Iranian Azerbaijani

  • 8 days
  • All seasons
  • General public
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Medium

In the north-west of Iran, between the Caspian and Turkey, there is a region around Tabriz, a region populated mostly with Azerbaijani, Turkish-Turkish, and remained attached to Iran after the separation with Azerbaijan. The region is therefore very different from the rest of the country, but does not have any real tourist jewellery. A good week is enough to turn it around, but you can stay longer if you wish.

Photo gallery

Tehran, a modern capital of over 8 million souls <p>The village of Kandovan.</p> <p>Nain.</p> <p>Mountain chain in Iranian Azerbaijan.</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Tehran
  • Nain
  • Orumiyeh
  • Maku
  • Tabriz
  • Kandovan
  • Ardebil
  • Bandar-E Anzali
  • Lahijan
  • Massouleh
  • Jolfa
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Iranian Azerbaijani - 8 days

Day 1 : Steps from the Caspian Caspian

From Tehran take a day to reach the shores of the Caspian Sea, at Bandar-e Anzali where you will enjoy garlic specialities before entering the rice fields to reach the small mountain village of Masuleh. Night in Masuleh, a small, authentic mountain village, which you can visit before resuming the road for Ardebil.

Day 2 : The Heritage Safavide

Ardebil is mainly worth visiting for the visit of Sheikh Ali Mausoleum, built under the Safavides dynasty. In the heart of the city centre, the Portail portal is a jewel of medieval Muslim architecture, as is the mausoleum itself, which is the subject of a lively pilgrimage. Night in Ardebil.

Day 3 : The city of carpets

Road in the morning to Tabriz. Start with the visit of the Azerbaijan Museum and the Blue Mosque, and finish with that of the municipal museum, with its sumptuous collection of carpets. At the end of the day, visit the Qadjar house for a fine example of architecture. Night in Tabriz.

Day 4 : Iran's biggest bazaar

Start the day early in the morning by visiting the bazaar, which can take you several hours. Take the time to chat with the merchants and artisans, explore the caravanserais and absorb from an atmosphere of no other kind in this covered bazaar which is one of the most extensive in the world. At the end of the day, join Kandovan by taxi.

Day 5 : The City of Cave

Take the morning to explore Kandovan, whose houses are arranged and dug to the peak rock formations, formed of lava resulting from an eruption dating back to the Quaternary. The village is still inhabited today and you can easily familiarize yourself with the living conditions of these modern cave. Second night in Kandovan.

Day 6 : The tour of Lake Oroumiye

Join Oroumiye by bypassing the lake by the south and by taking steps at Maraqeh to visit the mausoleums of the village. In Oroumiye, visit Friday mosque and the Christian quarter— this region once belonged to the Armenian empire, which is why there are some of the oldest churches in the Christian world.

Day 7 : Armenian churches

Affrétez a taxi for a day of St. Stephen's Church, Saint-Thaddeus Church and Saint-Stépanos Monastery. Taking into account the roads, it takes you two days to complete all visits, especially if you make breaks on the way to a tour in the Vallée Valley or to see secondary curiosities. Plan to spend the night in Maku.

Day 8 : End of course

Finish your visits from Armenian churches and join Tabriz to take a flight to your next destination. The airport serves all major cities in the country.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

L'Azerbaïdjan iranien

  • 8 jours
  • Toutes saisons
  • Tout public
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Moyen

Au nord-ouest de l'Iran, entre la Caspienne et la Turquie, s'étend autour de Tabriz une région majoritairement peuplée d'Azéris, turcophones, restés attachés à l'Iran après la séparation avec l'Azerbaïdjan. La région est donc très différente du reste du pays, mais n'en possède pas moins de véritables bijoux touristiques. Une bonne semaine suffit à en faire le tour, mais vous trouverez matière à rester plus longtemps si vous le souhaitez.

Galerie photos

Téhéran, une capitale moderne de plus de 8 millions d'âmes <p>Le village de Kandovan.</p> <p>Nain.</p> <p>Chaîne de montagnes dans l'Azerbaïdjan iranien.</p>

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Teheran
  • Nain
  • Orumiyeh
  • Maku
  • Tabriz
  • Kandovan
  • Ardebil
  • Bandar-E Anzali
  • Lahijan
  • Massouleh
  • Jolfa
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : L'Azerbaïdjan iranien - 8 jours

Jour 1 : À deux pas de la Caspienne

De Téhéran faites une journée de route pour rejoindre les rives de la Caspienne, à Bandar-e Anzali où vous savourerez les spécialités à l'ail avant de pénétrer dans les rizières pour atteindre le petit village de montagne de Masuleh. Nuit à Masuleh, petit village de montagne authentique, que vous pourrez visiter avant de reprendre la route pour Ardebil.

Jour 2 : L'héritage Safavide

Ardebil vaut essentiellement le détour pour la visite du mausolée Sheikh Ali, construit sous la dynastie des Safavides. Au coeur du centre-ville, le portail à stalactites est un bijou d'architecture médiévale musulmane, tout comme le mausolée lui-même, qui fait l'objet de fervents pèlerinage. Nuit à Ardebil.

Jour 3 : La ville des tapis

Route en matinée jusqu'à Tabriz. Commencez par la visite du musée de l'Azerbaïdjan et de la mosquée Bleue, et terminez par celle du musée municipal, avec sa somptueuse collection de tapis. En fin de journée, visitez la maison Qadjar, pour un bel exemple d'architecture. Nuit à Tabriz.

Jour 4 : Le plus grand bazar d'Iran

Attaquez la journée tôt le matin par la visite du bazar, qui pourra vous prendre plusieurs heures. Prenez le temps de discuter avec les commerçants et artisans, explorez les caravansérails et imprégnez-vous d'une atmosphère à nulle autre pareille dans ce bazar couvert qui est l'un des plus étendus au monde. En fin de journée, rejoignez Kandovan en taxi.

Jour 5 : La cité troglodyte

Prenez la matinée pour explorer Kandovan, dont les habitations sont aménagées et creusées à même les formations rocheuses en pointe, constituées de lave issue d'une éruption datant du quaternaire. Le village est toujours habité de nos jours et vous pourrez facilement vous familiariser avec les conditions de vie de ces troglodytes des temps modernes. Seconde nuit à Kandovan.

Jour 6 : Le tour du lac d'Orumiyeh

Rejoignez Orumiyeh en contournant le lac par le sud et en faisant étape à Maraqeh pour visiter les quelques mausolées que ce village abrite. À Orumiyeh, visitez la mosquée du vendredi et le quartier chrétien - cette région a jadis appartenu à l'empire arménien, raison pour laquelle on y trouve quelques églises parmi les plus anciennes du monde chrétien.

Jour 7 : Les églises arméniennes

Affrétez un taxi pour faire le tour en une journée de l'église Saint-Étienne, l'église Saint-Thaddée et le monastère Saint-Stépanos. Compte tenu des routes, il vous faudra deux jours pour boucler toutes les visites, surtout si vous faites des pauses en chemin pour un tour dans la vallée de l'Araxe ou pour voir des curiosités secondaires. Prévoyez de passer la nuit à Maku.

Jour 8 : Fin de parcours

Finissez vos visites des églises arméniennes puis rejoignez Tabriz pour prendre un vol vers votre destination suivante. L'aéroport dessert toutes les villes principales du pays.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur