Excursion to Maryland from Washington D.C.

  • 7 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Family
  • Friends
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Faune and flora
  • Medium

After three days of discovery of the American capital, head north of the city, to reach Baltimore and Chesapeake Bay. You will have a good overview of the emblematic sites of the {1}D.C{/1} surrounding area, while enjoying an incursion into the beautiful Chesapeake nature, nestled in the heart of a highly urbanised region.

Photo gallery

<p>Washington Monument.</p> <p>Capitol of the United States.</p> <p>Capitol of the United States.</p> <p>View of the port of Baltimore.</p> <p>City centre of Annapolis.</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Washington Dc
  • Baltimore
  • Annapolis
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Excursion to Maryland from Washington D.C. - 7 days

Day 1 : Georgetown and Dupont Circle

Boat ride on the C&O Canal, shopping and lunch in the charming Georgetown district, walking on the campus of the prestigious Georgetown University and dinner in the evening in the Dupont Circle area, offering a wide choice of restaurants.

Day 2 : The National Mall, the White House and the Capitol

Choose first the museums you want to visit on the Mall, because they are numerous: for example the exciting but huge National Gallery of Art, the Air and Space Museum.

Day 3 : U Street, Adams Morgan and Columbia Heights

You will wander at the heart of Washington's different communities while making a green break at Meridian Hill Park. The Ethiopian restaurants and jazz clubs abound so as you can spend spicy and exotic evenings.

Day 4 : Alexandria

Discovery of Alexandria in the morning and visit of Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center in the afternoon (annex of the Museum of Air and Space where Enola Gay is exposed). A visit to the Arlington Cemetery (on the same metro line) can easily be considered on the way back to the centre of Washington. In the cemetery, take the time to see JFK's tomb and try to see the descent of the Marines in ceremonial dress.

Day 5 : Baltimore

Departure by train early in the morning to reach Baltimore, 40 minutes from Washington. You'll have plenty of fun to wander around the city, but most of all to discover the impressive collection of the Walters Art Museum and to get fresh air at the Top of the World Observation Level which overlooks the entire bay of the city.

Day 6 : Annapolis

Departing from Washington by car, you will soon reach Annapolis for a first stop. Make a tour at the harbour and enjoy the calm and especially the gastronomy of the capital of Maryland. Leave the harbour by taking the main street and try to find typical souvenirs of the region. At the end of the day, head to Chesapeake Bay. 

Day 7 : Chesapeake Bay

Here, in the middle of swamps populated with birds, in the heart of the fishing villages, enjoy a well-deserved change before returning to Washington.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Excursion dans le Maryland, au départ de Washington D.C.

  • 7 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Famille
  • Amis
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Faune et flore
  • Moyen

Après trois jours de découverte de la capitale américaine, filez vers le nord de la ville, pour rejoindre Baltimore et la baie de Chesapeake. Vous aurez ainsi un bon aperçu des sites emblématiques des environs de D.C., tout en profitant d'une incursion dans la superbe nature de Chesapeake, lovée au coeur d'une région très urbanisée.

Galerie photos

<p>Washington Monument.</p> <p>Capitole des États-Unis.</p> <p>Capitole des États-Unis.</p> <p>Vue sur le port de Baltimore.</p> <p>Centre ville d'Annapolis.</p>

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Washington Dc
  • Baltimore
  • Annapolis
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Excursion dans le Maryland, au départ de Washington D.C. - 7 jours

Jour 1 : Georgetown et Dupont Circle

Balade en bateau sur le C&O Canal, shopping et déjeuner dans le charmant quartier de Georgetown, promenade sur le campus de la prestigieuse université de Georgetown et dîner le soir dans le quartier de Dupont Circle qui offre un vaste choix de restaurants.

Jour 2 : The National Mall, la Maison Blanche et le Capitole

Choisissez au préalable les musées que vous souhaitez visiter sur le Mall, car ils sont nombreux : par exemple la passionnante, mais colossale National Gallery of Art, le Musée de l'air et de l'espace.

Jour 3 : U Street, Adams Morgan et Columbia Heights

Vous déambulerez au coeur des différentes communautés de Washington en faisant une petite pause verte au parc Meridian Hill. Les restos éthiopiens et clubs de jazz sont légion pour passer une soirée épicée et dépaysante.

Jour 4 : Alexandria

Découverte d'Alexandria le matin et visite du Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center l'après-midi (annexe du Musée de l'air et de l'espace où est exposé l'Enola Gay). Une visite du cimetière d'Arlington (sur la même ligne de métro) peut facilement s'envisager au retour vers le centre de Washington. Dans le cimetière, prenez le temps d'apercevoir la tombe de JFK et essayez d'assister à la descente des couleurs par les Marines en tenue d'apparat.

Jour 5 : Baltimore

Départ en train tôt le matin pour rejoindre Baltimore, à 40 minutes de Washington. Vous aurez ainsi tout le loisir de déambuler dans la ville, mais surtout de découvrir l'impressionnante collection du Walters Art Museum et de prendre l'air au Top of the World Observation Level qui domine toute la baie de la ville.

Jour 6 : Annapolis

Au départ en voiture de Washington, vous rejoindrez vite Annapolis pour une première halte. Faites un tour sur le port et goûtez au calme et surtout à la gastronomie de la capitale de l'État du Maryland. Quittez le port pour la rue principale et essayez de dénicher des souvenirs typiques de la région. En fin de journée, direction la baie de Chesapeake. 

Jour 7 : Baie de Chesapeake

Ici, au milieu des marécages peuplés d'oiseaux, au coeur des villages de pêcheurs, goûtez à un dépaysement bien mérité avant de rentrer à Washington.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur