Road trip on RN7

  • 11 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Autumn
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Friends
  • Group
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Faune and flora
  • Adventure / Sports & Leisure
  • Relaxation / Well-being
  • Medium
Road trip on RN7

Un tour of asphalt and red ground of 950 km between Tananarive and Tuléar along the longest RN7, of the country, remote cousin of our RN20 which connects Paris to the Spanish border. A full travel sud through all that the Large island of Madagascar can offer like landscapes: hills, plains, rice plantations, massifs and pages to finish the feet in sand with Ifaty, on the coast ouest.

Photo gallery

Antananarivo <p>Cathédrale Cathedral</p> The tropical charm of Sainte-Marie <p>Fish market in Gisenyi.</p> The dam allows you to get to the south of the island from Ambodifotatra, Sainte-Marie <p>The Étendues areas</p> Special relief, Ranohira Isalo Sunset on the beach of Ifaty Saleswoman on Ifaty beach Rice fields Antananarivo

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Tana - Antananarivo
  • Sainte-Marie
  • Antsirabe
  • Ambositra
  • Fianarantsoa
  • Ambalavao
  • Ranohira
  • Ifaty- Mangily
  • Morondava
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Road trip on RN7 - 11 days

Day 1 : Tananarive

Arrival in Tananarive. Walk on the pavés of the high city from Independence Square to the Queen's Palace to embrace the surrounding sacred hills, Fort Voyron, the Zoologique zoological and botanical park, Mahamasina stadium or the Anosy and Mandroseza lakes. Night in Tananarive.

Day 2 : Antsirabe

Transfer for Antsirabe 180 km towards the south for about three hours driving on an asphalt road. Visit of the city on foot or on foot to appreciate the colonial architecture of this ancient spa town to the numerous sources of hot and gaseous water nestling above 1 400 m above sea level. Night in Antsirabe.

Day 3 : Ambositra

The journey continues south to Fianarantsoa, 250 kilometres away, for a four-hour trip through the Highlands. The RN7 crosses terraced rice fields and stops in Ambositra, the Malagasy capital of wood carving and marquetry. Its craftsmen are inspired by the art of the Zafimaniry, a people from the forests of the central south-east whose know-how is recognized by UNESCO. Night in Fianarantsoa.

Day 4 : Fianarantsoa

The second most populous town in Madagascar, renowned for its vineyards and tea plantations, Fianarantsoa deserves a day's time. Visit of the old town on the hills, with its huts with carved wood balconies, narrow alleys and numerous towers. Night in Fianarantsoa.

Day 5 : Ambalavao

We leave the Highlands for the South, whose door opens in Ambalavao, at a small hour's drive from Fianarantsoa. The rice fields leave large blocks of stone and zébus multiply by the roadside. Small stop in Ambalavao to appreciate the beautiful varangues of the houses and observe the market of zébus. Night in Ranohira.

Day 6 : Isalo Park

Long hike in the vast Isalo massif from the village of Ranohira. This national park is nicknamed "the Malagasy Colorado" because of its ruinous relief (from the word "ruin") composed of peaks, canyons, caves and rocky columns. The great aridity of the area is compensated by numerous waterfalls and natural pools. Second night in Ranohira.

Day 7 : Parc de l'Isalo

The immense Massif massif deserves a second day of hiking to observe the birds of prey (black, harrier, hawks...) and lemurs (red front ruffed, ruffed tif, and Le sifaka to amazing dance). After walking, we take the height thanks to a route of through 500 metres long ferrata on the ridges of the massif. Last night in Ranohira.

Day 8 : Ifaty

Return to the RN 7. We leave behind the canyons to leave to the west coast and into the lagoon of the village of Ifaty, after having surpassed dusty city of Tuléar. Finally, it is time to relax on the beach by observing, beyond the coral barrier, the sails of the fishermen's sails. Night in Ifaty.

Day 9 : Ifaty

New day in the sand in the lagoon. On the menu of the festivities of the morning massage session, horseback riding or snorkeling on the reef. In the afternoon, walk through the baobabs forest in the baobabs forest of Doumergue's wild reserve to avoid the beaten trails of Reniala National Park. Second night in Ifaty.

Day 10 : Tananarive

It's time to get back to the starting point. Not by the RN7, but with a flight to Tananarive from Tulear airport. Once back in the Malagasy capital, visit the Andravoahangy market, northeast of the city centre, and the Analakely covered market in the lower town to fill up with souvenirs. Last night in Tananarive

Day 11 : Tananarive

Return flight, possibly taking advantage of the artisanal market of La Digue on the way to the airport.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Road trip sur la RN7

  • 11 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Automne
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Amis
  • Groupe
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Faune et flore
  • Aventure / Sports et loisirs
  • Détente / Bien être
  • Moyen

Un périple d'asphalte et de terre rouge de 950 km entre Tananarive et Tuléar le long de la RN7, la plus longue du pays, lointaine cousine de notre RN20 qui relie Paris à la frontière espagnole. Un voyage plein sud à travers tout ce que la Grande île de Madagascar peut offrir comme paysages : collines, plaines, rizières, massifs et pages pour finir les pieds dans le sable à Ifaty, sur la côte ouest.

Galerie photos

Antananarivo Cathédrale d'Antsirabe Le charme tropical de Sainte-Marie Montagnes de Madere La digue permet de rallier le sud de l'île depuis Ambodifotatra, Sainte-Marie Les étendues de l'Isalo Relief particulier de l'Isalo, Ranohira Coucher de soleil sur la plage d'Ifaty Vendeuse sur la plage d'Ifaty Rizières Antananarivo

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Tana - Antananarivo
  • Sainte-Marie
  • Antsirabe
  • Ambositra
  • Fianarantsoa
  • Ambalavao
  • Ranohira
  • Ifaty- Mangily
  • Morondava
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Road trip sur la RN7 - 11 jours

Jour 1 : Tananarive

Arrivée à Tananarive. Balade sur les pavés de la ville haute depuis la place de l'Indépendance jusqu'au palais de la Reine pour embrasser du regard les collines sacrées environnantes, le fort Voyron, le parc zoologique et botanique de Tsimbazaza, le stade de Mahamasina ou encore les lacs Anosy et Mandroseza. Nuit à Tananarive.

Jour 2 : Antsirabe

Transfert pour Antsirabe à 180 km en direction du sud pour environ trois heures de route sur une route goudronnée. Visite de la ville à pied ou en pousse-pousse pour apprécier l'architecture coloniale de cette ancienne cité thermale aux multiples sources d'eau chaude et gazeuse nichée à plus de 1 400 m d'altitude. Nuit à Antsirabe.

Jour 3 : Ambositra

Le périple se poursuit en direction du sud vers Fianarantsoa, située à 250 kilomètres de là, pour un trajet de quatre heures dans les Hautes terres. La RN7 traverse des rizières en terrasse et fait étape à Ambositra, la capitale malgache de la sculpture sur bois et de la marquèterie. Ses artisans s'inspirent de l'art des Zafimaniry, un peuple des forêts du centre sud-est dont le savoir-faire est reconnu par l'Unesco. Nuit à Fianarantsoa.

Jour 4 : Fianarantsoa

Deuxième ville la plus peuplée de Madagascar, réputée pour ses pieds de vigne et ses plantations de thé, Fianarantsoa mérite bien qu'on y stationne le temps d'une journée. Visite de la vieille ville sur les hauteurs, avec ses maisonnettes aux balcons de bois sculpté, ses ruelles étroites et ses innombrables clochers. Nuit à Fianarantsoa.

Jour 5 : Ambalavao

On quitte les Hautes terres pour le Grand sud dont la porte s'ouvre à Ambalavao, à une petite heure de trajet de Fianarantsoa. Les rizières laissent place à de gros blocs de pierre et les zébus se multiplient au bord de la route. Petit arrêt à Ambalavao pour apprécier les belles varangues des maisons et observer le marché des zébus. Nuit à Ranohira.

Jour 6 : Parc de l'Isalo

Grande randonnée dans le vaste massif de l'Isalo à partir du village de Ranohira. Ce parc national est surnommée "le Colorado malgache" à cause de son relief ruiniforme (du mot "ruine") composé de pics, de canyons, de grottes et de colonnes rocheuses. La grande aridité des lieux est compensée par de nombreuses cascades et piscines naturelle. Seconde nuit à Ranohira.

Jour 7 : Parc de l'Isalo

L'immense massif de l'Isalo mérite bien une seconde journée de randonnée pour y observer les rapaces (milans, busards, faucons...) et les lémuriens (lémur à front roux, lémur catta et le sifaka de Verreaux à la danse étonnante). Après la marche, on prend de la hauteur grâce à un parcours de via ferrata long de 500 mètres sur les crêtes du massif. Dernière nuit à Ranohira.

Jour 8 : Ifaty

Retour sur la RN7. On laisse derrière soi les canyons pour partir en direction de la côte ouest et se blottir dans le lagon du village d'Ifaty, après avoir dépassé la poussiéreuse ville de Tuléar. C'est enfin l'heure du farniente sur la plage en observant par-delà la barrière de corail les pirogues à voile carrée des pêcheurs. Nuit à Ifaty.

Jour 9 : Ifaty

Nouvelle journée les pieds dans le sable dans le lagon. Au menu des festivités de la matinée séance de massage, balade à cheval ou encore snorkeling sur la barrière de corail. L'après-midi, promenade en charrette à zébu dans la forêt de baobabs de la réserve sauvage de Doumergue, pour éviter les sentiers battus du parc national de Reniala. Seconde nuit à Ifaty.

Jour 10 : Tananarive

C'est le moment de revenir au point de départ. Pas par la RN7 mais avec un vol pour Tananarive depuis l'aéroport de Tuléar. Une fois de retour dans la capitale malgache, visite du marché d'Andravoahangy, au nord est du centre-ville, et du marché couvert d'Analakely en ville basse pour faire le plein de souvenirs. Dernière nuit à Tananarive.

Jour 11 : Tananarive

Vol de retour en profitant éventuellement du marché artisanal de la Digue sur la route de l'aéroport.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur