Washington, the World Tour within a weekend

  • 2 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Autumn
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Family
  • Friends
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Medium

The American capital following the example of America, is cosmopolitan. You can meet all nationalities there, and some of them have actually settled in its streets. Discover the many faces of the city, through its different ethnic neighbourhoods.

Photo gallery

<p>Washington Monument.</p> <p>Capitol of the United States.</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Washington Dc
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Washington, the World Tour within a weekend - 2 days

Day 1 : U Street, a banner of black American identity

In the afternoon, you are invited to discover U Street, an American black area undergoing rehabilitation (jazz bars, restaurants...). A few metres from the U Street/African-Amer subway exit. Civil War Memorial/Cardozo (green line, U Street exit), the African American Civil War Museum, located in the True Reformer Building (Duke Ellington and a piano are painted at the top of the building), retraces the history of the black community during the American civil war, with photos, archival documents and paintings. Note, almost in front of this building, Ben's Chili Bowl, whose storefront carried the inscription "Soul Brother" during the segregation, which remains an institution of the neighbourhood to be discovered. Next door stands the Lincoln Theater, completely restored. At the corner of U Street and the 12th Street the famous Bohemian Caverns, recognizable for its saxophone at the entrance. Let yourself be guided by the neighborhood's buildings and discover French-style houses, renovated buildings and many small parks. A city in the city that ends at the African American Civil War Memorial where you will see, next to the monument, the names of all soldiers who fought during this war. For dinner, we recommend Ben's Chili Bowl, an institution in Washington since 1958, and a jazz club then, Utopia or Bohemian Caverns. Finally, those who want to hear a concert can watch the programming of 9:30 Club.

Day 2 : Columbia Heights, Adams Morgan and Chinatown

Today, we discover other communities, through restaurants and shops in the following neighbourhoods: Columbia Heights, Latino HQ, including Peruvians and Ecuadorians; Chinatown, located in the heart of the city; and Georgetown and Adams Morgan, who host many Ethiopian restaurants. 

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Washington, le tour du monde en un week-end

  • 2 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Automne
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Famille
  • Amis
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Moyen

La capitale américaine est, à l'instar de l'Amérique, cosmopolite. On y croise toutes les nationalités, et certaines se sont véritablement implantées dans ses rues. Découvrez les multiples visages de la ville, à travers ses différents quartiers ethniques.

Galerie photos

<p>Washington Monument.</p> <p>Capitole des États-Unis.</p>

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Washington Dc
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Washington, le tour du monde en un week-end - 2 jours

Jour 1 : U Street, étendard de l'identité noire-américaine

L'après-midi, on vous propose d'aller découvrir U Street, un quartier noir américain en cours de réhabilitation (bars de jazz, restos...). À quelques mètres de la sortie du métro U Street/African-Amer. Civil War Memorial/Cardozo (ligne verte, sortie U Street), le musée African American Civil War, situé dans le True Reformer Building (Duke Ellington et un piano sont peints en haut du bâtiment), retrace l'histoire de la communauté noire pendant la guerre civile américaine, avec photos, documents d'archives et tableaux. Remarquez, quasiment en face de ce bâtiment, Ben's Chili Bowl, dont la devanture portait l'inscription " Soul Brother " pendant la ségrégation, qui reste une institution du quartier à découvrir. À côté se dresse le Lincoln Theater, entièrement restauré. À l'angle de U Street et de la 12th Street trône la fameuse Bohemian Caverns, repérable à son saxophone à l'entrée. Laissez-vous guider par les buildings du quartier et découvrez des maisons de style français, des bâtiments en rénovation et de nombreux petits parcs. Une ville dans la ville qui se termine au niveau de l'African American Civil War Memorial où vous verrez, à côté du monument, les noms de tous les soldats qui se sont battus pendant cette guerre. Pour dîner, on vous conseille Ben's Chili Bowl, une institution à Washington depuis 1958, et une boîte de jazz ensuite, l'Utopia ou la Bohemian Caverns. Enfin, ceux qui ont envie d'entendre un concert peuvent regarder la programmation du 9 : 30 Club.

Jour 2 : Columbia Heights, Adams Morgan et Chinatown

Aujourd'hui, on découvre d'autres communautés, à travers restaurants et boutiques des quartiers suivants : Columbia Heights, QG des Latinos, notamment Péruviens et Équatoriens ; Chinatown, situé au coeur de la ville ; et Georgetown et Adams Morgan, qui accueillent un grand nombre de restaurants éthiopiens. 

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur