Hunt the natural Malagasy

  • 11 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • General public
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Faune and flora
  • Adventure / Sports & Leisure
  • Free time
  • Relaxation / Well-being
  • Medium

Detached from the African continent several tens of millions of years ago, Madagascar is home to a fauna and flora like nowhere else with 80 to 90% of endemic species. It is possible to observe a large sample of this exclusive product without multiplying the kilometres by going to discover the forests, the Pangalanes Canal and other wonders of the east coast.

Photo gallery

Antananarivo Andasibe Indri Indri in the national park of Andasibe Colonial architecture of Tamatave Railway bridge near Tamatave The tropical charm of Sainte-Marie Sunset with Mahajanga Rice fields Antananarivo

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Tana - Antananarivo
  • Sainte-Marie
  • Andasibe
  • Tamatave - Toamasina
  • Majunga - Mahajanga
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Hunt the natural Malagasy - 11 days

Day 1 : Tananarive

Arrival in Tananarive. Walk on the pavés of the high city from Independence Square to the Queen's Palace to embrace the surrounding sacred hills, Fort Voyron, the Zoologique zoological and botanical park, Mahamasina stadium or the Anosy and Mandroseza lakes. Night in Tananarive.

Day 2 : Andasibe

By car for the National Park Andasibe-Mantadia a few hours drive east of Tananarive by the RN 2. Visit of the special reserve of Analamazaotra, a forest of pine and eucalyptus, to try to see the indri, the largest of lemurs, whose size can culminate at 1 meters and weigh up to 15 kilos. Night in Andasibe.

Day 3 : Mantadia

After Analamazaotra, it is now the turn of Mantadia National Park to offer itself to your eyes and ears. A new chance to meet the indri and the other species of lemurs that inhabit the area in a more wild and sporty setting. Ornithologists will be delighted to learn that they have the opportunity to observe nearly a hundred species of birds here. Night in Andasibe.

Day 4 : Pangalane Canal

Return on the RN2 towards Tamatave to Lake Rasoabe to discover the Pangalanes Canal, a 650 km waterway built at the end of the 19th century. Cabotage to the north towards the private nature reserve Palmarium to meet lemurs not very shy in the middle of palm trees, acacias and orchids. Overnight on site.

Day 5 : Canal des Pangalanes

Take the boat to the beautiful shores of Lake Ampitabe and discover the site of Ankanin'ny Nofy, another piece of paradise. Fifty hectares of untouched nature from the influence of men with some unique specimens such as plants géantes giant carnivores passifs type Nepenthes. Night in bungalow.

Day 6 : Canal des Pangalanes

Another kilometres to caboter on the Pangalanes Canal before reaching Tamatave, the first commercial port of the island and the capital of the eastern province. The opportunity to regain urban comfort and recover from its emotions away from lemurs and carnivorous plants.

Day 7 : Sainte-Marie

Departure for the island Sainte-Marie, which awaits you quietly near the coast, 150 km north. From the Port-Ivongo port, located four hours drive from Tamatave, you can reach the sea by air. Once on the spot, difficult not to fall in love with this little piece of land all along.

Day 8 : Sainte-Marie

The main attraction of Sainte-Marie is the great spectacle of humpback whales that come to reproduce or put down each year between July and September in the canal separating the small island from the Great Island. The females will then leave in groups with their calves to the southern seas, well escorted by males.

Day 9 : Saint Mary

In addition to the must-see whale watching trip, Sainte-Marie offers many activities for those who don't want to linger on the magnificent beaches that surround the island. Snorkeling, diving, visit of the pirate cemetery, mountain biking.... Ile aux Nattes, which can be reached by pirogue from the southern tip, is also a must see.

Day 10 : Tananarive

Flight to Tananarive to avoid the endless return by boat and then by bush taxi which would make you lose all day. Once back in the capital, visit the Andravoahangy market, northeast of the city centre, and the Analakely covered market in the lower town to fill up with souvenirs. Last night in Tananarive

Day 11 : Tananarive

Return flight, possibly taking advantage of the artisanal market of La Digue on the way to the airport.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Chassez le naturel malgache

  • 11 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Tout public
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Faune et flore
  • Aventure / Sports et loisirs
  • Farniente
  • Détente / Bien être
  • Moyen

Détachée du continent africain il y a plusieurs dizaines de millions d'années, Madagascar abrite une faune et une flore comme il n'en existe nulle part ailleurs avec 80 à 90 % d'espèces endémiques. Une exclusivité dont il est possible d'observer un large échantillon sans multiplier les kilomètres en partant à la découverte des forêts, du canal des Pangalanes et des autres merveilles de la côte est.

Galerie photos

Antananarivo Andasibe Indri Indri dans le parc national d'Andasibe Architecture coloniale de Tamatave Pont ferroviaire près de Tamatave Le charme tropical de Sainte-Marie Coucher de soleil à Mahajanga Rizières Antananarivo

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Tana - Antananarivo
  • Sainte-Marie
  • Andasibe
  • Tamatave - Toamasina
  • Majunga - Mahajanga
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Chassez le naturel malgache - 11 jours

Jour 1 : Tananarive

Arrivée à Tananarive. Balade sur les pavés de la ville haute depuis la place de l'Indépendance jusqu'au palais de la Reine pour embrasser du regard les collines sacrées environnantes, le fort Voyron, le parc zoologique et botanique de Tsimbazaza, le stade de Mahamasina ou encore les lacs Anosy et Mandroseza. Nuit à Tananarive.

Jour 2 : Andasibe

En voiture pour le parc national Andasibe-Mantadia à quelques heures de route à l'est de Tananarive par la RN2. Visite de la réserve spéciale d'Analamazaotra, une forêt de pins et d'eucalyptus, pour tenter d'apercevoir l'indri, le plus grand des lémuriens, dont la taille peut culminer à 1 mètre et qui pèse jusqu'à 15 kilos. Nuit à Andasibe.

Jour 3 : Mantadia

Après Analamazaotra, c'est au tour du parc national de Mantadia de s'offrir à vos yeux et vos oreilles. Nouvelle chance de croiser l'indri et les autres espèces de lémuriens qui peuplent les lieux dans un cadre plus sauvage et sportif. Les amateurs d'ornithologie seront ravis d'apprendre qu'il ont l'occasion d'observer ici  près d'une centaines espèces d'oiseaux. Nuit à Andasibe.

Jour 4 : Canal des Pangalanes

Retour sur la RN2 en direction de Tamatave jusqu'au lac Rasoabe pour découvrir le canal des Pangalanes, une voie fluviale de 650 km aménagée à la fin du XIXe siècle. Cabotage au nord vers la réserve naturelle privée Palmarium pour y rencontrer des lémuriens peu farouches au milieu des palmiers, des acacias et des orchidées. Nuit sur place.

Jour 5 : Canal des Pangalanes

On reprend le bateau pour longer les splendides rives du lac Ampitabe et découvrir le site d'Ankanin'ny Nofy, un autre morceau de paradis. Cinquante hectares de nature préservés de l'influence des hommes avec quelques spécimens uniques comme des plantes carnivores géantes à pièges passifs de type Nepenthes. Nuit en bungalow.

Jour 6 : Canal des Pangalanes

Encore une soixantaine de kilomètres à caboter sur le canal des Pangalanes avant d'atteindre Tamatave, le premier port commercial de l'île et la capitale de la province de l'est. L'occasion de retrouver un peu de confort urbain et de se remettre de ses émotions loin des lémuriens et des plantes carnivores.

Jour 7 : Sainte-Marie

Départ pour l'île Sainte-Marie qui vous attend tranquillement à proximité de la côte, 150 km plus au nord. On y arrive par les airs avec le vol quotidien depuis Tamatave ou par bateau depuis le port de Soanirana-Ivongo, situé à quatre heures de route de Tamatave. Une fois sur place, difficile de ne pas tomber amoureux de ce petit bout de terre tout en longueur.

Jour 8 : Sainte-Marie

La principale attraction de Sainte-Marie est le grand spectacle des baleines à bosse qui viennent se reproduire ou mettre bas chaque année entre juillet et septembre dans le canal qui sépare la petite île de la Grande île. Les femelles repartiront ensuite en groupe avec leur baleineau vers les mers du sud, bien escortées par les mâles.

Jour 9 : Sainte-Marie

Outre l'incontournable sortie baleines, Sainte-Marie offre de nombreuses activités pour ceux qui ne voudraient pas s'attarder sur les magnifiques plages qui enveloppent l'île. Snorkeling, plongée, visite du cimetière des pirate, balade à VTT... L'île aux Nattes, à laquelle on accède en pirogue depuis la pointe sud, est aussi une curiosité incontournable.

Jour 10 : Tananarive

Vol pour Tananarive pour éviter l'interminable retour en bateau puis en taxi-brousse qui vous ferait perdre toute la journée. Une fois de retour dans la capitale, visite du marché d'Andravoahangy, au nord est du centre-ville, et du marché couvert d'Analakely en ville basse pour faire le plein de souvenirs. Dernière nuit à Tananarive.

Jour 11 : Tananarive

Vol de retour en profitant éventuellement du marché artisanal de la Digue sur la route de l'aéroport.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur