A week to discover Vienna

  • 7 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Couple
  • Family
  • Friends
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Faune and flora
  • Adventure / Sports & Leisure
  • Relaxation / Well-being
  • Medium

The Austrian capital can visit the city in a week-end, but the best still remains to do so within a week. In view of the countless monuments and museums facing the city, consider five good days to see everything and take the time to stroll through the parks and the streets of Montmartre. And why not end up with a nearby getaway in Lower Austria?

Photo gallery


Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Vienna
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: A week to discover Vienna - 7 days

Day 1 : Vienna the artistic

The first half-day allows you to discover the architectural showcase of the capital: the Ring. The buildings that line the circular boulevard, including the National Opera, the Hofburg Palace, the major museums (Fine Arts and Natural History), the Parliament, the Great University, the Town Hall, the Votive Church, reflect the Baroque and Historic periods. Then, enter the city centre, the Innere Stadt (1st district) to stroll through the oldest streets of the capital. In its heart, rises more than 300 m in the sky the Cathedral of St. Stephen (Stefansdom), a marvel of the Gothic age. If it is not too late, visit the Albertina, the great museum of the centre which houses a unique collection of art (impressionists, expressionists, drawings and engravings of the Renaissance...) collected by Prince Albert of Saxony-Teschen and his wife Marie-Christine, daughter of Marie-Thérèse. The building alone is worth a look.

Lunch in a Beisl: a typical popular restaurant where the daily menu, cheap, must be accompanied by a beer or a local wine.

After lunch, head for the Museumsquartier in the 7th arrondissement. Opened in 2001, it is one of the largest museum complexes in the world! You can choose to visit the Leopold Museum, where Austrian art is particularly prominent (you will find works by Gustav Klimt and Egon Schiele), or the MumokMuseum of Contemporary Art, with its surprising architecture (grey basalt), which, through its collection, traces various trends in modern and contemporary international art: Pop Art, Arte Povera, Viennese actionism, etc.

After the visit, we will stroll through this unique complex organized around the vast courtyard of the former imperial stables, and why not have a drink on the roof of theMumok, to see Vienna from above?

Then you can stroll through the pretty streets of the 7th arrondissement, in the small Biedermeyer district of Spittelberg.

Dinner in a restaurant in the city centre to taste, for example, Tafelspitz with Austrian wine.
Day 2 : The essentials

In the morning, breakfast in a Viennese café in the city centre: on the menu, coffee and delicious pastries. They are here called Mehlspeisen. Then visit Vienna on the Secession side (Art Nouveau): on the superb Naschmarkt market, with a view of the majolica house ofOtto Wagner. Go up Friedrichstrasse to see the Secession Pavilion, which contains Klimt's famous Beethoven Frieze. Then continue to Karlsplatz to see Otto Wagner's subway pavilions. Then visit the church of Saint-Charles, a baroque masterpiece. Lunch in a 4th or 1st floor restaurant, such as a café or brasserie. In the afternoon, departure for Schönbrunn, summer palace of the Habsburg dynasty, a kind of Austrian Versailles: large castle with vertiginous ceremonial rooms (furniture, marquetry, frescoes, imperial apartments). It was here that Sissi, François Joseph and their children spent their days. The estate also includes gardens of all splendour in which to stroll for the rest of the afternoon, if the weather is mild. Otherwise, the visit continues to Schönbrunn with the zoo, the royal greenhouses, or the butterfly greenhouse! Last dinner either at the Orangery of the castle, all to music, or in the city above the rooftops of the capital at the restaurant Do & Co, just in front of the cathedral... You can also rush into the outlying villages of Grinzing or Nussdorf to dine in a Heuriger, a wine tavern transformed into a restaurant with a good franquette. Vienna by night before climbing on the plane: 7th district (Burggasse) or in the 1st, Bermuda triangle. You can also spend an evening at the Opera House..

Day 3 : Relaxation at the Prater

Heading for the Belvedere, a museum housed in the splendid palace built for Prince Eugene of Savoy, which houses important works by Gustav Klimt. View of the city. After a little relaxation in the Belvedere gardens. Afternoon at the Prater: Vienna's largest park northeast of the capital was once the emperor's hunting reserve. It houses the famous Ferris wheel, from which, in addition to the sensations, you can enjoy a beautiful view of the Danube city. If you have booked a place in advance (and well in advance!), evening at the Opera House. Otherwise, you can always try to arrive an hour before the performance, hoping to find a seat or standing place at a low price! If you speak German, the Burgtheater is one of the best German-speaking scenes...

Day 4 : In the footsteps of the Habsburgs

Visit of the Hofburg Palace. Huge Habsburg winter residence from the Baroque period. It is entered via Michaeler Platz in the city centre and exits on the Ring Road. In addition to the royal apartments and the Sissi Museum dedicated to Empress Elizabeth, which completes them, the sublime National Library and the Imperial Treasures Room offer visits of great interest. Snack in a Würstelstand in the city centre (typical sausage stand) with beer. Afternoon free in the city centre: carriage ride, souvenir shopping on the Graben, the most chic street in the city, more detailed discovery of parks or alleys, especially around Judenplatz. Do not deprive yourself of coffee (at Café Central for example).

Day 5 : Art and shopping

In the morning, visit the Liechtenstein Museum in the 9th district. This private art collection is one of the largest in the world and contains works from more than four centuries of painting, and many masterpieces (Cranach, Rubens, Van Dyck...). The architecture of the palace itself is grandiose, with sumptuous baroque rooms. Lunch at the palace restaurant. Detour to Spittelau metro station to get a close look at the extravagant incinerator decorated by Hundertwasser. Return by air metro and get off on the Gürtel (Josefstädter Straße). You can have lunch on the go at a Würstelstand in the Belt (Gürtal), or in a small Beisl in the 8th arrondissement, Josefstadt. Then stroll through this charming district, with its superb Belle Époque facades, squares and pleasant alleys.

Afternoon shopping on Mariahilferstraße in the 7th district. Nearby, you can visit Haydn's house. Exit to the trendy district of the capital (7th and 8th) where most of the bars are located, or a little further on, on the Gürtel, where the night scene moves (Thaliastraße station).

Day 6 : Freud and the Jewish Quarter

In the morning, visit the museum of the father of psychoanalysis: Sigmund Freud. It is in fact the firm and the private apartment in which Freud worked and lived with his family until 1938, before going into exile in London. The visit continues with the Jewish Quarter, returning to the centre for a visit to the Jewish Museums and the Vienna Synagogue. The first one on Dorotheergasse presents very interesting temporary exhibitions, as well as collections of ancient ritual objects. On Judenplatz, there is the second Jewish Museum built on the ruins of the city's first synagogue (built in the 13th century), built in memory of the Jews who disappeared in the horror of war. The "Bermuda Triangle" is made up of all the streets that made up the very first Jewish quarter of the capital. Today, these small cobbled streets are teeming with bars, restaurants and clubs where the youth of the capital can be found. While descending on the Josef Kai, the animation is at its peak, we will spend a good evening there after a dinner in the neighborhood.

Day 7 : Last day in Vienna

In the morning, discover the work of the Austrian artist Hundertwasser, half ecological, half lawyer, who died in 2000, who left in the Viennese heritage buildings very representative of his brand: social housing (Hundertwasserhaus, 3rd), a museum designed by him and for him (KunstHaus) and a waste incineration plant in the city (Spittelau, 9th). Rendez-vous on the Danube Island (Donau Insel) in the afternoon: sporting activities (cycling, sailing, rollerblading...), relaxation, dinner and celebration on the Copa Cagrana complex which gathers a large number of bars and discos, almost with their feet in the water! It is also possible, more authentic, to head towards the wine villages and taste the delicious Riesling (white wine) of the Heuriger de Grinzing.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Une semaine pour découvrir Vienne

  • 7 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Couple
  • Famille
  • Amis
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Faune et flore
  • Aventure / Sports et loisirs
  • Détente / Bien être
  • Moyen

La capitale autrichienne peut très bien se visiter en un week-end mais le mieux reste tout de même de le faire en une semaine. Au vu des innombrables monuments et musées qui garnissent la ville, considérez cinq bonnes journées pour tout voir et prendre le temps de flâner dans les parcs et les rues viennoises. Et pourquoi pas finir par une escapade dans les alentours en Basse-Autriche ?

Galerie photos

Der Wiener Deewan. Blühendes Konfekt. Café-Restaurant Kahlenberg. Café-Restaurant Kahlenberg. Augarten Porzellan, le château Augarten où se situent la manufacture et le magasin. Blühendes Konfekt.

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Vienne
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Une semaine pour découvrir Vienne - 7 jours

Jour 1 : Vienne l'artistique

La première demi-journée vous permet de découvrir la vitrine architecturale de la capitale : le Ring. Les bâtiments qui s'enfilent le long du boulevard circulaire, parmi lesquels l'Opéra national, le palais de la Hofburg, les grands musées (Beaux-Arts et Histoire naturelle), le Parlement, la Grande Université, l'hôtel de ville, l'église votive, reflètent les époques baroque et historiciste. Puis, entrez dans le centre-ville, l'Innere Stadt (1er arrondissement) pour déambuler dans les rues les plus anciennes de la capitale. En son coeur, s'élève à plus de 300 m dans le ciel la cathédrale Saint-Étienne (Stefansdom), merveille de l'âge gothique. S'il n'est pas trop tard, visitez l'Albertina, le grand musée du centre qui concentre une collection d'art unique (impressionnistes, expressionnistes, dessins et gravures de la Renaissance...) récoltée par le prince Albert de Saxe-Teschen et son épouse Marie-Christine, fille de Marie-Thérèse. Le bâtiment vaut à lui seul le coup d'oeil.

Déjeuner dans un Beisl : restaurant populaire typique où le menu du jour, bon marché, se doit d'être accompagné par une bière ou un vin local.

Après avoir déjeuné, direction le Museumsquartier dans le 7e arrondissement. Ouvert en 2001, c'est l'un des plus grands complexes de musées au monde ! Au choix, visite du musée Léopold où l'art autrichien est particulièrement à l'honneur (vous y trouverez notamment des oeuvres signées Gustav Klimt et Egon Schiele), ou bien du Mumok, musée d'Art contemporain à l'architecture étonnante (basalte gris) qui retrace par sa collection différents courants de l'art moderne et contemporain international : Pop Art, Arte Povera, actionnisme viennois, etc.

Après la visite, on flânera dans ce complexe unique organisé autour de la vaste cour des anciennes écuries impériales, et pourquoi ne pas s'offrir un verre sur le toit du Mumok, pour voir Vienne d'en haut ?

On peut ensuite se promener dans les jolies rues du 7e arrondissement, dans le petit quartier Biedermeyer du Spittelberg.

Dîner dans un restaurant du centre-ville pour goûter par exemple au Tafelspitz accompagné de vin autrichien.
Jour 2 : Les incontournables

Le matin, petit déjeuner dans un café viennois du centre-ville : au menu, café et pâtisseries délicieuses. Elles sont ici appelées Mehlspeisen. Puis visite de Vienne côté Sécession (Art nouveau) : sur le superbe marché du Naschmarkt, avec vue sur la maison aux majoliques d'Otto Wagner. Remonter la Friedrichstrasse pour voir le Pavillon Sécession, qui contient la fameuse Frise de Beethoven de Klimt. Puis continuer jusqu'à la Karlsplatz pour voir les pavillons de métro d'Otto Wagner. Visiter ensuite l'église Saint-Charles, un chef-d'oeuvre baroque. Déjeuner dans un restaurant du 4e ou du 1er, type café ou brasserie. L'après-midi, départ pour Schönbrunn, palais d'été de la dynastie Habsbourg, sorte de Versailles autrichien : grand château aux salles d'apparat vertigineuses (meubles, marqueteries, fresques, appartements impériaux). C'est ici que Sissi, François Joseph et leurs enfants passaient les beaux jours. Le domaine comprend aussi des jardins de toute splendeur dans lesquels on se baladera pour le reste de l'après-midi, si le temps est clément. Sinon, la visite continue à Schönbrunn avec le zoo, les serres royales, ou la serre aux papillons ! Dernier dîner soit à l'Orangerie du château, tout en musique, soit en ville au-dessus des toits de la capitale au restaurant Do & Co, juste en face de la cathédrale... On peut aussi se précipiter dans les villages périphériques de Grinzing ou Nussdorf pour dîner dans un Heuriger, taverne à vin transformée en restaurant à la bonne franquette. Vienne by night avant de grimper dans l'avion : 7e arrondissement (Burggasse) ou dans le 1er, triangle des Bermudes. On peut aussi passer une soirée à l'Opéra...

Jour 3 : Détente au Prater

Cap sur le Belvédère, musée logé dans le splendide palais construit pour le prince Eugène de Savoie qui abrite d'importantes oeuvres de Gustav Klimt. Vue sur la ville. Après un peu de détente dans les jardins du Belvédère. Après-midi au Prater : le plus grand parc de Vienne situé au nord-est de la capitale était jadis la réserve de chasse de l'empereur. Il abrite la célébrissime Grande Roue, de laquelle l'on s'offre en plus des sensations une belle vue sur la cité danubienne. Si l'on a réservé à l'avance une place (et bien à l'avance !), soirée à l'Opéra. Sinon, on peut toujours tenter d'arriver une heure avant la représentation, en espérant trouver une place assise ou debout à bas prix ! Si l'on parle allemand, le Burgtheater est l'une des meilleures scènes germanophones...

Jour 4 : Sur les traces des Habsbourg

Visite du palais Hofburg. Immense résidence d'hiver des Habsbourg datant de l'époque baroque. On y entre par la Michaeler Platz au centre-ville pour en sortir sur le Ring. Outre les appartements royaux et le musée Sissi consacré à l'impératrice Elizabeth qui vient les compléter, la sublime Bibliothèque nationale et la salle des Trésors impériaux offrent des visites de grand intérêt. Snack dans un Würstelstand du centre-ville (stand à saucisses, typique) arrosé de bière. Après-midi libre dans le centre-ville : balade en calèche, achats de souvenirs sur le Graben, la rue la plus chic de la ville, découverte plus détaillée des parcs ou des ruelles, notamment autour de la Judenplatz. Ne pas se priver de café (au Café Central par exemple).

Jour 5 : Art et shopping

Le matin, visite du musée Liechtenstein dans le 9e arrondissement. Cette collection d'art privée est une des plus grandes au monde et contient des oeuvres de plus de quatre siècles de peinture, et bon nombre de chefs-d'oeuvre (Cranach, Rubens, Van Dyck...). L'architecture du palais est elle-même grandiose, avec de somptueuses salles baroques. Déjeuner au restaurant du palais. Détour jusqu'à la station de métro de Spittelau pour voir de près l'incinérateur extravagant décoré par Hundertwasser. Retour en métro aérien et descente sur le Gürtel (Josefstädter Straße). On peut déjeuner sur le pouce dans un Würstelstand de la Ceinture (Gürtal), ou dans un petit Beisl du 8e arrondissement, Josefstadt. Puis flânerie dans ce charmant quartier, avec ses superbes façades Belle Époque, ses squares et ruelles agréables.

Après-midi shopping sur la Mariahilferstraße dans le 7e arrondissement. A proximité, on peut visiter la maison de Haydn. Sortie dans le quartier branché de la capitale (7e et 8e) où se trouve la majorité des bars, ou un peu plus loin, sur le Gürtel, où se déplace la scène nocturne (station Thaliastraße).

Jour 6 : Freud et le quartier juif

Le matin, visite du musée du père de la psychanalyse : Sigmund Freud. Il s'agit en fait du cabinet et de l'appartement privé dans lequel a officié et vécu Freud avec sa famille jusqu'en 1938, avant de s'exiler à Londres. La visite se poursuit avec le quartier juif, en regagnant le centre pour la visite des Musées juifs et de la synagogue de Vienne. Le premier sur la Dorotheergasse présente des expositions temporaires fort intéressantes, ainsi que des collections d'objets rituels antiques. Sur la Judenplatz, se trouve le deuxième Musée juif construit sur les ruines de la première synagogue de la ville (construite au XIIIe siècle), érigé en mémoire des juifs disparus dans l'horreur de la guerre. Le " Triangle de Bermudes " se constitue de l'ensemble des rues qui composaient le tout premier quartier juif de la capitale. Aujourd'hui, ces petites rues pavées grouillent de bars, restaurants et clubs où se retrouve la jeunesse de la capitale. En descendant sur le Josef Kai, l'animation est à son comble, on y passera une bonne soirée après un dîner dans le quartier.

Jour 7 : Dernière journée viennoise

Le matin, découverte du travail de l'artiste autrichien Hundertwasser, mi-écolo, mi-provocateur, disparu en 2000, qui a laissé dans le patrimoine viennois des bâtiments très représentatifs de sa griffe : des logements sociaux (Hundertwasserhaus, 3e), un musée conçu par lui et pour lui (KunstHaus) et une usine d'incinération des déchets de la ville (Spittelau, 9e). Rendez-vous sur l'île du Danube (Donau Insel) l'après-midi : activités sportives (vélo, voile, roller...), détente, dîner et fête sur le complexe Copa Cagrana qui rassemble un grand nombre de bars et discothèques, les pieds presque dans l'eau ! On peut aussi, plus authentique, prendre la direction des villages viticoles et déguster le délicieux Riesling (vin blanc) des Heuriger de Grinzing.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur