Colonial cities of Guatemala, El Salvador and Honduras

  • 11 days
  • Spring
  • Autumn
  • Winter
  • General public
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Discovery
  • Medium

Are you more interested in visiting cities, museums, culture and history? This tour is for you! For two short weeks, explore the prettiest cities, with preserved colonial architecture, of these three neighbouring countries: Guatemala, El Salvador and Honduras. In the example below, arrival and departure are from the capital of Guatemala, but it is quite possible to do the same from the Salvadoran capital, San Salvador. This tour is a great introduction to these three Central American countries and will certainly make you want to come back!

Photo gallery

<p>Plaza Mayor.</p> Carpet manufacturing during Healthy Week in Antigua. <p>Card in relief.</p> Many murals colour the streets of Ahuachapan. <p>Meet the FaBrus Brothers in their art gallery located in Ataco on the Flower Route.</p> View of the city of San Salvador. <p>The colonial village of Suchitoto.</p> <p>Lake Suchitland.</p> <p>Palacio Nacional.</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • San Salvador
  • Santa Ana
  • Joya De Cerén
  • Ahuachapán
  • Nahuizalco
  • Juayua
  • Apaneca
  • Sonsonate
  • Suchitoto
  • Antigua
  • Guatemala City
  • Santa Cruz Del Quiché
  • Esquipulas
  • Concepción De Ataco
  • Santa Tecla
  • Aguilares
  • Antiguo Cuscatlán
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Colonial cities of Guatemala, El Salvador and Honduras - 11 days

Day 1 : Arrival in Antigua, historic capital

From your arrival in Guatemala City, no time to lose, from directly for the old historical capital, within two hours of there, Antigua.

Day 2 : The prettiest colonial city in Central America?

Listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, Antigua is, according to some, one of the prettiest cities with colonial architecture in Central America (with Granada in Nicaragua?). Lose yourself in its alleys, be curious and visit its many churches, go to the market for lunch. The city is surrounded by many volcanoes. Go on a day trip there. For example, join the village of San Francisco de Sales from where it is possible to walk for 1h30 to reach the top of the Pacaya Volcano (still active today!). Antigua is also a good place to stop for a week or two and take Spanish courses, you will find many language schools there

Day 3 : Santa Ana and the Mayan Pompei

Then take a bus that passes through Guatemala City, and leaves for El Salvador, to reach the city of Santa Ana. Stroll through its covered market, visit its amazing cathedral (in Gothic style, one of the only ones in Central America in this style). You can visit its small "Western Regional" museum to learn about the history of the region and discover a beautiful collection of archaeological finds. If you are an archaeologist, don't miss the site of Joya De Cerén, the equivalent of the "Pompeii" of the Mayan world. It is located 40 kilometers from Santa Ana.

Day 4 : Murals by the Fabrus brothers

Pass by Ahuachapán, where you can admire the very colourful murals of the Fabrus brothers, before joining Concepción de Ataco, where you can visit their art gallery and meet them in person! This pretty village, in the hollow of a valley at an altitude of 1,240 metres, is very charming. Note that you can also visit coffee plantations in the area.

Day 5 : Along the flower route

Concepción de Ataco is the starting point (or arrival point depending on where you start!) of the famous "Flower Route". Today you make a real road trip by stopping in each village (Apaneca, Juayua, Nahuizalco, Sonsonate) before reaching the capital, San Salvador, where you stay in the pretty district of Antiguo Cuscatlan or Santa Tecla.

Day 6 : Visit to the historic centre of San Salvador

Visit the historic centre of San Salvador, its cathedral (including the crypt housing the tomb of Monsignor Oscar Romero, a great figure from El Salvador), the amazing El Rosario church, as well as some of its museums before leaving in the late afternoon for Suchitoto.

Day 7 : Suchitoto, on the shores of Lake Suchitlan

Suchitoto is the cradle of Añil (indigo), a beautiful town with well preserved colonial architecture. The city dominates the artificial lake of Suchitlan, offering a magnificent panorama from the viewpoint.

Day 8 : Heading for Honduras

A great day of travel awaits you to reach the famous Mayan ruins of Copán in Honduras. From Suchitoto pass through Aguilares, then take a bus to the border post "El Poi". From there, take a minibus to Ocotepeque, then Santa Rosa Copán, La Entrada and finally Copán Ruinas. You have arrived in the charming village at the entrance to the famous Copán Archaeological Park, which has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1980.

Day 9 : A journey back in time to the heart of the Mayan Empire

The ruins of Copán are among the most beautiful archaeological sites in Central America. It would be a shame not to visit them. Book at least half a day for his exploration and use the services of a professional guide to really enjoy the magic of the place. Also visit the sculpture museum where you can see a magnificent life-size and colour reproduction of the Rosalila temple.

Day 10 : Thermal waters, coffee plantations and bird park

In the morning, visit the superb Parc des Oiseaux. The income generated by the park (a private initiative launched by an American) provides self-financing for the site and the project to rehabilitate captive birds to wildlife. A multitude of parrots, toucans, red, green and blue macaws, as well as other birds native to Honduras, some of them in semi-liberty, can be observed: in all, more than 200 birds of 23 different species. Then rest in the thermal waters, visit a coffee plantation, do your last shopping.

Day 11 : Return to Guatemala

Buses operate almost daily between Copán and Guatemala. Join Guatemala City to catch your return flight... it's already the end of the trip!

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Villes coloniales du Guatemala, Salvador et Honduras

  • 11 jours
  • Printemps
  • Automne
  • Hiver
  • Tout public
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Découverte
  • Moyen

Vous êtes plutôt visites de villes, musées, culture et histoire ? Ce circuit est fait pour vous! Parcourez pendant deux petites semaines les plus jolies villes, à l'architecture coloniale préservées, de ces trois pays voisins : Guatemala, Salvador et Honduras. Dans l'exemple ci-dessous l'arrivée et le départ se font depuis la capitale du Guatemala, mais il est tout à fait possible de faire de même depuis la capitale salvadorienne, San Salvador. Ce circuit est une belle introduction à ces trois pays d'Amérique Centrale qui vous donnera certainement l'envie de revenir!

Galerie photos

Plaza Mayor. Convento Santa Clara. Carte en relief. De nombreuses fresques murales colorent les rues d'Ahuachapan. Rencontrez les Frères FaBrus dans leur galerie d'art située à Ataco sur la Route des Fleurs. Palais National de San Salvador Le village colonial de Suchitoto. Le lac Suchitland. Palacio Nacional.

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • SAN SALVADOR
  • SANTA ANA
  • JOYA DE CERÉN
  • AHUACHAPÁN
  • NAHUIZALCO
  • JUAYUA
  • APANECA
  • SONSONATE
  • SUCHITOTO
  • ANTIGUA
  • GUATEMALA CIUDAD
  • SANTA CRUZ DEL QUICHÉ
  • ESQUIPULAS
  • CONCEPCIÓN DE ATACO
  • SANTA TECLA
  • AGUILARES
  • ANTIGUO CUSCATLÁN
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Villes coloniales du Guatemala, Salvador et Honduras - 11 jours

Jour 1 : Arrivée à Antigua, capitale historique

Dès votre arrivée à Guatemala Ciudad, pas de temps à perdre, filez directement pour l'ancienne capitale historique, à moins de deux heures de là, Antigua.

Jour 2 : La plus jolie ville coloniale d'Amérique Centrale ?

Classée au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, Antigua est, selon certains, l'une des plus jolies villes à l'architecture coloniale d'Amérique Centrale (avec Granada au Nicaragua?). Perdez-vous dans ses ruelles, soyez curieux et visitez ses nombreuses églises, allez déjeuner au marché. La ville est entourée de nombreux volcans. Partez-y en excursion pour la journée. Rejoignez par exemple le village de San Francisco de Sales d'où il est possible de faire une marche d'1h30 pour atteindre le sommet du Volcan Pacaya (volcan toujours actif à ce jour!). Antigua est aussi un bon endroit pour s'arrêter une semaine ou deux et prendre des cours d'espagnol, vous y trouverez de nombreuses écoles de langue. 

Jour 3 : Santa Ana et le Pompei maya

Prenez ensuite un bus qui passe par Guatemala Ciudad, et qui part en direction du Salvador, pour rejoindre la ville de Santa Ana. Allez flâner dans son marché couvert, visiter son étonnante cathédrale (de style gothique, une des seules d'Amérique centrale de ce style). Vous pourrez visiter son petit musée "régional de l'occident" pour apprendre du l'histoire de la région et découvrir une belle collection de pièces archéologiques. Si vous êtes amateur d'archéologie, ne manquez d'ailleurs pas le site de Joya De Ceren, l'équivalent du "Pompéi" du monde maya. Il est situé à 40 kilomètres de Santa Ana.

Jour 4 : Fresques murales des frères Fabrus

Passez par Ahuachapán, où vous admirez les fresques murales très colorées des frères Fabrus, avant de rejoindre Concepción de Ataco, où vous pouvez d'ailleurs visiter leur galerie d'art et les rencontrer en personne ! Ce joli village, au creux d'une vallée à 1240 mètres d'altitude, est très charmant. A notez que vous pouvez aussi visiter des plantations de café aux alentours.

Jour 5 : Le long de la route des fleurs

Concepción de Ataco est le point de départ (ou d'arrivée selon par où vous commencez!) de la fameuse "route des fleurs". Aujourd'hui vous effectuez un véritable road trip en vous arrêtant dans chaque village (Apaneca, Juayua, Nahuizalco, Sonsonate) avant de rejoindre la capitale, San Salvador, où vous séjournez dans le joli quartier d'Antiguo Cuscatlan ou Santa Tecla.

Jour 6 : Visite du centre historique de San Salvador

Allez visiter le centre historique de San Salvador, sa cathédrale (dont la crypte hébergeant la tombe de Monseigneur Oscar Romero, une grande figure du Salvador), l'étonnante église El Rosario, ainsi que quelques uns de ses musées avant de partir en fin d'après-midi pour Suchitoto.

Jour 7 : Suchitoto, au bord du lac Suchitlan

Berceau de l'añil (l'indigo), Suchitoto est une jolie ville à l'architecture coloniale très bien conservée. La ville domine le lac artificiel de Suchitlan, offrant un magnifique panorama depuis le mirador.

Jour 8 : Cap vers le Honduras

Une grande journée de voyage vous attends pour rejoindre le célèbres ruines mayas de Copan au Honduras. Depuis Suchitoto passez par Aguilares, puis prendre un bus pour le poste de frontière "El Poi". De là prendre un mini-bus pour Ocotepeque, puis Santa Rosa Copan, La Entrada et finalement Copan Ruinas. Vous voici arrivé dans le charmant village situé à l'entrée du très fameux parc archéologique de Copan classé au patrimoine de l'UNESCO depuis 1980.

Jour 9 : Voyage dans le passé au coeur de l'empire maya

Les ruines de Copan font parties des plus beaux sites archéologiques d'Amérique centrale. Ce serait dommage de ne pas aller les visiter. Réservez au moins une demie-journée pour son exploration et faites appel aux services d'un guide professionnel afin de vraiment profiter de la magie des lieux. Allez aussi visiter le musée des sculptures abritant une magnifique reproduction à taille réelle et en couleurs du temple de Rosalila.

Jour 10 : Eaux thermales, plantations de café et parc aux oiseaux

Le matin, allez visiter le superbe Parc des Oiseaux. Les revenus générés par le parc (une initiative privée lancé par un américain) permettent d'auto-financer les lieux et le projet de réhabilitation à la vie sauvage d'oiseaux captifs. On peut y observer une multitude de perroquets, toucans, aras rouges, verts et bleus, ainsi que d'autres oiseaux natifs du Honduras, dont certains en semi-liberté : en tout plus de 200 oiseaux de 23 espèces différentes. Reposez-vous ensuite aux eaux thermales, allez visiter une plantation de café, faites vos dernières emplettes.

Jour 11 : Retour au Guatemala

Des bus assurent presque tous les jours la liaison entre Copan et le Guatemala. Rejoignez ainsi Guatemala Ciudad pour attraper votre vol retour... c'est déjà la fin du voyage!

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur