous baignant avec les dauphins de Dolphin Cove. Arpentez les centres commerciaux duty free, et reposez-vous sur Turtle Beach, la plus grande plage de la ville. Allez aussi voir les belles collections de peintures à Harmony Hall, un peu à l'est.

Jour 7 : Reggae Beach et Fern Gully

Découvrez Reggae Beach et sa beauté naturelle. Le bain bouillonnant et la petite plage de caillou sont appréciés. Tenté par une excursion ? Essayez le Fern Gully, tunnel de végétation où vous pourrez observer la faune locale avec les conseils d'un guide.

Jour 8 : De Dunn's River Falls à Montego Bay

Passage obligé aux Dunn's River Falls, magnifiques chutes d'eau à proximité d'Ocho Rios. Passez-y une demi-journée avant votre départ pour Montego Bay. Autorisez-vous une escale à Falmouth, petit village de pêcheurs situé à mi-chemin entre ces deux villes, où vous pourrez, en soirée (vers 19h), vous baigner dans le " lagon lumineux ", un site exceptionnel.

Jour 9 : Montego Bay et ses environs

Visitez la ville de Montego Bay. Un petit tour à The Cage, minuscule prison héritée de la période esclavagiste et au Square Sam Sharpe, centre névralgique de la ville, puis partez à la découverte des terres intérieures par la route d'Anchovy et Montpelier, et même jusqu'à Seaford Town pour les aventuriers.

Jour 10 : Réserve marine de Montego Bay et Doctor's Cave Beach

Montego Bay abrite la plus grande réserve marine des Caraïbes. Ne vous privez pas d'y découvrir la faune aquatique. La journée s'écoulera ensuite tranquillement à Doctor's Cave Beach. Pour ceux qui en redemandent après l'aventure du matin, la plage offre aussi de nombreuses activités marines. Le soir, la baie offre un décor accueillant pour de nombreux restaurants et bars.

Jour 11 : Negril - jour 1

Continuez direction Negril, la plus belle plage de l'île où se trouvent hôtels et resorts en tous genre. Comptez trois jours de farniente pour bien profiter de sa plage de rêve, 7 Miles.

Jour 12 : Negril - jour 2

Deuxième journée à flâner au soleil. Il est possible d'aller visiter le très bel arrière-pays avec des locaux. Ne manquez pas le coucher de soleil depuis les falaises de West End.

Jour 13 : Negril - jour 3

Ultime journée de détente (et de fête) à Negril avant de reprendre la route.

Jour 14 : Black River

Départ en direction de Black River. Un tour rapide de la ville vous permettra de découvrir la richesse architecturale héritée des colonisateurs successifs, puis voguez sur la plus longue rivière du pays.

Jour 15 : Safari crocodiles

Black River et le marais Great Moras sont l'habitat naturel de nombreuses espèces, y compris plus de 200 crocodiles que vous pourrez observer sous l'oeil vigilant de votre guide pendant une excursion en bateau. Partez en excursion à YS Falls pour vous baigner dans l'eau limpide de ces belles cascades.

Jour 16 : Treasure Beach

Passez une journée à Treasure Beach pour profiter de cette belle plage et son ambiance paisible.

Jour 17 : Kingston - Bob Marley Museum

Retour à Kingston. Une visite au Bob Marley Museum et aux studios Tuff Gong est immanquable.

Jour 18 : Blue Mountains - jour 1

Les Blue Mountains s'offrent à vous, à quelques kilomètres de Kingston. Un dîner à Mount Edge Guest House, sera l'occasion de découvrir des recettes bio et ital typiquement jamaïcaines. Dégustez le célèbre café Blue Mountains, avant d'entamer l'ascension du Whitfield Hall. De là, atteignez le ciel en grimpant jusqu'au Blue Mountain Peak. Laissez-vous gagner par la splendeur de l'endroit et faites le plein d'air pur.

Jour 19 : Blue Mountains - jour 2

Seconde journée au coeur du superbe massif des Blue Mountains pour en apprendre davantage sur la culture rasta, avant de filer vers la capitale.

Jour 20 : Hellshire et soirée dancehall

Profitez une dernière fois de la plage en vous rendant à Hellshire, Portmore, dans l'immédiate banlieue de Kingston. Déjeunez sur place de poissons frits et de langoustes à des prix plus que raisonnables. Ambiance reggae dancehall garantie.

Jour 21 : Kingston et départ

Dernier jour en Jamaïque. Petit tour en ville pour une session shopping avant le départ.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur