Trekking in Martinique

  • 7 days
  • All seasons
  • Solo
  • Friends
  • Group
  • Faune and flora
  • Adventure / Sports & Leisure
  • Medium

A hiker's paradise, Martinique is far from being a destination of beaches and sun loungers. In the north as well as in the south, walkers have something to deal with. Here's an ultra-sporty itinerary for a day, over a week. Allow a few more days to take advantage of the relaxing atmosphere of the island, and to digest the time lag at the beginning of the stay

Photo gallery

Mount Pelée, active volcano in the North of Martinique. Fonds-Saint-Denis church. The clear waters of Tartane. Marin. Sainte-Anne Beach.

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Fonds-Saint-Denis
  • Le Marin
  • Morne-Rouge
  • Les Anses D'Arlet
  • Sainte-Anne
  • Montagne Pelée
  • Tartane
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Trekking in Martinique - 7 days

Day 1 : North - Mount Pelée

A must, the ascent of Mount Pelee can be done by several trails of different levels. From Le Morne-Rouge, the Aileron trail (6 hours round trip, average level) offers magnificent panoramas. By Le Prêcheur (6h one way, medium/difficult level), you will have the opportunity to observe still tangible traces of the 1902 eruption.

Day 2 : North - Slave Canal

Going down to the east coast, the surroundings of Fonds-Saint-Denis are full of interesting hikes. Easier but to avoid if you suffer from vertigo, the Slave Canal (4h round trip, easy level) follows the course of the Beauregard Canal with very beautiful views over the peaks of the Carbet

Day 3 : North - Carbet Du

More difficult, along the Trace route, the ascent of the Pitons pitons (8 h round trip, difficult level) allows to discover the tropical forest. Beware! The hiking is difficult and has a lot of difference, because the six pitons span 16 km and sometimes reach 1 000 m high.

Day 4 : The peninsula of La Caravelle

One day will be enough for you to discover the natural beauties of the La Caravelle reserve. The large or small trail is largely shaded and easy to level. The small path (about 2 hours) winds between the mangrove swamp and the dry forest through Dubuc Castle. The long trail (about 4 hours) reaches the lighthouse of La Caravelle and allows you to enjoy very beautiful views of the Baie du Trésor. Be careful, some features are in full sunlight: provide enough water.

Day 5 : South - The path of the Anses d'Arlet

Leave the mountains to reach the beaches. The Chemin des (6hAnses d'Arlet, easy level) will allow you to walk around the Sainte-Anne peninsula and discover its beaches and landscapes.

Day 6 : South - Trace of Caps

Still in the south of the island but this time on the Atlantic side, the Trail trail of the Caps is one of the most picturesque, to walk on foot or by bike, in one or more stages.

Day 7 : South - The Great Macabou or the Savannah of Petrifications

On the Vauclin side, you will walk along the Grand Macabou domain along the coast from Petite to Grande Anse Macabou. But one of the most original hikes is the one that crosses the Savannah of Petrifications (5h AR, easy level) in the Sainte-Anne peninsula. In this desert expanse, which owes its name to fossilized trees, we can see some cactus and acacias growing. The landscape is stunning.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Trekking en Martinique

  • 7 jours
  • Toutes saisons
  • Solo
  • Amis
  • Groupe
  • Faune et flore
  • Aventure / Sports et loisirs
  • Moyen

Paradis du randonneur, la Martinique est bien loin d'être une destination uniquement " plages et transats ". Au nord comme au sud, les marcheurs ont de quoi s'occuper. Voici un itinéraire ultra-sportif prévoyant une randonnée par jour, sur une semaine. Prévoyez quelques jours de plus pour profiter de l'atmosphère relaxante de l'île, et pour digérer le décalage horaire en début de séjour

Galerie photos

Le domaine d'Emeraude. Église de Fonds-Saint-Denis. Baie Du Marin Vue de Sainte-Anne.

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • FONDS-SAINT-DENIS
  • LE MARIN
  • MORNE-ROUGE
  • SAINTE-ANNE
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Trekking en Martinique - 7 jours

Jour 1 : Nord - Montagne Pelée

Incontournable, l'ascension de la montagne Pelée peut se réaliser par plusieurs sentiers de niveaux différents. Au départ du Morne-Rouge, le sentier de l'Aileron (6h aller-retour, niveau moyen) offre de magnifiques panoramas. Par le Prêcheur (6h l'aller, niveau moyen/difficile), vous aurez le moyen d'observer des traces encore tangibles de l'éruption de 1902.

Jour 2 : Nord - Le canal des Esclaves

En descendant vers la côte orientale, les alentours de Fonds-Saint-Denis regorgent de randonnées intéressantes. Plus facile mais à éviter si vous souffrez de vertiges, le canal des Esclaves (4h aller-retour, niveau facile) suit le cours du canal de Beauregard avec de très beaux panoramas sur les pitons du Carbet.

Jour 3 : Nord - Pitons du Carbet

Plus difficile, le long de la route de la Trace, l'ascension des pitons du Carbet (8h aller-retour, niveau difficile) permet de découvrir la forêt tropicale. Attention ! La randonnée est difficile et comporte beaucoup de dénivelés car les six pitons s'étendent sur 16 km et atteignent parfois les 1 000 m de hauteur.

Jour 4 : La presqu'île de La Caravelle

Une journée vous suffira pour découvrir les beautés naturelles de la réserve de La Caravelle. Le grand ou le petit sentier sont ombragés en grande partie et de niveau facile. Le petit sentier (2h environ) serpente entre la mangrove et la forêt sèche en passant par le château Dubuc. Le grand sentier (4h environ) arrive jusqu'au phare de La Caravelle et permet de profiter de très belles vues sur la Baie du Trésor. Attention, certains traits sont en plein soleil : prévoyez suffisamment d'eau.

Jour 5 : Sud - Le chemin des Anses d'Arlet

Quittez les montagnes pour rejoindre les plages. Le chemin des Anses d'Arlet (6h, niveau facile) vous permettra de faire le tour de la presqu'île de Sainte-Anne et de découvrir ainsi ses plages et ses paysages.

Jour 6 : Sud - La Trace des Caps

Toujours dans le sud de l'île mais cette fois-ci côté Atlantique, la randonnée de la Trace des Caps est l'une des plus pittoresques, à parcourir à pied ou à vélo, en une ou plusieurs étapes.

Jour 7 : Sud - Le Grand Macabou ou la Savane des Pétrifications

Du côté du Vauclin, vous parcourrez le domaine du Grand Macabou en longeant le littoral de la Petite à la Grande Anse Macabou. Mais l'une des randonnées les plus originales reste celle qui traverse la Savane des Pétrifications (5h AR, niveau facile) dans la presqu'île de Sainte-Anne. Dans cette étendue désertique qui doit son nom aux arbres fossilisés, on pourra apercevoir quelques cactus et acacias pousser. Le paysage est saisissant.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur