The country Sakalava: between Tsingy and Baobabs

  • 13 days
  • All seasons
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Friends
  • Group
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Faune and flora
  • Adventure / Sports & Leisure
  • Medium

The grand classic of the western circuits of the Great Island of Madagascar. Two weeks of various adventures including the descent into the canoe of the Tsiribihina, a pilgrimage in the immense mineral cathedral of the great Tsingy or an unforgettable sunset at the end of the alley of baobabs.

Photo gallery

Antananarivo <p>Cathédrale Cathedral</p> Barge used by travellers to descend Tsiribihina Welcome with Antsirabe, paradise of the rickshaws! <p>Zébu tank, route between Belo-sur-Tsiribihina and Morondava</p> Large Tsingys of Bemaraha <p>Great Tsingy of Bemaraha, better not to look down!</p> Magnificent Dhows, Morondava The traditional masks do not prevent from being with the fashion, of course! In Belo on sea Sunset with Mahajanga Rice fields Antananarivo

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Tana - Antananarivo
  • Sainte-Marie
  • Antsirabe
  • Miandrivazo
  • Belo-sur-Tsiribihina
  • Tsingy de Bemaraha
  • Morondava
  • Belo-sur-Mer
  • Majunga - Mahajanga
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: The country Sakalava: between Tsingy and Baobabs - 13 days

Day 1 : Tananarive

Arrival in Tananarive. Walk on the pavés of the high city from Independence Square to the Queen's Palace to embrace the surrounding sacred hills, Fort Voyron, the Zoologique zoological and botanical park, Mahamasina stadium or the Anosy and Mandroseza lakes. Night in Tananarive.

Day 2 : Antsirabe

Transfer for Antsirabe 180 km towards the south for about three hours driving on an asphalt road. Visit of the city on foot or on foot to appreciate the colonial architecture of this ancient spa town to the numerous sources of hot and gaseous water nestling above 1 400 m above sea level. Night in Antsirabe.

Day 3 : Miandrivazo

Transfer for Miandrivazo 220 km west for about 5-6 hours of journey. The asphalt road stops here and it is now necessary to choose between the track and the river if you want to continue. Changing climate and atmosphere with tropical heat burst. Night in Miandrivazo.

Day 4 : River Tsiribihina

Transfer to Masiakampy wharf before settling in a canoe to start a two and a half day cruise on the river Tsiribihina. Therefore, the fauna and flora will not stop turning for 150 km in the company of lemurs and crocodiles. Night in bivouac at the edge of the river.

Day 5 : River Tsiribihina

Following the descent of the. The forest succeeds the mangrove that passes the witness to sandy benches between two limestone-shaped gorges. Remember to salute the aboriginal people who live near the river in sometimes very rudimentary habitats. New night in bivouac.

Day 6 : River Tsiribihina

Continuation and end of the descent from the Tisiribihina to Belo-sur-Tsiribihina, the terminus of the cruise. Transfer of kilometres in the middle of savannah to the village of Bekopaka, on the other side of the river Manambolo that is traversed by ferry or canoe. The National Park of Tsingy is no longer far away. Night in Bekopaka.

Day 7 : De de Bemaraha

Morning walk in the labyrinth of the small Tsingy of Bemaraha, a small foretaste of the big, and then descent into a canoe in the afternoon in the steep gorges of the river Manambolo. In the evening, walking in the surrounding forest in search and listening to nocturnal animals, including lemurs with green eyes. Night in Bekopaka.

Day 8 : Tsingy of Bemaraha

A rather sporty hike in the great Tsingy of Bemaraha using ladders, carabiners and harnesses to climb this majestic limestone cathedral, listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Once at the top you will discover one of the most beautiful geological spectacles ever produced by nature. Night in Belo-sur-Tsiribihina.

Day 9 : Allée des Baobabs des baobabs

Departure in direction of Morondava and compulsory stop at the entrance of the legendary baobabs of baobabs, the most photographed site in the country with its majestic alignment of three of the seven endemic species of Madagascar. Don't forget to surprise the two amoureux baobabs. Return to Morondava after sunset.

Day 10 : Belo-sur-Mer

Transfer to Belo-sur-Mer 80 km south of Morondava for about 4 hours on a difficult track. A long break off the tourist trails with, upon arrival, the discovery of a charming fishing village with all wood and fences. Visit to the Naval and Schooners shipyard. Night in Belo-sur-Mer.

Day 11 : Morondava

Return to Morondava. Swimming on the beaches of the Nosy Kely peninsula ("the tourist village") along the Mozambique canal, visit the lively market in the city centre or stroll in the Menabe zoological park to meet crocodiles, lemurs, chameleons and... of ostriches! Night in Morondava.

Day 12 : Tananarive

Flight to Tananarive to avoid the endless return in a bush taxi by the road that will make you lose all day. Once back in the capital, visit the Andravoahangy market, northeast of the city centre, and the Analakely covered market in the lower town to fill up with souvenirs. Last night in Tananarive

Day 13 : Tananarive

Return flight, possibly taking advantage of the artisanal market of La Digue on the way to the airport.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Le pays Sakalava : entre Tsingy et baobabs

  • 13 jours
  • Toutes saisons
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Amis
  • Groupe
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Faune et flore
  • Aventure / Sports et loisirs
  • Moyen

Le grand classique des circuits ouest de la Grande île de Madagascar. Deux semaines d'aventures diverses et variées parmi lesquelles la descente en pirogue de la Tsiribihina, un pèlerinage dans l'immense cathédrale minérale des grands Tsingy ou encore un inoubliable coucher de soleil au bout de l'allée des baobabs.

Galerie photos

Antananarivo Cathédrale d'Antsirabe Chaland emprunté par les voyageurs pour descendre la Tsiribihina Bienvenue à Antsirabe, paradis des pousse-pousse ! Char à zébu, route entre Belo-sur-Tsiribihina et Morondava Grands Tsingy de Bemaraha Grands Tsingy de Bemaraha, mieux vaut ne pas regarder en bas ! Boutre magnifique, Morondava Les masques traditionnels n'empêchent pas d'être à la mode, pardi ! A Belo sur mer Coucher de soleil à Mahajanga Rizières Antananarivo

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Tana - Antananarivo
  • Sainte-Marie
  • Antsirabe
  • Miandrivazo
  • Belo-sur-Tsiribihina
  • Tsingy de Bemaraha
  • Morondava
  • Belo-sur-Mer
  • Majunga - Mahajanga
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Le pays Sakalava : entre Tsingy et baobabs - 13 jours

Jour 1 : Tananarive

Arrivée à Tananarive. Balade sur les pavés de la ville haute depuis la place de l'Indépendance jusqu'au palais de la Reine pour embrasser du regard les collines sacrées environnantes, le fort Voyron, le parc zoologique et botanique de Tsimbazaza, le stade de Mahamasina ou encore les lacs Anosy et Mandroseza. Nuit à Tananarive.

Jour 2 : Antsirabe

Transfert pour Antsirabe à 180 km en direction du sud pour environ trois heures de route sur une route goudronnée. Visite de la ville à pied ou en pousse-pousse pour apprécier l'architecture coloniale de cette ancienne cité thermale aux multiples sources d'eau chaude et gazeuse nichée à plus de 1 400 m d'altitude. Nuit à Antsirabe.

Jour 3 : Miandrivazo

Transfert pour Miandrivazo à 220 km à l'ouest pour environ 5-6 heures de trajet. La route goudronnée s'arrête ici et il faut désormais choisir entre la piste et la rivière si l'on veut continuer son chemin. Changement de climat et d'atmosphère avec l'irruption de la chaleur tropicale. Nuit à Miandrivazo.

Jour 4 : Rivière Tsiribihina

Transfert vers l'embarcadère de Masiakampy avant de s'installer dans une pirogue pour débuter une croisière de deux jours et demi sur la rivière Tsiribihina. Le faune et la flore ne vont dès lors cesser de se transformer pendant 150 km en compagnie des lémuriens et des crocodiles. Nuit en bivouac au bord du fleuve.

Jour 5 : Rivière Tsiribihina

Suite de la descente de la Tsiribihina. La forêt succède à la mangrove qui passe le témoin à des bancs sablonneux entre deux gorges taillées dans le calcaire. N'oubliez pas de saluer au passage les autochtones qui vivent près de la rivière dans des habitats parfois très rudimentaires. Nouvelle nuit en bivouac.

Jour 6 : Rivière Tsiribihina

Suite et fin de la descente de la Tisiribihina jusqu'à Belo-sur-Tsiribihina, le terminus de la croisière. Transfert d'une centaine de kilomètres en pleine savane vers le village de Bekopaka, de l'autre côté de la rivière Manambolo que l'on traverse en bac ou en pirogue. Le parc national des Tsingy n'est plus très loin. Nuit à Bekopaka.

Jour 7 : Tsingy de Bemaraha

Promenade matinale dans le labyrinthe des petits Tsingy de Bemaraha, petit avant-goût des grands, puis descente en pirogue l'après-midi dans les gorges abruptes de la rivière Manambolo. Le soir, balade dans la forêt environnante à la recherche et à l'écoute des animaux nocturnes et notamment des lémuriens à yeux verts. Nuit à Bekopaka.

Jour 8 : Tsingy de Bemaraha

Randonnée plutôt sportive dans les grands Tsingy de Bemaraha au moyen d'échelles, de mousquetons et de baudriers pour gravir cette majestueuse cathédrale de calcaire classée au patrimoine de l'humanité par l'Unesco. Une fois au sommet vous découvrirez l'un des plus beaux spectacles géologiques qu'ait jamais produit la nature. Nuit à Belo-sur-Tsiribihina.

Jour 9 : Allée des baobabs

Départ en direction de Morondava et arrêt obligatoire à l'entrée de la légendaire allée des baobabs, le site le plus photographié du pays avec son alignement majestueux de trois des sept espèces endémiques que compte Madagascar. Ne pas oublier de surprendre les deux baobabs amoureux. Retour à Morondava après le coucher du soleil.

Jour 10 : Belo-sur-Mer

Transfert vers Belo-sur-Mer à 80 km au sud de Morondava pour environ 4h de route sur une piste difficile. Une longue escapade hors des sentiers touristiques avec, à l'arrivée, la découverte d'un charmant village de pêcheurs tout de bois et de palissades. Visite du chantier naval de boutres et de goélettes. Nuit à Belo-sur-Mer.

Jour 11 : Morondava

Retour à Morondava. Baignade sur les plages de la presqu'île de Nosy Kely ("le village touristique") le long du canal du Mozambique, visite du très animé marché du centre-ville ou encore balade dans le parc zoologique du Menabe à la rencontre de crocodiles, de lémuriens, de caméléons et... d'autruches ! Nuit à Morondava.

Jour 12 : Tananarive

Vol pour Tananarive pour éviter l'interminable retour en taxi-brousse par la route qui vous fera perdre toute la journée. Une fois de retour dans la capitale, visite du marché d'Andravoahangy, au nord est du centre-ville, et du marché couvert d'Analakely en ville basse pour faire le plein de souvenirs. Dernière nuit à Tananarive.

Jour 13 : Tananarive

Vol de retour en profitant éventuellement du marché artisanal de la Digue sur la route de l'aéroport.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur