A weekend in Porto

  • 2 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Winter
  • General public
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Discovery
  • Medium

Porto, an intriguing and timeless city, deserves attention. The numerous buildings draw a colourful palette offering visitors curious architectural discoveries. And a weekend in Porto will pass very quickly, because there are many attractions.

Photo gallery

<p>Church do Carmo</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Porto
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: A weekend in Porto - 2 days

Day 1 : Stroll and tastings

The weekend in Porto begins with a visit to the port and wine cellars. First of all, we pass by the charming Praça da Ribeira and the quays, it is the most typical place in Porto. From the edge of the Douro, beautiful view on the other side and the parade of boats. The pretty Luis I bridge, made of wrought iron, provides access to Gaia. All the cellars of Porto are located in this commune, the choice is wide. The visit, often with tasting, lasts from half an hour to an hour. When leaving the cellars, a walk on the quays of Gaia is more than recommended, especially on sunny days. You can also take advantage of this opportunity to have a drink on the terrace and at lunchtime, you can taste the daily specials offered in the many small restaurants. Lunch on the Ribeira quays is also a very good option.

After getting to know the local cuisine, go to the Bolsa Palace for a guided tour. It is quite exceptional with its Arab lounge decorated entirely with Moorish style woodwork and stucco.

Just next to the palace is the Church of São Francisco, a church with a Gothic facade, but inside baroque. You can also access the crypts.

Those who are not yet tired will walk up the streets leading to the cathedral. This large massive building of Romanesque origin has undergone several transformations over the centuries and its interior has also been remodelled in Baroque style, decorated with lots of gold and silver.

To change a little bit of scenery, the rest of the programme will take place in Foz do Douro, along its rather remarkable seaside with its promenade which, sometimes below, is on the same level as the beach. The gastronomic offer is of high quality.

Day 2 : The upper city

The upper city and the heart of the historic centre, la baixa, are tackled for a busy programme.

First of all, a visit to the São Bento station, built in a former convent, is a must. In the main hall, you can admire the 20,000 azulejos painted in 1930 by the artist Jorge Colaço. Very impressive!

When you leave the station, you go to the Bolhão market, by metro or on foot. Walking, we go up the street of Sa da Bandeira, very commercial.

At the Bolhão market, all types of fresh produce, flowers and herbs are sold. It is a lively place in the city and a stopover to get to know the fruits and vegetables consumed by the Portuguese, such as the different species of cabbage, sold already sliced.

Just a stone's throw from the market is Santa Catarina Street, which is largely pedestrianised. On this street there are many clothing and shoe shops. It is also on this street that the famous Majestic Café is located.

Once in front of the Majestic, it will be impossible not to cross its doors for a small coffee or even a light meal. The facade and interior of this majestic Art Nouveau building, with its well-dressed boys, piano, coffee shops and various cakes, symbolize Porto on their own.

After refuelling at the Majestic, we head to the charming Lello bookstore, another store that has become a tourist attraction. Inaugurated in 1906, it is located in a neo-Gothic building in the rue des Carmelitas.

Going down this same street, you arrive at Torre dos Clérigos, a tower that is so emblematic of Porto. The brave can climb the 200 or so steps to get a panoramic view of the city.

The day ends with a visit to the Museum of Contemporary Art in Porto, the Serralves Museum. This museum, located in a building with refined lines and designed by Alvaro Siza, has quickly become a national reference. Enjoy a cup of tea in the garden of the park, and enjoy a peaceful moment.

To finish the visit to Porto, it is essential to go to the Casa da Musica. A mecca for music, the very modern building houses, in addition to the concert halls, a charming restaurant on the seventh floor. The proposed menus are very accessible and are an excellent option to end your stay in Porto!

For those who still have some energy, extend the evening in the Rua galeria of Paris and discover these many lively bars.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Un week-end à Porto

  • 2 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Hiver
  • Tout public
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Découverte
  • Moyen

Porto, ville intrigante et intemporelle, mérite que l'on s'y attarde. Les nombreux édifices dessinent une palette colorée offrant aux visiteurs curieux de magnifiques découvertes architecturales. Et un week-end à Porto passera très vite, car les attractions sont nombreuses.

Galerie photos

Bateau de croisière <p>Eglise do Carmo</p>

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Porto
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Un week-end à Porto - 2 jours

Jour 1 : Balade et dégustations

Le week-end à Porto commence avec la visite du port et des caves à vin. On passe tout d'abord par la charmante Praça da Ribeira et les quais, c'est l'endroit le plus typique de Porto. Du bord du Douro, belle vue sur l'autre rive et le défilé des bateaux. Le joli pont Luis Ier, en fer forgé, permet d'accéder à Gaia. Toutes les caves de Porto se situent dans cette commune, le choix est large. La visite, souvent avec dégustation, dure d'une demi-heure à une heure. En sortant des caves, une promenade sur les quais de Gaia est plus qu'indiquée, surtout lors des belles journées. On peut aussi en profiter pour prendre un verre à une terrasse et midi approchant, on pourra goûter aux plats du jour proposés dans les nombreux petits restaurants. Le déjeuner sur les quais de la Ribeira est aussi une très bonne option.

Après avoir fait connaissance avec la gastronomie locale, allez vers le Palais de la Bolsa pour une visite guidée. Il est assez exceptionnel avec son salon arabe décoré entièrement de boiseries et stucs de style mauresque.

Juste à côté du palais se trouve l'église de São Francisco, une église à la façade gothique, mais à l'intérieur baroque. On peut également accéder aux cryptes.

Ceux qui ne sont pas encore fatigués monteront les rues qui mènent jusqu'à la cathédrale. Cette grande construction massive d'origine romane a souffert de plusieurs transformations au cours des siècles et son intérieur a aussi été remodelé en style baroque, décoré avec beaucoup d'or et d'argent.

Pour changer un peu de décor, la suite du programme se déroulera à Foz do Douro, pour longer son assez remarquable bord de mer avec sa promenade qui, parfois est, en contrebas, de plain pied avec la plage. L'offre gastronomique y est de grande qualité.

Jour 2 : La ville haute

On s'attaque à la ville haute et au coeur du centre historique, la baixa, pour un programme bien chargé.

Tout d'abord la visite de la gare de São Bento, édifiée dans un ancien couvent, s'impose. Dans le grand hall, on admire les 20 000 azulejos peints en 1930 par l'artiste Jorge Colaço. Très impressionnant !

En sortant de la gare, on se dirige vers le marché du Bolhão, en métro ou à pied. En marchant, on monte la rue de Sa da Bandeira, très commerçante.

Au marché du Bolhão, tous les types de produits frais, fleurs et herbes sont vendus. C'est un endroit vivant de la ville et une halte pour faire connaissance avec les fruits et légumes consommés par les Portugais, comme les différentes espèces de choux, vendus déjà tranchés.

À deux pas du marché, se trouve la rue de Santa Catarina, en grande partie piétonne. Dans cette rue les magasins de vêtements et de chaussures sont nombreux. C'est aussi dans cette rue que se trouve le fameux Majestic Café.

Une fois devant le Majestic, il sera impossible de ne pas franchir ses portes pour y prendre un petit café ou même un repas léger. La façade et l'intérieur de ce majestueux bâtiment Art nouveau, avec ses garçons bien habillés, son piano, ses cafés et ses gâteaux variés, symbolisent à eux seuls Porto.

Après avoir fait le plein d'énergie au Majestic, on se dirige vers la charmante librairie Lello, un autre magasin devenu une attraction touristique. Inaugurée en 1906, elle se situe dans un édifice néogothique dans la rue des Carmelitas.

En descendant cette même rue, on arrive à la Torre dos Clérigos, une tour aussi emblématique de Porto. Les courageux pourront monter les quelque 200 marches pour avoir une vue panoramique de la ville.

La journée se termine avec une visite du musée d'art contemporain de Porto, le musée de Serralves. Ce musée, situé dans un bâtiment aux lignes épurées et signé Alvaro Siza, est devenu en peu de temps une référence nationale. Profitez de savourer un thé dans le jardin du parc, et offrez-vous un petit moment paisible.

Pour finir la visite de Porto, on doit impérativement aller à la Casa da Musica. Haut lieu de la musique, le bâtiment très moderne abrite, en plus des salles de concert, un charmant restaurant situé au septième étage. Les menus proposés sont très accessibles et sont une excellente option pour clore le séjour à Porto !

Pour ceux qui aurait encore un peu d'énergie, prolongez la soirée dans la Rua galeria de Paris et découvrez ces nombreux bars animés.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur