The most beautiful views of San Francisco

  • 6 days
  • All seasons
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Family
  • Friends
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Medium

" It's a blue house leaning against the hill... ". How can we forget this sweet chorus sung by Maxime Le Forestier after his stay in the Castro district in the summer 1971. Personally, we counted 44 hills, but each has its own version of the facts. The "Seven Hills of San Francisco" are the most famous, the ones you will know by heart at the end of your stay. Namely: Telegraph Hill, Nob Hill, Russian Hill, Rincon Hill, Mount Sutro, Twin Peaks and Mount Davidson.
These generous reliefs are the visitor's delight to travel through the city and reach summits with constantly renewed views of the bay. For each area of the Golden City, we offer a small detour to a summit, a nice hidden staircase or an urban park to lead to a well-deserved view. Have fun calculating the difference in altitude you travel for a week, you may be surprised...

Photo gallery

The Golden Gate Bridge. <p>Victorian houses in San Francisco.</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • San Francisco
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: The most beautiful views of San Francisco - 6 days

Day 1 : Downtown

You will pace up its streets or with the help of the cable car while imagining the view from the 48th floor of the Pyramid Transamerica which culminates at 260 meters. This skyscraper, which was so controversial when it was built in 1969, is located in the heart of the Financial District on Montgomery Street. You can't go to the top of the building unless you rent the last floor for a private evening! Take all the same a moment to admire the pyramid from its base and take a tour at visitor center (1st floor) which broadcasts videos from the webcam installed at the top.

Day 2 : North Beach, Telegraph Hill and the Piers

A Telegraph Hill (84 m), the most beautiful view is the one we have from Coit Tower (64 m). Whether you're going up or down, plan to take the Filbert Steps. These marches have become mythical for their steep slopes and their hanging gardens filled with colourful flowers and birds. The hill bears the name of the tower of the old telegraph built in 1849. To take the Filbert Steps, go to the crossing of Filbert and Sansome streets. You climb the stairs from Filbert to Montgomery and Telegraph Hill to reach the foot of the Coit Tower. A more easy option and take the bus to Coit Tower and take the descent of the Filbert steps!

Day 3 : Nob Hill and Russian Hill

At Russian Hill (90 m), you will climb the world's most winding street, Lombard Street. From the top of its stairs, it's breathless that you'll join the Sterling park where you enjoy a breathtaking view of the Golden Gate and Alcatraz.

Day 4 : Pacific Heights, Cow Hollow and Northwest

Between Nob Hill and Pacific Heights, take a detour through Lafayette Park (115 m) for its view and picnic break. Recently renovated with a children's playground, you can reach this beautiful park at the crossing of Gough and Sacramento roads. Along the coast from the piers to the Golden Gate, the panorama occured with an unobstructed view of the horizon, provided the fog wants to unveil the Golden Gate! From east to west, the most beautiful views are from Crissy Fields (east of the Presidio) and Fort point, at the foot of the Golden Gate.

Day 5 : SoMa, Mission, Castro and the South

To the West of Castro and Noe Valley, beautiful hills including the popular Twin Peaks. The Twin peaks summit reaches 291 metres, right in the centre of San Francisco. It is the highest peak in San Francisco after Mount Davidson and it is reached exclusively by car or public transport. A lesser known views with a nice view of the downtown skyscrapers is Corona Heights (160 metres), which can be reached in a few minutes from Castro. From Muni station, take Castro street, turn left on 16th street and right on Flint Street. At the end of Flint Street, take the path on your left. By going down the same path, take a detour to discover a steep stairway in a charming setting: Vulcan Stairway. The start of the marches is on Ord Street and the walk in climbing way takes place between Ord and Levant streets. On one or two blocks, you can enjoy the fun architecture of lush houses and vegetation. Vulcan Stairway is a secret passage to cross the hill between Castro and Haight or Ashbury Park. If you want to continue the walk in this atmosphere, go down the street parallel to Vulcan, Saturn... A staircase connects Ord Street to the heights of Saturn Street. The houses hidden in this den are mostly accessible only on foot.

Day 6 : Haight and the Golden Gate Park

From Haight to the Golden Gate Park via Sunset, Inner Sunset and Richmond, you enjoy the most beautiful views of the bay. In Haight, the must-visit is the Buena Vista Park (173 m) surrounded by cypresses and eucalyptus. You can reach it from Haight Street, at the intersection of Central Avenue and Baker Street. The Sunset area also offers a small marvel only known to local people and some privileged, the Grand View Park (203 metres) and its fantastic panorama, especially at sunset. The west side of the park has an artistic achievement around the 163 mosaic-adorned marches. This is the 16th Avenue Tiled Steps Project. Start by visiting the mosaic staircase between Noriega and Moraga streets. Climb up the stairs by taking the time to enjoy the artistic richness of the place. Once at the top, join Grand View Park. At the west end of San Francisco, in the Richmond district, enjoy the visit of the Palace of the Legion of Honor to walk along the "Lands End" trail which joins the coast and the park of the same name. You overlook the Pacific. The coastal trail is a 15 km long trail linking the Golden Gate to southwest of San Francisco along the sublime coast.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Les plus belles vues de San Francisco

  • 6 jours
  • Toutes saisons
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Famille
  • Amis
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Moyen

" C'est une maison bleue adossée à la colline... ". Comment pourrait-on oublier ce doux refrain chanté par Maxime Le Forestier après son séjour dans le quartier de Castro durant l'été 1971. Personnellement, nous avons compté 44 collines, mais chacun a sa propre version des faits. Les " Seven Hills of San Francisco ", ce sont les plus célèbres, celles que vous connaîtrez par coeur en fin de séjour. À savoir : Telegraph Hill, Nob Hill, Russian Hill, Rincon Hill, Mount Sutro, Twin Peaks et Mount Davidson.
Ces reliefs généreux font le régal du visiteur pour parcourir la ville et atteindre des sommets offrant des vues sans cesse renouvelées sur la baie. Pour chaque quartier de la Golden City, nous vous proposons un petit détour par un sommet, un joli escalier bien caché ou un parc urbain pour déboucher sur une vue bien méritée. Amusez-vous à calculer le dénivelé que vous parcourrez pendant une semaine, vous risquez d'être surpris...

Galerie photos

Golden Gate Bridge. <p>Maisons victoriennes de San Francisco.</p>

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • San Francisco
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Les plus belles vues de San Francisco - 6 jours

Jour 1 : Downtown

Vous arpenterez les rues grimpantes à pied ou avec l'aide du Cable Car tout en imaginant la vue depuis le 48e étage de la Transamerica Pyramid qui culmine à 260 mètres. Ce gratte-ciel qui a tant fait polémique lors de sa construction en 1969 se trouve en plein coeur du Financial District, sur Montgomery Street. Vous ne pourrez pas vous rendre en haut du building, à moins de louer le dernier étage pour une soirée privée ! Prenez tout de même un instant pour admirer la pyramide depuis sa base et faire un tour au Visitor Center (1er étage) qui diffuse les vidéos de la webcam installée au sommet.

Jour 2 : North Beach, Telegraph Hill et les Piers

À Telegraph Hill (84 m), la plus belle vue est celle que l'on a depuis la Coit Tower (64 m). Que cela soit en montée ou en descente, prévoyez d'emprunter les Filbert Steps. Ces marches sont devenues mythiques pour leur pente raide et leurs jardins suspendus remplis de fleurs et d'oiseaux multicolores. La colline porte le nom de la tour de l'ancien télégraphe construit en 1849. Pour emprunter les Filbert Steps, rendez-vous au croisement de Filbert et Sansome streets. Vous remontez les escaliers de Filbert vers Montgomery et Telegraph Hill pour parvenir au pied de la Coit Tower. Une option plus aisée est de prendre le bus vers Coit Tower et d'effectuer la descente des marches de Filbert !

Jour 3 : Nob Hill et Russian Hill

À Russian Hill (90 m), vous entamerez l'ascension de la rue la plus sinueuse du monde, Lombard Street. Du haut de ses escaliers, c'est essoufflé que vous rejoindrez le Sterling Park où vous savourerez une vue époustouflante sur le Golden Gate et Alcatraz.

Jour 4 : Pacific Heights, Cow Hollow et le nord-ouest

Entre Nob Hill et Pacific Heights, prévoyez un détour par Lafayette Park (115 m) pour sa vue et une pause pique-nique. Récemment rénové avec une aire de jeux pour les enfants, vous accéderez à ce joli parc au croisement de Gough et Sacramento streets. En longeant la côte depuis les piers jusqu'au Golden Gate, le panorama se déroule avec une vue dégagée à l'horizon, à condition que le fog veuille bien dévoiler le Golden Gate ! D'est en ouest, les plus belles vues sont celles que vous aurez depuis Crissy Fields (à l'est du Presidio), et à Fort Point, au pied du Golden Gate.

Jour 5 : SoMa, Mission, Castro et le sud

À l'ouest de Castro et de Noe Valley, de jolies collines dont les très populaires Twin Peaks. Le sommet de Twin Peaks culmine à 291 mètres, en plein centre géographique de San Francisco. C'est le 2e sommet le plus élevé de San Francisco après le Mount Davidson et il se rejoint exclusivement en voiture ou en transports publics. Un point de vue moins connu et offrant une jolie vue sur les gratte-ciel de Downtown est celui de Corona Heights (160 mètres), que l'on rejoint en quelques minutes depuis Castro. Au départ de la station Muni, prenez Castro street, tournez à gauche sur 16th street et à droite sur Flint street. Au bout de Flint street empruntez le chemin sur votre gauche. En redescendant par le même chemin, faites un détour pour découvrir un passage aux escaliers pentus dans un cadre charmant : Vulcan Stairway. Le début des marches se trouve sur Ord street et la promenade en mode grimpette se tient entre Ord et Levant streets. Sur un ou deux blocs, on se régale de l'architecture amusante des maisons et de la végétation luxuriante. Vulcan Stairway est un passage secret pour parcourir la colline entre Castro et Haight ou Ashbury Park. Si vous voulez continuer la balade dans cette ambiance, descendez sur la rue parallèle à Vulcan, Saturn... Un escalier relie Ord street aux hauteurs de Saturn street. Les maisons cachées dans ce repaire ne sont, pour la plupart, accessibles qu'à pied.

Jour 6 : Haight et le Golden Gate Park

De Haight au Golden Gate Park en passant par Sunset, Inner Sunset et Richmond, vous bénéficiez des plus belles vues sur la baie. À Haight, l'incontournable est le Buena Vista Park (173 m) entouré de cyprès et d'eucalyptus. On y accède depuis Haight street, au croisement de Central avenue et Baker street. Le quartier de Sunset offre lui aussi une petite merveille connue uniquement des locaux et de quelques privilégiés, le Grand View Park (203 mètres) et son panorama fantastique, surtout au coucher du soleil. Le versant ouest du parc abrite une réalisation artistique autour des 163 marches ornées de mosaïque. C'est le 16th Avenue Tiled Steps Project. Commencez par vous rendre au pied de l'escalier en mosaïque situé entre Noriega et Moraga streets. Grimpez les marches en prenant le temps de savourer la richesse artistique du lieu. Une fois en haut, rejoignez Grand View Park. À l'extrémité ouest de San Francisco, dans le quartier de Richmond, profitez de la visite du Palace of the Legion of Honor pour marcher le long du sentier " Lands End " qui rejoint la côte et le parc du même nom. Vous surplombez le Pacifique. Le coastal trail est un sentier long de 15 km qui relie le Golden Gate au sud-ouest de San Francisco en longeant la côte sublime.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur