Grand Tour of Georgia

  • 21 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Friends
  • Group
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Faune and flora
  • Adventure / Sports & Leisure
  • High

This includes a visit to the Georgian capital, an exploration of the axis from the Kartlie highlands to the Imerethian plain, southwestern Georgia, an incursion into the high mountains of the Greater Caucasus

The most important thing for the organization of such a stay is to think region by region, the practicality leading to base oneself at each step in a regional centre allowing to explore in an efficient way a certain number of sites. The proposed route makes it possible to work with these options as well as with modules, which can be taken as a whole or separately from each other.

Photo gallery

<p>Sulphur bath, or Bath No. 5, in the Abanotubani district, one of the main Attractions in Tbilisi!</p> <p>Sioni Cathedral is particularly touching and full of vibrant spirituality.</p> <p>View of Tbilisi.</p> <p>Mtskheta Cathedral in the th century remains one of the spiritual hearts of the country and one of the most important monuments of Georgian Christian architecture.</p> <p>Fortress of Gori.</p> <p>Majestic volcano.</p> <p>The man at the hat, on the banks of the Rioni, in Koutaïssi.</p> <p>Fish market in Gisenyi.</p> <p>View of the town of Batumi, bordering the Black Sea.</p> <p>Dance in the shadow of volcanoes.</p> <p>Lake Saramo.</p> <p>Route de Paravani.</p> <p>. station.</p> <p>Old part of Tbilisi.</p> Typical umbrella rainbow Rwanda. <p>Zebras.</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Tbilissi
  • Telavi
  • Alaverdi
  • Ikalto
  • Gourdjaani
  • Sighnaghi
  • David Garedja
  • Mtskheta
  • Samtavissi
  • Gori
  • Ouplistsikhe
  • Sourami
  • Bolnissi
  • Dmanissi
  • Bordjomi
  • Bakouriani
  • Akhaltsikhe
  • Vardzia
  • Koutaïssi
  • Guelati
  • Batoumi
  • Cap Vert - Mtsvane Konskhi
  • Ananouri
  • Stépantsminda Khazbégui
  • Ambrolaouri
  • Oni
  • Chovi
  • Ouchgouli
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Grand Tour of Georgia - 21 days

Day 1 : First step in Tbilisi

Stroll along with the Tbilissiens on the lively artery of the city, Roustavéli Avenue. Explore adjacent neighbourhoods and take a detour to Mount Mtatsminda and its Georgian pantheon. Taste the Georgian culinary traditions, enjoy khinkalis and drink wine in some doukani (traditional tavern).

Day 2 : Tbilisi, an astonishing city

Visit the very eastern old town, where the time seems to have stopped. it is a veritable maze of streets where indigenous, Russian and Persian architectures blend strangely. Visit its churches, Georgian and Armenian, its mosque, synagogue, fortress and botanical garden, its ornés balconies. Don't miss the beautiful sulfure bains and Alexandre Dumas, where Azeri masseurs will take care of you.

Day 3 : Between Soviet remains and oriental accents

Cross the bridge and visit the left bank of the Koura; discover the popular imperial architectural district of Aghmachenebeli Avenue, with its beautiful 19th century facades; then the station bazaar, Bazroba, a real city in the city, where Eastern life resurfaced at the end of the Soviet era. Cross the river again to stroll through the prestigious Soviet districts of Vera and Vaké, the most popular in the Tbilisi region. Backing against the hill, Vaké gives way to the forest, where the ethnographic museum is located, in which the traditional habitats of the different regions of Georgia are reconstructed. Climb up to Turtle Lake, a place of relaxation for the inhabitants, which gives a taste of the mountains.

Day 4 : Mtskheta, former Georgian capital

Leave the metropolis to take a taste of Georgia's landscapes in Mtskheta: a small town 15 km from Tbilisi, the former Georgian capital, it is the country's true spiritual centre. In a spectacular narrowing of the valley, the Monastery of the Cross (Djvari), at the end of the Greater Caucasus range, overlooks the city. It is from here that Saint Nino converted the royal family to Christianity and planted the first cross in Georgia: a vine cross. Below, Svetitskhovéli Cathedral is the jewel of Georgian architecture, with its bas-reliefs, frescos and icons. This is the religious heart of the country. If you have time, you will go to the monastery of Chiomrvimé. In Mtskheta, don't forget to eat lobio, a spicy red bean soup that would be the best in the country.

Day 5 : Excursion to the end of the world

Take another step in the cave adventure: get lost in David Garedja's semi-desert monasteries. Asian centre landscape on the border of Azerbaijan, medieval cave frescoes in the middle of the steppe, astonishing architectural complexes, horse herders: you will feel at the end of the world. And you will be at the easternmost point of the Christian world. To go, you will pass through the Soviet Institution town, istrian in the middle of nowhere, and its impressive central Stalinist avenue.

Day 6 : On Traces of the past

Excursion to Bolnissi, with its superb church which contains the oldest registration of Georgia, then to Dmanissi, a magnificent complex with church and ruins of medieval city, where were found the remains of the oldest European (1,8 million years).

Day 7 : Following in Stalin's footsteps

On the way to Gori, stop at Igoéti, at the beautiful church of Samtavissi. In Gori, visit the fortress, the old Catholic church and the Stalin Museum. Also visit the church of La Croix-de-Saint-Georges, perched on a rocky peak overlooking the city. Then go to the troglodytic city of Ouplistsikhé, before going down the Trialeti chain of the Lesser Caucasus, in a narrow, colourful valley, to the small church of Atenis Sioni, a replica of the Djvari church of Mtskheta, in a magnificent natural circus.

Day 8 : Heading for Western Georgia

Head towards Western Georgia, on a historical route. In Kartlie, visit the beautiful churches of the Koura Valley, Ruissi and Ourbnissi on the road. In Sourami, at the foot of the Likhi mountain range that separates eastern and western Georgia, visit the famous fortress and church. In the valley that descends to the plain, visit the convent of Oubissi. You arrive in Imertia, the ancient Colchis, home of civilization, the heart of Western Georgia. A green and cheerful region, it contrasts with the harsh arid plateaus of Kartlie. Stay in the green hills of Old Koutaïssi, the second largest city in the country, which, despite the poor state of its industrial districts, is not lacking in charm with its old centre dotted with relics of history, its green hills, and its pleasant habitat with its low houses and their subtropical gardens.

Day 9 : Spiritual environment

From Koutaïssi, go to the picturesque monastery of Motsameta perched on the meanders of a river and then to the monastic complex of Gelati, the cultural capital of the reign of David the builder, ancient academy where the king is buried. The place is an incomparable peace. Back to Koutaïssi, stroll down the streets on the edge of the Rioni and visit the romantic ruins of the Cathedral Bagrati, one of the three ecclesiastical pillars of Georgia (with Svétitskhovéli and Alaverdi), partly destroyed during Turkish invasions.

Day 10 : Splendid mountain road

Excursion to the Ratcha mountain range in the Greater Caucasus. Known for its wines, sweet and romantic landscapes and mineral water, the region is home to the magnificent Nikortsminda church, which contains 11th century frescoes. Stop on the way on the beautiful Chaori Lake. Continue the superb mountain route to Oni, which contains a curious synagogue, then continue to the old high altitude station of Chovi, which, lost in the greenery, offers superb views of the peaks. We can spend the night there - or in Oni.

Day 11 : Cap on Koutaïssa

Go down on Koutaïssi through the winding valley of Rioni. Stay in Koutaïssi or go directly to Batumi, through the beautiful Gourie area.

Day 12 : Discovery of the Georgian Riviera

From Koutaïssi, join Adjara, an autonomous republic with strong particularities (strong Muslim presence, a culture steeped in Turkish influences, long political isolation). Today it is the Georgian Riviera, with its beaches, palm trees, and an air of banana republic. Visit Batumi, the country's third largest city, but a real second capital, the only city ready to counterbalance Tbilisi in Georgia. Its mosque, its port, its Russian architecture, its hills of orange trees, palm trees, tea trees and giant trees give it a surrealist aspect. It is a lively and pleasant city, to be fully appreciated, especially in summer. It is the city in the region that has both the most sunshine and the most precipitation during the year.

Day 13 : On the shores of the Black Sea

Take an excursion to Sarpi, a town on the border with Turkey, in a creek, between the Black Sea and lush hills. Its beach is perhaps the most beautiful in Georgia, and you can see the first Turkish mosque there. On the way, visit the Roman fortress of Gonio. Back in Batoumi, visit the incredible flora of the Cape Verde Botanical Garden, three kilometres north of the city. In Batumi, eat a khatchapouri adjare, a cheese and egg fritter in the shape of a palm. And taste the local coffee and baklaoua (oriental cake), which are famous.

Day 14 : Mountainous landscapes

To reach Samtskhé-Djavakhétie from Batoumi, the shortest road crosses Upper Adjaria and the Goderdzi Pass. This mountain road is beautiful and is rapidly evolving from subtropical vegetation to arid highland landscape; but it is in poor condition. If you think you don't have the equipment, or if the weather is not bright, take a longer trip back to Koutaïssi, then to Sourami. Akhaltsikhe, a former Ottoman Pachalik, is surrounded by beautiful arid mountains. Its old town, Rabati, is rich in mixed history. Orthodox, Armenian, Catholic, Mosque, Mosque, Synagogue churches and its dilapidated state nevertheless suggest a sumptuous past. At the crossroads of cultures, with a large Armenian population, it is worth a visit. Charles Aznavour's family originated from it. Visit the beautiful monastery of Sapara in the surrounding area.

Day 15 : Visit of the splendid heritage of the region

From Akhaltsikhe, visit a high valley at the headwaters of the Koura, the ancient cave city of Queen Thamar, Vardzia, a 12th century pearl. Much larger than Ouplistsikhé (it had 50,000 inhabitants in the 12th century), it contains a cathedral painted in the rock. On the way down, stop at the Khervtissi fortress, perched on the river. Go down into the valley again to climb to the monastery of Sapara, which dominates the arid landscape of the region with its magnificent churches.

Day 16 : Thermal spa

Get off from Akhaltsikhé on Bordjomi; the landscape becomes greener, steppe hills give way to the black forest. Bordjomi was one of the most prestigious spas in the Russian empire and produced the famous Georgian mineral water. Its spa is to be visited. From Bordjomi, go to the green park forests or climb to the Alpine alpine station to admire the landscape from the top. In the evening, return to Tbilisi.

Day 17 : Tbilisi in depth

You can rest by exploring the city's urban life further. Take a look at the maze of streets in Sololaki and Mtatsminda. go to the Flea Market flea market, or explore the modern Sabourtalo district, its universities and institutes. An evening at the theatre, opera or, if the occasion arises, a spectacle of folk dance is strongly recommended.

Day 18 : Kakhetia

From Tbilisi, reach Kakkhetia in the east, the foothills of the Greater Caucasus and home to many traditions of which Georgia is proud (wine, songs). On the road, churches and fortresses are to be seen. Visit the charming little town of Sighnaghi. Take the Telavi road and, on the way, visit the curious two-barrel church, unique in the region, from Kvelatsminda to Gourdjaani. In Telavi, with its charming little alleys facing the Greater Caucasus, visit the palace of the last king of Georgia, Irakli II.

Day 19 : On the road to monasteries

From Telavi, visit the monasteries of Chouamta. Then visit the immense cathedral of Alaverdi, at the borders of the Kakhétie, the mountains of Touchétie, where the shepherds climb in summer. On the road, the Religious Academy of Ikalto. Do not forget to dive in the heart of the wine kakhétien and visit one of the many cellars... There are other churches and monasteries to visit in a small area, Grémi or Nékréssi. Go to Tbilisi in the evening.

Day 20 : Crossing the Great Caucasus

Take the Georgian Military Road; Stop at the fortified ecclesiastical complex of Ananouri; cross the cross from the Cross to Stepantsminda (Khazbégui) on the Térek. Walk at the foot of the Mont mountain to the chapel of the Holy Trinity. In the evening, eat local khinkalis, which are the best in the country. Finding accommodation in Stepantsminda is easy.

Day 21 : Return to Tbilisi

Before going down on Tbilisi, take a detour through the rugged Sno Valley, a deep and legendary Caucase goût.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Grand tour de Géorgie

  • 21 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Amis
  • Groupe
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Faune et flore
  • Aventure / Sports et loisirs
  • Élevé

Ce séjour inclut, une visite de la capitale géorgienne, l'exploration de l'axe du haut plateau de Kartlie à la plaine d'Iméréthie, le sud-ouest géorgien, une incursion dans les hautes montagnes du Grand Caucase.

 

Le plus important pour l'organisation d'un tel séjour est de penser région par région, le sens pratique amenant à se baser à chaque étape dans un centre régional permettant d'explorer de manière efficace un certain nombre de sites. Le parcours proposé fait que l'on peut fonctionner avec ces options comme avec des modules, qu'on peut prendre comme un tout ou séparément les uns des autres.

Galerie photos

Bains de soufre, ou Bain n°5, dans le quartier d'Abanotubani, une des grandes attractions de Tbilissi ! La cathédrale Sioni est particulièrement touchante et emplie d'une vibrante spiritualité. Panorama de Tbilissi depuis l'église de Sameba. Edifiée au XI<sup>e</sup> siècle, la cathédrale de Mtskheta demeure un des coeurs spirituels du pays et l'un des plus importants monuments de l'architecture chrétienne géorgienne. Steppe de Garedja. Forteresse de Gori. L'homme au chapeau, sur les rives de la Rioni, à Koutaïssi. Marché de poissons à Gisenyi. Vue sur la ville de Batoumi, qui borde la Mer Noire. Plage du Cap Vert Lac Saramo. Route de Paravani. Gare de Bordjomi. La rivière Mtkvari, à Tbilissi. Danse à l'ombre des volcans. <p>Eglise de Guerguéti.</p>

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • TBILISSI
  • TELAVI
  • ALAVERDI
  • IKALTO
  • GOURDJAANI
  • SIGHNAGHI
  • MTSKHETA
  • SAMTAVISSI
  • GORI
  • OUPLISTSIKHE
  • SOURAMI
  • BOLNISSI
  • DMANISSI
  • BORDJOMI
  • BAKOURIANI
  • AKHALTSIKHE
  • VARDZIA
  • KOUTAÏSSI
  • GUELATI
  • BATOUMI
  • ANANOURI
  • STÉPANTSMINDA KHAZBÉGUI
  • AMBROLAOURI
  • ONI
  • OUCHGOULI
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Grand tour de Géorgie - 21 jours

Jour 1 : Premier pas à Tbilissi

Flânez avec les Tbilissiens sur l'artère vivante de la ville, l'avenue Roustavéli. Explorez les quartiers adjacents et faites un détour au mont Mtatsminda et son panthéon géorgien. Goûtez aux traditions culinaires géorgiennes, allez déguster des khinkalis et boire du vin dans quelque doukani (taverne traditionnelle).

Jour 2 : Tbilissi, ville étonnante

Visitez la très orientale vieille ville, où le temps semble s'être arrêté ; c'est un véritable dédale de ruelles où architectures autochtone, russe et persane se mêlent curieusement. Visitez ses églises, géorgiennes et arméniennes, sa mosquée, sa synagogue, sa forteresse et son jardin botanique, ses balcons ornés. Ne manquez pas les magnifiques bains de sulfure qui ont émerveillé Pouchkine et Alexandre Dumas, où des masseurs azéris s'occuperont bien de vous.

Jour 3 : Entre vestiges soviétiques et accents orientales

Franchissez le pont et allez visiter la rive gauche de la Koura ; découvrez le quartier populaire d'architecture impériale de l'avenue Aghmachenebeli, avec ses belles façades XIXe ; puis le bazar de la gare, Bazroba, véritable ville dans la ville, où la vie à l'orientale a resurgi à la fin de l'ère soviétique. Retraversez le fleuve pour vous promener dans les quartiers de prestige soviétiques, Véra et Vaké, les plus prisés des Tbilissiens. Adossé à la colline, Vaké laisse place à la forêt, où se trouve le musée ethnographique dans lequel sont reconstitués les habitats traditionnels des différentes régions de Géorgie. Montez jusqu'au lac des Tortues, lieu de détente des habitants, qui donne un avant-goût des montagnes.

Jour 4 : Mtskhéta, ancienne capitale géorgienne

Quittez la métropole pour prendre un avant-goût des paysages géorgiens, à Mtskhéta : petite ville à 15 km de Tbilissi, ancienne capitale géorgienne, c'est le véritable centre spirituel du pays. Dans un spectaculaire rétrécissement de vallée, le monastère de la croix (Djvari), à l'extrémité de la chaîne du Grand Caucase, surplombe la ville. C'est d'ici que sainte Nino aurait converti la famille royale au christianisme et planté la première croix en Géorgie : une croix de vigne. En bas, la cathédrale de Svétitskhovéli est le joyau de l'architecture géorgienne, avec ses bas-reliefs, ses fresques et ses icônes. C'est ici le coeur religieux du pays. Si vous avez le temps, vous irez jusqu'au monastère de Chiomrvimé. A Mtskhéta, n'oubliez pas de manger du lobio, soupe épicée aux haricots rouges, qui serait la meilleure du pays.

Jour 5 : Excursion au bout du monde

Faites un pas de plus dans l'aventure troglodytique : allez vous perdre dans les monastères du semi-désert de David Garedja. Paysage centre asiatique à la frontière de l'Azerbaïdjan, fresques médiévales en grotte au milieu de la steppe, complexes architecturaux étonnants, bergers à cheval : vous aurez l'impression d'être au bout du monde. Et vous serez au point le plus oriental du monde chrétien. Pour y aller, vous passerez par la ville soviétique Roustavi, surgie au milieu de nulle part, et son impressionnante avenue centrale stalinienne.

Jour 6 : Sur les traces du passé

Excursion à Bolnissi, avec sa superbe église qui contient la plus ancienne inscription de Géorgie, puis à Dmanissi, un magnifique complexe avec église et ruines de ville médiévale, où furent trouvés les restes du plus ancien Européen (1,8 million d'années).

Jour 7 : Sur les pas de Staline

Sur la route de Gori, arrêtez-vous à Igoéti, à la belle église de Samtavissi. A Gori, visitez la forteresse, l'ancienne église catholique et le musée de Staline. Visitez aussi l'église de la Croix-de-Saint-Georges, perchée sur un piton rocheux qui domine la ville. Puis rendez-vous à la ville troglodytique d'Ouplistsikhé, avant de vous enfoncer dans la chaîne Trialeti du Petit Caucase, dans une étroite vallée colorée, jusqu'à la petite église d'Atenis Sioni, réplique de l'église Djvari de Mtskhéta, dans un cirque naturel magnifique.

Jour 8 : Cap sur la Géorgie occidentale

Prenez la direction de la Géorgie occidentale, sur un itinéraire historique. En Kartlie, visitez sur la route les superbes églises de la vallée de la Koura, Ruissi et Ourbnissi. A Sourami, au pied de la chaîne du Likhi qui sépare la Géorgie orientale et occidentale, visitez la célèbre forteresse et l'église. Dans la vallée qui descend sur la plaine, visitez le couvent d'Oubissi. Vous arrivez en Imérétie, l'ancienne Colchide, foyer de civilisation, coeur de la Géorgie occidentale. Région verte et riante, elle contraste avec les rudes plateaux arides de Kartlie. Logez dans les verdoyants quartiers des collines du vieux Koutaïssi, deuxième ville du pays, qui, malgré le piètre état de ses quartiers industriels, ne manque pas de charme avec son vieux centre ponctué de reliques de l'histoire, ses collines verdoyantes, et son habitat agréable avec ses maisons basses et leurs jardins subtropicaux.

Jour 9 : Environnement spirituel

Depuis Koutaïssi, rendez-vous au pittoresque monastère de Motsameta, perché sur les méandres d'une rivière, puis au complexe monastique de Gelati, capitale culturelle du règne de David le Bâtisseur, ancienne académie où le roi est enterré. L'endroit est d'une paix incomparable. De retour à Koutaïssi, promenez-vous dans les rues au bord du Rioni et visitez les ruines romantiques de la cathédrale Bagrati, l'un des trois piliers ecclésiastiques de Géorgie (avec Svétitskhovéli et Alaverdi), en partie détruite lors des invasions turques.

Jour 10 : Splendide route de montagne

Excursion dans la chaîne de montagnes de Ratcha, dans le Grand Caucase. Connue pour ses vins, ses paysages doux et romantiques et son eau minérale, la région abrite la magnifique église de Nikortsminda, contenant des fresques du XIe siècle. Arrêtez-vous en route sur le splendide lac de Chaori. Continuez la superbe route dans les montagnes jusqu'à Oni, qui contient une curieuse synagogue, puis poursuivez jusqu'à l'ancienne station d'altitude de Chovi, qui, perdue dans la verdure, offre de superbes vues sur les sommets. On pourra y passer la nuit - ou à Oni.

Jour 11 : Cap sur Koutaïssa

Redescendez sur Koutaïssi par la sinueuse vallée du Rioni. Restez à Koutaïssi ou poursuivez directement vers Batoumi, à travers la jolie région de Gourie.

Jour 12 : Découverte de la Côte d'Azur géorgienne

De Koutaïssi, rejoignez l'Adjarie, république autonome aux fortes particularités (forte présence musulmane, culture imprégnée d'influences turques, long isolement politique). Aujourd'hui c'est la Côte d'Azur géorgienne, avec ses plages, ses palmiers, et un air de république bananière. Visitez Batoumi, troisième ville du pays mais véritable seconde capitale, seule ville prête à contrebalancer Tbilissi en Géorgie. Sa mosquée, son port, son architecture russe, ses collines d'orangers, de palmiers, de théiers et d'arbres géants lui confèrent un aspect surréaliste. C'est une ville vivante et agréable, à apprécier pleinement, surtout en été. C'est la ville de la région qui a à la fois le plus de soleil et le plus de précipitations durant l'année.

Jour 13 : Sur les bords de la mer Noir

Faites une excursion à Sarpi, ville frontière avec la Turquie, dans une crique, entre mer Noire et collines luxuriantes. Sa plage est peut-être la plus belle de Géorgie, et on peut y apercevoir la première mosquée turque. Sur la route, visitez la forteresse romaine de Gonio. De retour à Batoumi, visitez la flore incroyable du jardin botanique du cap Vert, à trois kilomètres au nord de la ville. A Batoumi, mangez un khatchapouri adjare, un beignet au fromage et à l'oeuf en forme de palme. Et goûtez au café et au baklaoua (gâteau oriental) locaux, qui sont fameux.

Jour 14 : Paysages montagneux

Pour rejoindre la Samtskhé-Djavakhétie depuis Batoumi, la route la plus courte traverse la Haute-Adjarie et le col de Goderdzi. Cette route de montagne est magnifique et évolue rapidement d'une végétation subtropicale à un paysage de hauts plateaux arides ; mais elle est en mauvais état. Si vous pensez ne pas être équipé, ou si le temps n'est pas radieux, faites un plus long voyage en repassant par Koutaïssi, puis par Sourami. Akhaltsikhé, ancien Pachalik ottoman, est entourée de superbes montagnes arides. Sa vieille ville, Rabati, est riche d'histoire métissée. Eglises orthodoxes, arméniennes, catholiques, mosquées, synagogues et son état délabré laissent pourtant imaginer un passé somptueux. Au croisement des cultures, à forte population arménienne, elle vaut le détour. La famille de Charles Aznavour en est originaire. Visitez, aux alentours, le magnifique monastère de Sapara.

Jour 15 : Visite du spendide patrimoine de la région

Depuis Akhaltsikhé, allez visiter dans une haute vallée, aux sources de la Koura, l'ancienne ville troglodytique de la reine Thamar, Vardzia, perle du XIIe siècle. Beaucoup plus grande qu'Ouplistsikhé (elle avait 50 000 habitants au XIIe siècle), elle contient une cathédrale peinte dans la roche. En redescendant, arrêtez-vous à la forteresse de Khervtissi, perchée sur la rivière. Redescendez dans la vallée pour monter au monastère de Sapara, qui domine le paysage aride de la région avec ses magnifiques églises.

Jour 16 : Parc thermal de Bordjomi

Descendez d'Akhaltsikhé sur Bordjomi ; le paysage devient plus vert, les collines steppiques cèdent la place à la forêt noire. Bordjomi était une des villes thermales les plus prestigieuses de l'empire russe et produit la célèbre eau minérale géorgienne. Son parc thermal est à visiter. Depuis Bordjomi, allez randonner dans les vertes forêts du parc naturel ou montez jusqu'à la station alpine de Bakouriani pour admirer le paysage d'en haut. Le soir, rentrez sur Tbilissi.

Jour 17 : Tbilissi en profondeur

Vous pouvez vous reposer en explorant plus avant la vie urbaine de la capitale. Aventurez-vous dans le dédale de ruelles des quartiers de Sololaki et Mtatsminda ; allez au marché aux puces du Pont Sec, ou bien à la découverte du quartier moderne de Sabourtalo, ses universités, ses instituts. Une soirée au théâtre, à l'opéra ou, si l'occasion se présente, à un spectacle de danse folklorique, est fortement conseillée.

Jour 18 : La Kakhétie

Depuis Tbilissi, gagnez la Kakhétie à l'est, piémont du Grand Caucase et détentrice de bien des traditions dont la Géorgie est fière (vin, chants). Sur la route, églises et forteresses sont à voir. Allez visiter la charmante petite ville de Sighnaghi. Prenez la route de Telavi et, sur la route, visitez la curieuse église à deux clochers, unique dans la région, de Kvélatsminda à Gourdjaani. A Telavi, qui comporte de charmantes petites ruelles face au Grand Caucase, visitez le palais du dernier roi de Géorgie, Irakli II.

Jour 19 : Sur la route des monastères

Depuis Telavi, visitez les monastères de Chouamta. Puis allez visiter l'immense cathédrale d'Alaverdi, aux confins de la Kakhétie, des montagnes de Touchétie, où les bergers grimpent en été. Sur la route, l'Académie religieuse d'Ikalto. N'oubliez pas non plus de plonger au coeur du vin kakhétien et de visiter une des nombreuses caves... Il y a d'autres églises et monastères à visiter dans un petit périmètre, Grémi ou Nékréssi. Rentrez à Tbilissi le soir.

Jour 20 : Traversée du Grand Caucase

Prenez la Route militaire de Géorgie ; arrêtez-vous au complexe ecclésiastique fortifié d'Ananouri ; franchissez le col de la Croix jusqu'à Stepantsminda (Khazbégui) sur le Térek. Randonnez au pied du mont Kazbek jusqu'à la chapelle de la Sainte-Trinité. Le soir, mangez des khinkalis locaux, qui sont dits être les meilleurs du pays. Il est facile de trouver un logement à Stepantsminda.

Jour 21 : Retour vers Tbilissi

Avant de redescendre sur Tbilissi, faites un détour par la sombre et rude vallée de Sno, avant-goût du Caucase profond et légendaire.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur