Walks in Lombardy

  • 10 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • General public
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Faune and flora
  • Adventure / Sports & Leisure
  • Free time
  • Relaxation / Well-being
  • Medium

Lombardy is a region of northern Italy so rich in terms of architectural, historical, religious and natural heritage that it would be almost necessary to settle there to discover all its riches. A well-prepared tour of one to two weeks can nevertheless be extremely rewarding and relaxing. From Milan to the Great Lakes, here is a suggested itinerary for your Lombard walks.

Photo gallery

<p>Covered bridge of Pavia.</p> <p>The emblem of Cremona at the Loggia dei Militi.</p> <p>Castello de Brescia.</p> <p>Lake Como.</p> <p>Rocca Borromeo.</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Milan
  • Angera
  • Cernobbio
  • Tremezzo
  • Bellagio
  • Gardone Riviera
  • Pavia
  • Crema
  • Cremona
  • Sabbioneta
  • Brescia
  • Chiaravalle
  • Morimondo
  • Lac Majeur
  • Capo di Ponte
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Walks in Lombardy - 10 days

Day 1 : Milan - Day 1

Start at the Central Station. The imposing Milan railway station is an outstanding example of Italian Rationalism (1920-1930). It is a stone's throw from one of the most elegant skyscrapers in post-war architecture, the Pirelli (or Pirellone) skyscraper, built between 1956 and 1960 according to the plans of architect Gio Ponti. Continue the visit by the Duomo square. Milan Cathedral is a perfect example of a flamboyant Gothic style. From the top of its roof, you can enjoy one of the city's most beautiful panoramas and see the symbol of Milan, the statue of the Madonnina. Nearby is the Vittorio Emanuele II gallery, nicknamed the salotto (salon) of Milan, a meeting place for good Milanese society in the 19th century. The discovery of the city cannot be made without a moment's pause at Place de la Scala. Here, the statue of Leonardo da Vinci looks at this temple of the opera, Teatro alla Scala, kingdom of Verdi. In the same square, you can admire the facade of the town hall, the Palazzo Marino, one of the most majestic palaces in Milan. Another must-see stop is Sforza Castle and Sempione Park. The castle is a large fortress in the centre of Milan housing several of the city's municipal museums and is surrounded by a vast park highly appreciated by the Milanese. Finish with the Brera district, a district where you can breathe the air of yesteryear between antique dealers and tarot readers.

Day 2 : Milan - day 2

Start this day with a visit to Santa Maria delle Grazie church. This work by Bramante is world famous for housing Leonardo da Vinci's masterpiece: the Last Supper. Preserved in the refectory of the church, the painting can only be admired if one has taken the trouble to book in advance. Continue the visit by thebasilique Sant'Ambrogio, founded between 379 and 386 by Saint Ambrose, Bishop of Milan; this basilica is the most beautiful example of Italian Romanesque art. Then discover the Ticinese Gate and Piazza Vetra in a very lively district where the only remains of the Early Christian Milan, the sixteen columns of San Lorenzo, are housed. Push the doors of the Basilica of San Lorenzo: the first basilica built by Saint Ambrose and one of the oldest in Milan. Inside, the chapel of Sant'Aquilino (4th century) is decorated with magnificent mosaics and frescos of Byzantine and early Christian inspiration. End this day with a walk on the Navigli: with its canals (Navigli), its case di ringhiera (typical courses of popular Milan) and its trendy bars, a district not to be missed.

Day 3 : Milan - day 3

The Quadrilateral of Fashion is the heart of Italian haute couture. Versace, Gucci, Valentino, Prada, etc., have all established their headquarters between via Montenapoleone, via Sant'Andrea, via della Spiga and via Manzoni. Then discover the Ambrosian Picture Gallery. It houses works by Botticelli, Leonardo da Vinci, Raphael (the sketch for the Athens School), Caravaggio (the famous Still Life) and Titian. Finally, visit the Brera Picture Gallery: this museum is considered one of the richest in Italy. Located in a former 17th century Jesuit college, the art gallery, founded by Napoleon I, preserves more than 400 works, including the famous Christ who died in Mantegna. In its courtyard, you can admire a statue of Napoleon as a young man, a work of Canova.

Day 4 : Pavia

Head for the south of the region for an encounter with history. First on the road to Pavia, discover the Middle Ages by visiting the Lombard abbeys of Chiaravalle and Morimondo. The vast agricultural areas surrounding them date back to this period; it was the hard work of the monks that dried up the swamps and transformed them into fertile land. The most beautiful and majestic of them, the Chartreuse de Pavie, is a Renaissance masterpiece. Once in Pavia, do not miss visiting the powerful castle, fortress of the Visconti, first dukes of Milan, and now home to municipal museums. A stop at the pastry shop Vigoni, in front of the famous university where Alessandro Volta taught, will give you back the energy to continue your visits.

Day 5 : Mantua

After shopping for good wine in the cellars of Oltrepo' Pavese, reach the Mantua region. A wonder of the Renaissance, the Gonzague stronghold still shines with its past aura today. Castel San Giorgio with the lively frescoes by Andrea Mantegna, Palazzo Té and a little further on Sabbioneta, the city of perfect proportions, will dazzle you. Don't forget to try local specialities, pumpkin ravioli and sbrisolona dry cake.

Day 6 : Crema and Cremona

Now go back up to the centre of the region. Crema and Cremona will be able to stop you for a day. The Torrazzo, a high tower of the communal era, welcomes visitors to one of the most beautiful squares in Lombardy, Piazza del Comune in Cremona. Then, after visiting the fascinating Violin Museum, we will visit one of the many violin making workshops to discover this refined craft, whose tradition dates back to the 15th century. The centre of Crema is worth a walk to discover a series of private mansions, elegant residences of the local aristocracy.

Day 7 : Brescia and Lake Iseo

Continue your ascent to the north of the region and discover the lakes. On the way, a stopover is required in Brescia, the "lioness of Italy". This name is given to him because of his heroic participation in all the movements of Italian independence. Visit the Roman remains that criss-cross the city, before going on a tour of the Santa Giulia Museum, which conceals wonders. Here you are at last on Lake Iseo. Monte Isola, the island that rises in its centre, is the largest lake island in Europe. The beautiful peaceful landscape lends itself to beautiful hikes, unless you prefer to visit the Parc des Incisions rupestres de Capo di Ponte a few kilometres from the lake, towards the Alps.

Day 8 : Lake Garda

Here you are at the Garda Lake! Enjoy the beauty of this unusual landscape. Almost Mediterranean in its southern part, the peaks of the Alps plongent in the waters of the lake towards Riva del Garda. Miles are available to you: hiking, water sports and cultural discoveries, including the Roman ruins of the poet's villa Peninsula dated the first century. and the Prose degli Italiani, a retraite retreat of Gabriele D'Annunzio.

Day 9 : Lake Como

Take advantage of your last days in Lombardy to go to Lake Como. We could stay there for months, but when we have only a short time, we will not fail to visit the sumptuous villas of Cernobbio and Tremezzo, before stopping in Bellaggio to sip a cocktail by the lake, in the hope, who knows, of seeing George Clooney, a loyal amateur of the region.

Day 10 : Lake Maggiore

Change of scenery on Lake Maggiore: take the ferry service from Angera or the Piedmontese coast, via Stresa or Arona, and discover the Borromeo Palace on Isola Bella, a real floating palace with wonderful gardens that will take your breath away.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Promenades en Lombardie

  • 10 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Tout public
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Faune et flore
  • Aventure / Sports et loisirs
  • Farniente
  • Détente / Bien être
  • Moyen

La Lombardie est une région de l'Italie du Nord tellement riche en termes de patrimoine architectural, historique, religieux et naturel qu'il faudrait presque s'y installer pour en découvrir toutes les richesses. Un circuit bien préparé d'une à deux semaines peut néanmoins se révéler extrêmement enrichissant, en même temps que relaxant. De Milan aux grands lacs, voici une suggestion d'itinéraire pour vos promenades lombardes.

Galerie photos

L'ATMosfera devant le Duomo Le Burger Bar et le restaurant Le Burger Bar et le restaurant <p>Pont couvert de Pavie.</p> <p>L'emblème de Cremona à la Loggia dei Militi.</p> <p>Castello de Brescia.</p> <p>Lac de Côme.</p> <p>Rocca Borromeo.</p>

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Milan
  • Angera
  • Cernobbio
  • Tremezzo
  • Bellagio
  • Gardone Riviera
  • Pavia
  • Crema
  • Cremona
  • Sabbioneta
  • Brescia
  • Chiaravalle
  • Morimondo
  • Lac Majeur
  • Capo di Ponte
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Promenades en Lombardie - 10 jours

Jour 1 : Milan - jour 1

Commencez par la Gare Centrale. L'imposante gare de Milan est un exemple remarquable du Rationalisme italien (1920-1930). Elle se trouve à deux pas d'un des gratte-ciel les plus élégants de l'architecture de l'après-guerre, le gratte-ciel Pirelli (ou Pirellone), construit entre 1956 et 1960 sur les plans de l'architecte Gio Ponti. Poursuivez la visite par la place du Duomo. La cathédrale de Milan est un parfait exemple de gothique flamboyant. Du haut de son toit, vous pourrez vous offrir l'un des plus beaux panoramas de la ville et voir le symbole de Milan, la statue de la Madonnina. Tout près s'étire la galerie Vittorio Emanuele II, surnommée le salotto (salon) de Milan, lieu de rencontre de la bonne société milanaise au XIXe siècle. La découverte de la ville ne saurait se faire sans s'attarder un instant place de la Scala. Ici, la statue de Léonard de Vinci regarde ce temple de l'opéra, le Teatro alla Scala, royaume de Verdi. Sur la même place, vous pourrez admirer la façade de l'hôtel de ville, le Palazzo Marino, l'un des plus majestueux palais milanais. Autre halte incontournable : le château Sforza et le parc Sempione. Le château est une grande forteresse au centre de Milan abritant plusieurs musées municipaux de la ville et il est entouré par un vaste parc très apprécié par les Milanais. Terminez par le quartier de Brera, un quartier où l'on respire un air d'antan entre les antiquaires et les liseuses de tarot.

Jour 2 : Milan - jour 2

Débutez cette journée par une visite de l'église Santa Maria delle Grazie. Cette oeuvre de Bramante est mondialement célèbre pour abriter le chef-d'oeuvre de Léonard de Vinci : la Cène. Conservé dans le réfectoire de l'église, le tableau ne s'admire que si l'on a pris la peine de réserver à l'avance. Continuez la visite par la basilique Sant'Ambrogio, fondée entre 379 et 386 par saint Ambroise, évêque de Milan ; cette basilique est le plus bel exemple d'art roman italien. Puis découvrez la porte Ticinese et la place Vetra dans un quartier très animé où sont abrités les seuls vestiges du Milan paléochrétien, les seize colonnes de San Lorenzo. Poussez les portes de la basilique San Lorenzo : la première basilique érigée par saint Ambroise et l'une des plus anciennes de Milan. A l'intérieur, la chapelle di Sant'Aquilino (IVe siècle) est décorée de magnifiques mosaïques et de fresques d'inspiration byzantine et paléochrétienne. Achevez cette journée par une promenade sur les Navigli : avec ses canaux (Navigli), ses case di ringhiera (cours typiques de la Milan populaire) et ses bars branchés, un quartier à ne pas manquer.

Jour 3 : Milan - jour 3

Le Quadrilatère de la mode est le coeur de la haute couture italienne. Versace, Gucci, Valentino, Prada, etc., ont tous établi leur quartier général entre la via Montenapoleone, la via Sant'Andrea, la via della Spiga et la via Manzoni. Découvrez ensuite la Pinacothèque ambrosienne. Elle abrite des oeuvres de Botticelli, de Léonard de Vinci, de Raphaël (l'esquisse pour l'Ecole d'Athènes), du Caravage (la fameuse Nature morte) et de Titien. Rendez-vous enfin à la Pinacothèque de Brera : ce musée est considéré comme l'un des plus riches d'Italie. Installée dans un ancien collège jésuite du XVIIe siècle, la pinacothèque, fondée par Napoléon Ier, conserve plus de 400 oeuvres dont le fameux Christ mort de Mantegna. Dans sa cour, vous pourrez admirer une statue de Napoléon jeune, oeuvre de Canova.

Jour 4 : Pavie

Cap sur le sud de la région pour une rencontre avec l'histoire. D'abord sur la route de Pavie, retrouvez le Moyen Age à travers la visite des abbayes lombardes de Chiaravalle et de Morimondo. Les vastes étendues agricoles qui les entourent remontent bien à cette époque ; c'est le travail assidu des moines qui permit d'assécher les marécages et de les transformer en terres fertiles. La plus belle et la plus majestueuse d'entre elles, la Chartreuse de Pavie, est un chef-d'oeuvre de la Renaissance. Une fois à Pavie, ne manquez pas de visiter le puissant château fort, forteresse des Visconti, premiers ducs de Milan, et siège aujourd'hui des musées municipaux. Une halte chez le pâtissier Vigoni, face à la célèbre université où enseigna Alessandro Volta, vous redonnera de l'énergie pour poursuivre vos visites.

Jour 5 : Mantoue

Après avoir fait vos emplettes de bon vin dans les caves de l'Oltrepo' Pavese, rejoignez la région de Mantoue. Merveille de la Renaissance, le fief des Gonzague brille encore aujourd'hui de son aura passée. Le Castel San Giorgio avec les fresques si vivantes d'Andrea Mantegna, le Palazzo Té et un peu plus loin Sabbioneta, la ville aux proportions parfaites, sauront vous éblouir. N'omettez pas de goûter aux spécialités locales, les raviolis au potiron et le gâteau sec sbrisolona.

Jour 6 : Crema et Crémone

Remontez à présent vers le centre de la région. Crema et Crémone sur votre passage sauront vous arrêter le temps d'une journée. Le Torrazzo, haute tour de l'époque communale, accueille le visiteur sur une des places les plus belles de la Lombardie, la piazza del Comune de Crémone. C'est alors qu'après avoir visité le fascinant Musée du Violon, on visitera l'un des nombreux ateliers de lutherie pour découvrir cet artisanat raffiné, dont la tradition remonte au XVe siècle. Le centre de Crema mérite que l'on s'y promène pour découvrir une série d'hôtels particuliers, élégantes demeures de l'aristocratie locale.

Jour 7 : Brescia et le lac d'Iseo

Poursuivez votre remontée vers le nord de la région et partez à la découverte des lacs. Sur le passage, une halte s'impose à Brescia, la " lionne d'Italie ". Cette appellation lui revient en raison de sa participation héroïque à tous les mouvements de l'indépendance italienne. Visitez les vestiges romains qui sillonnent la ville, avant de faire un tour au Musée de Santa Giulia qui recèle des merveilles. Vous voici enfin sur le lac d'Iseo. Le Monte Isola, l'île qui s'élève en son centre, est la plus grande île lacustre d'Europe. Le joli paysage paisible se prête à de belles randonnées, à moins que vous ne préfériez visiter le Parc des Incisions rupestres de Capo di Ponte à quelques kilomètres du lac, vers les Alpes.

Jour 8 : Le Lac de Garde

Vous voici enfin sur le lac de Garde ! Profitez de la beauté de ce paysage si insolite. Presque méditerranéen dans sa partie sud, les cimes des Alpes plongent à pic dans les eaux du lac vers Riva del Garda. Milles activités s'offrent à vous : randonnées, sports aquatiques et découvertes culturelles dont les vestiges romains de la villa du poète Catulle datés du Ier siècle apr. J.-C. et le Vittoriale degli Italiani, retraite exubérante de Gabriele D'Annunzio.

Jour 9 : Le lac de Côme

Profitez de vos derniers jours en Lombardie pour vous rendre sur le lac de Côme. On pourrait y rester des mois, mais quand l'on ne dispose que de peu de temps, on ne manquera pas de visiter les somptueuses villas de Cernobbio et de Tremezzo, avant de s'arrêter à Bellaggio pour siroter un cocktail au bord du lac, dans l'espoir, qui sait, d'apercevoir George Clooney, fidèle amateur de la région.

Jour 10 : Le lac Majeur

Changement de décor sur le lac Majeur : empruntez le service de ferry au départ de Angera ou de la rive piémontaise, par Stresa ou Arona, et découvrez le palais Borromeo sur l'Isola Bella, véritable palais flottant aux merveilleux jardins qui vous couperont le souffle.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur