Grand tour of the Algarve

  • 15 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Autumn
  • General public
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Faune and flora
  • Discovery
  • Adventure / Sports & Leisure
  • Free time
  • Relaxation / Well-being
  • Medium

Near Africa, on the borders of Europe, this is a land where civilizations meet. The Algarve is another Portugal, a Portugal that seems to be rocked by the rhythm of the South Seas

Photo gallery

Part of maps in Faro. Olhão fish market. Bandstand in Tavira. Castro Marim has an ancient charm. <p>Oranges on the market in Loulé.</p> <p>Castle of Silves.</p> Fishing port of Sagres. Cliffs at the exit of Sagres. <p>View of Spain from Alcoutim.</p> <p>Praia da Bordeira.</p> <p>Praia da Arrifana, Aljezur.</p> <p>Moorish castle of Aljezur.</p> Photo of the Bones chapel in Faro.

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Odeceixe
  • Aljezur
  • Sagres
  • Lagos
  • Portimão
  • Praia Da Rocha
  • Ferragudo
  • Monchique
  • Silves
  • Alte
  • Faro
  • Loulé
  • Olhão
  • Tavira
  • Alcoutim
  • Castro Marim
  • Salir
  • Carrapateira
  • Carvoeiro
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Grand tour of the Algarve - 15 days

Day 1 : Arrival in Faro

Visit of the old town. Immediately discover the Ria Formosa nature reserve. In the afternoon, swimming and sunbathing on Ilha Déserta. If you are lucky you will admire rare bird species.

Day 2 : Direction Olhão

In the morning, stroll through its old streets, discover its unusual architecture and the lively atmosphere of its fish market. Olhão is the largest fishing port in the Algarve. Eating on site is where you will find the best fish in the region. Then take a boat to the island of Armona, enjoy its beautiful beaches and spend the night away from the hustle and bustle of the mainland.

Day 3 : Surfing is on the way

In the morning, kitesurfers and windsurfers will find what they are looking for. Join Olhão and follow the direction of Tavira while admiring the beauty of the banks of the Ria Formosa. In the afternoon, visit the "city of a thousand and one churches": Tavira. At nightfall, stroll along the banks of the Rio Gilão and take its pretty bridges.

Day 4 : Castro Marim

In the direction of the Spanish border, follow the N125 to Castro Marim. Visit this picturesque village with its imposing fortifications and the breathtaking view from the top of its castle. Take the road to Alcoutim, and relax on the banks of the river.

Day 5 : Escapade in Spain

Bike or kayak ride along the river to Foz de Odeleite. Stop off in the villages you cross, such as the Alamo. Eat on the banks of the river in Guerreiro do Rio before crossing the border for a short trip to Spain.

Day 6 : Loulé

Take the road to Loulé, visit its small streets and craft workshops. Take an excursion to the Serra do Caldeirão and hike Rocha da pena in the afternoon. In the evening, spend the night in the typical Algarvian village of Alte or in Salir.

Day 7 : Silves and Portimão

Visit of the small village of Silves, a historic town with small streets and a splendid, well-preserved castle. Follow the direction of Portimão and spend the rest of the day on Praia da Rocha beach and enjoy the nightlife.

Day 8 : Beaches and sunset

In the direction of Cap Saint-Vincent, drive to Lagos. Visit the city in the morning and walk to Ponta de Piedade to discover the hidden beaches. In the late afternoon, reach Cape Saint-Vincent, just in time to admire the splendid sunset on the tip of Europe's most southwestern tip. Spend the night in Sagres.

Day 9 : The ochre cliffs

In the morning, visit of Sagres and the fortress where Henri the navigator ended his life. After a good lunch, swim at the magnificent beach of Beliche with its ochre-coloured cliffs. Be careful, it can be very windy.

Day 10 : Hiking

Do part of the Via Algarviana hiking trail from Cap Saint-Vincent to Alcoutim. In the evening, join Carrapateira along the fabulous and wild Costa Vicentina.

Day 11 : Laziness

Relaxation day, swimming on the beach of Bordeira surrounded by its magnificent dunes. For the bravest, this is the perfect place to take a surf course. At the end of the day, reach the charming village of Aljezur.

Day 12 : Lush vegetation and typical cuisine

Stay in Aljezur. Discover the Monchique region, its hills with their lush vegetation and its typical cuisine. Its baths with medicinal properties are ideal for a relaxing moment

Day 13 : The Vincentian coast

Stay in Aljezur. Continue the visit of the Vincentian coast to the border of Alentejo, do not miss the typical village with white houses and orange roofs of Odeceixe

Day 14 : Towards Alentejo

Stay in Aljezur. For the more curious, try the adventure even further north to Zambujeira do Mar and Vila Nova do Mil Fontes in Alentejo.

Day 15 : Return to Faro

Join Faro along the coast with a break in Carvoeiro to explore the beautiful path of Praia da Marinha on the day.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Grand tour de l'Algarve

  • 15 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Automne
  • Tout public
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Faune et flore
  • Découverte
  • Aventure / Sports et loisirs
  • Farniente
  • Détente / Bien être
  • Moyen

À proximité de l'Afrique, aux confins de l'Europe, voilà une terre de rencontres des civilisations. L'Algarve, c'est un autre Portugal, un Portugal qui semble bercé au rythme des mers du Sud.

Galerie photos

<p>Partie de cartes à l'ombre à Faro.</p> Marché de poisson d'Olhão. Pont romain à Tavira. <p>Moulin à Castro Marim.</p> <p>Oranges sur le marché de Loulé.</p> <p>Château fort de Silves.</p> <p>Port de pêche de Sagres.</p> <p>Falaises à la sortie de Sagres.</p> <p>Vue sur l'Espagne depuis Alcoutim.</p> <p>Praia da Bordeira.</p> <p>Praia da Arrifana, Aljezur.</p> <p>Château mauresque d'Aljezur.</p> La ville d'Aljezur. Rue de Faro.

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Odeceixe
  • Aljezur
  • Sagres
  • Lagos
  • Portimão
  • Praia da Rocha
  • Ferragudo
  • Monchique
  • Silves
  • Alte
  • Faro
  • Loulé
  • Olhão
  • Tavira
  • Alcoutim
  • Castro Marim
  • Salir
  • Carrapateira
  • Carvoeiro
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Grand tour de l'Algarve - 15 jours

Jour 1 : Arrivée à Faro

Visite de la vieille ville. Partir aussitôt à€ la découverte de la réserve naturelle Ria Formosa. L'après-midi, baignade et bronzage sur Ilha Déserta. Si vous avez de la chance vous admirerez des espèces d'oiseaux rares.

Jour 2 : Direction Olhão

Le matin balade dans ses vieilles ruelles, découvrez son architecture atypique et l'ambiance animée de son marché aux poissons. Olhão est le plus gros port de pêche de l'Algarve. Manger sur place, c'est là que vous trouverez le meilleur poisson de la région. Prenez ensuite un bateau pour l'île d'Armona, profitez de ses belles plages et passez la nuit loin de l'agitation du continent.

Jour 3 : Place au surf

Le matin, les amateurs de kitesurf ou de planche à voile trouveront leur bonheur. Rejoindre Olhãƒo et suivre la direction de Tavira tout en admirant la beauté des rives de la Ria Formosa. L'après-midi, visite de " la ville aux mille et une églises " : Tavira. A la tombée de la nuit flânez sur les bords du Rio Gilッo et empruntez ses jolis ponts.

Jour 4 : Castro Marim

En direction de la frontière espagnole, suivre la N125 jusqu'à€ Castro Marim. Visite de ce pittoresque village avec ses imposantes fortifications et l'imprenable vue du haut de son château. Empruntez la route vers Alcoutim, et détendez-vous sur les berges de la rivière.

Jour 5 : Escapade en Espagne

Balade à vélo ou en kayak le long du fleuve jusqu'à Foz de Odeleite. Faire des haltes dans les villages que vous traversez comme celui de Alamo. Manger sur les bords du fleuve à Guerreiro do Rio avant de traverser la frontière pour une courte escapade en Espagne.

Jour 6 : Loulé

Prendre la route direction de Loulé, visite de ses petites rues et de ses ateliers artisanaux. Faites une excursion dans la Serra do Caldeirão et faites la randonnée de Rocha da pena l'après-midi. Le soir, passez la nuit dans le village typiquement algarvien d'Alte ou à Salir.

Jour 7 : Silves et Portimão

Visite du petit bourg Silves, cité historique aux petites ruelles et au splendide château fort très bien conservé. Suivre la direction de Portimão et passer la fin de journée sur la plage de Praia da Rocha et profiter de l'ambiance nocturne.

Jour 8 : Plages et coucher de soleil

En direction du cap Saint-Vincent, rouler jusqu'à€ Lagos. Visite de la ville le matin et promenade jusqu'à Ponta de Piedade à la découverte des plages cachées. En fin d'après-midi, rejoindre le cap Saint-Vincent, juste à temps pour admirer le splendide coucher de soleil sur la pointe à€ l'extrême sud-ouest de l'Europe. Passer la nuit à Sagres.

Jour 9 : Les falaises ocres

Le matin, visite de Sagres et de la forteresse où€ Henri le navigateur termina sa vie. Après un bon déjeuner, baignade à la magnifique plage de Beliche avec ses falaises aux couleurs ocres. Attention, elle peut être très ventée.

Jour 10 : Randonnée

Faire une partie du sentier de randonnée Via Algarviana qui s'étend du cap Saint-Vincent à Alcoutim. Le soir, rejoindre Carrapateira en longeant la fabuleuse et sauvage Costa Vicentina.

Jour 11 : Farniente

Journée détente, baignade sur la plage da Bordeira entourée de ses grandioses dunes. Pour les plus courageux, l'endroit est parfait pour prendre un cours de surf. En fin de journée, rejoindre le ravissant village d'Aljezur.

Jour 12 : Végétation luxuriante et gastronomie typique

Loger à Aljezur. Partir à la découverte de la région de Monchique, de ses collines à la végétation luxuriante et de sa gastronomie typique. Ses bains aux vertus médicinales sont l'idéal pour un moment de détente.

Jour 13 : La côte vicentine

Loger à Aljezur. Continuer la visite de la côte vicentine jusqu'à la frontière de l'Alentejo, ne rater pas le typique village aux maisons blanches et aux toits oranges de Odeceixe.

Jour 14 : Vers l'Alentejo

Loger à Aljezur. Pour les plus curieux, tenter l'aventure encore plus au nord jusqu'à Zambujeira do Mar et Vila Nova do Mil Fontes dans l'Alentejo.

Jour 15 : Retour à Faro

Rejoindre Faro en longeant la côte avec une pause à Carvoeiro pour parcourir le joli sentier qui rejoint Praia da Marinha sur la journée.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur