On the tracks of the Civil War

  • 4 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Family
  • Friends
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Medium

The Washington D.C region has many testimonies of this troubled period of the US history. With Washington D.C. as the capital of Unionists and Richmond for the Confederates, you sail in the heart of the Civil War. From Lincoln Memorial in D.C. to the Museum and White House of the Confederacy in Richmond, this foundation period of the country can be discovered and rediscovered.

Photo gallery

<p>Washington Monument.</p> Hollywood Cemetery. <p>Virginia State Capitol.</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Washington Dc
  • Fredericksburg
  • Richmond
  • Petersburg
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: On the tracks of the Civil War - 4 days

Day 1 : Washington D.C.

In the U.S. capital, we will first go to Lincoln Memorial to admire the huge statue in tribute to the 16th President of the United States, who succeeds in preserving the union for the benefit of the North by defeating the secessionist troops during the civil war. Then, we will cross the Potomac to the Arlington Cemetery and its Robert E. Lee Memorial. Here, it is a great figure in the South who is honoured; the memorial is located in the former plantation of General Lee, a great strategist of the Confederate army. A visit to the African-American Civil War Museum and the National Museum of American History will deepen your knowledge of this fratricidal conflict. Evening at the Ford Theatre, where Lincoln was murdered.

Day 2 : To Richmond, through ancient battlefields

From one capital to another, on the road to Richmond, Virginia, which was the capital of the Confederate States of America during the civil war. The road that leads to it is dotted with unmissable battlefields, protected and open to visitors. So, we will stop at Manassas and then at Fredericksburg, which was the scene of four terrible battles (Chancellorsville, Fredericksburg, Spotsylvania and Wilderness). Arrival in Richmond by Monument Avenue which celebrates some emblematic characters from the South such as Lee, Stonewall Jackson or Jefferson Davis.

Day 3 : Visit of historical sites in Richmond

In Richmond, visit the Museum and White House of the Confederacy and the Virginia State Capitol, which served respectively as the White House and Capitol of Confederation during the war. The afternoon will be dedicated to the different sites of Richmond National Battlefield Park.

Day 4 : Petersburg, final point of the American Civil War

The last day will be devoted to the last days of the conflict. Head to Petersburg, a key city for the supply of the confederate capital, which has a 10 month siege that allows the North army to knock down Richmond. Following the rout of General Lee, you will then go to Appomattox, further west. It was there that, after several battles, General Lee handed over to his northern counterpart, Ulysses S. Grant, the surrender of his camp on April 9, 1865. The war ended.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Sur les traces de la guerre de Sécession

  • 4 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Famille
  • Amis
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Moyen

La région de Washington D.C. compte de nombreux témoignages de cette période troublée de l'histoire des États-Unis. Avec Washington D.C. en capitale des Unionistes et Richmond du côté des Confédérés, on navigue au coeur de la guerre de Sécession. Du Lincoln Memorial à D.C. au Museum and White House of the Confederacy à Richmond, on découvre et redécouvre cette période fondatrice du pays.

Galerie photos

<p>Washington Monument.</p> Le pilote de NASCAR Elliot Sadler pendant le Richmond International Raceway <p>Hollywood Cemetery.</p> <p>Virginia State Capitol.</p>

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Washington Dc
  • Fredericksburg
  • Richmond
  • Petersburg
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Sur les traces de la guerre de Sécession - 4 jours

Jour 1 : Washington D.C.

Dans la capitale états-unienne, on se rendra d'abord au Lincoln Memorial pour admirer la gigantesque statue en hommage au 16e président des États-Unis, qui réussit à préserver l'union au profit du Nord en défaisant les troupes sécessionnistes durant la guerre civile. On traversera ensuite le Potomac pour se rendre au cimetière d'Arlington et son Robert E. Lee Memorial. Ici, c'est une grande figure du Sud qui est honorée ; le mémorial se situe dans l'ancienne plantation du général Lee, grand stratège de l'armée confédérée. Une visite à l'African-American Civil War Museum et au National Museum of American History permettront d'approfondir ses connaissances sur ce conflit fratricide. Soirée au Ford Theatre, où Lincoln a été assassiné.

Jour 2 : Vers Richmond, à travers d'anciens champs de bataille

D'une capitale à l'autre, en route vers Richmond, en Virginie, qui fut la capitale des États Confédérés d'Amérique durant la guerre civile. La route qui y mène est parsemée de champs de bataille incontournables, protégés et ouverts à la visite. On s'arrêtera donc à Manassas puis à Fredericksburg, qui fut le théâtre de quatre batailles terribles (Chancellorsville, Fredericksburg, Spotsylvania et la Wilderness). Arrivée dans Richmond par la Monument Avenue qui célèbre certains personnages emblématiques du Sud tels que Lee, Stonewall Jackson ou Jefferson Davis.

Jour 3 : Visite des sites historiques de Richmond

À Richmond, visite du Museum and White House of the Confederacy et du Virginia State Capitol, qui servirent respectivement de Maison Blanche et Capitole de la Confédération pendant la guerre. L'après-midi sera consacrée aux différents sites du Richmond National Battlefield Park.

Jour 4 : Petersburg, point final de la guerre de Sécession

Le dernier jour sera consacré aux derniers jours du conflit. Direction Petersburg, ville clé pour le ravitaillement de la capitale confédérée, qui endura un siège de 10 mois qui permit à l'armée du Nord de faire tomber Richmond. Suivant la déroute du général Lee, on se rendra ensuite vers Appomattox, plus à l'ouest. C'est là qu'à l'issue de plusieurs batailles, le général Lee remit à son homologue du Nord Ulysses S. Grant la reddition de son camp, le 9 avril 1865. La guerre prenait fin.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur