One week in Beirut

  • 7 days
  • All seasons
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Family
  • Friends
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Free time
  • Medium

The first five days of the week are mainly devoted to the visit to Beirut. The following are an opportunity to discover other landscapes on the outskirts of the Lebanese capital.

Photo gallery

<p>Mosque Mohamed el-Amine</p> <p>Beirut Beach</p> <p>Traditional Lebanese dishes called &amp;quot;Mezzés&amp;quot;</p> <p>St. George's Cathedral of the Greek Orthodox</p> <p>The Grand Seraglio is the seat of the Government</p> Hamra district <p>Mezzés of traditional Lebanese dishes</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Beirut
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: One week in Beirut - 7 days

Day 1 : Downtown Beirut

The visit of Beirut can start with its city centre: tourist showcase, renovated old centre, new modern centre. He wears several hats alone. The walk in the centre is an opportunity to discover a special district in the capital. The streets are clean, the sidewalks new and wide, the security is omnipresent, and the windows elegant. The Martyrs' Square is dominated by the Al-Amine Mosque, which can be visited outside prayer times. Just next to the mosque is the Cathedral of St. George of the Maronites and its imposing bell tower, then on the right of the Roman baths dating from the 1st century. Just behind it, you will reach it place de l'Etoilewith its central clock, the Lebanese Parliament and the two churches of St. George of the Orthodox and St. Elijah. In the basement of the Orthodox church, the visit to the archaeological crypt is enriching. Still to the north, you will arrive at the foot of the Omari mosque built in an old cathedral, then at the entrance of the new Beirut Souks. This vast shopping centre, inaugurated in 2010, includes dozens of international franchises. After walking through the alleys of the Souks, you can continue your shopping in the pedestrian area of Foch-Allenby, also a highly sought-after address for local and global luxury. The Samir Kassir garden offers a shady stopover. To the north of this area, the Beirut Exhibition Center can be seen in the distance, which is located on land reclaimed from the sea near the BIEL exhibition hall. You can then walk along the downtown cornice, which is dominated by luxury residential buildings and hotels, and head towards Baie du Saint-Georges, now known as Zaitunay Bay. A pleasant place to have a drink and dinner on the terrace.

Day 2 : Walk on the seaside and Hamra district

It only takes one beautiful sunny morning to enjoy the cornice which stretches for several kilometres from Ain el-Mreissé to Ramlet el-Baïda. Renovated several times, the walk along the rocks of the coast is typical and very pleasant! Once you arrive in Manara, take a look far away at the very degraded pink building with its arcades, at the foot of the old black and white lighthouse. A stop at the Raouda café is a must. What a pleasure to drink your coffee by the water! If you feel like it, you can go swimming at Sporting, a private beach with an outdated 1950s look, so authentic. No more tanning, the small coast of Manara leads you to Raouché. You will have a fantastic view of the site of the Grotte aux Pigeons, two large limestone rocks in the middle of the water. Then the ledge continues towards the public beach of Ramlet el-Baïda.

After this long walk along the ledge, take advantage of the taxi service between Ramlet el-Baïda and Hamra to regain your strength. Ask to stay next to the Commodore or Coral Hamra hotel and then enjoy the terrace of the Younes café, our favourite in the neighbourhood. A stroll along Hamra Street allows you to discover one of Beirut's most lively districts and the most representative of the Lebanese mix. Intellectuals and artists liked to find their way around in the 1960s and 1970s. Some decrepit facades of office buildings (Strand, Eldorado, Piccadilly, Al-Hamra) remind us that Hamra was once a modern business centre. After a good Lebanese mezzé, go down to the campus of the American University of Beirut (AUB). Its archaeological museum is worth a look. Then take a walk through the campus aisles. Located on this site since 1871, AUB has several old buildings: College Hall dated from 1873, destroyed by a bomb, it was rebuilt identically; Assembly Hall from 1891; Post Hall from 1902. If you go out through the Medical Gate (the most easterly door on campus), you can admire the black glass facades of the very vintage Gefinor centre. If the weather permits, you can continue to Clemenceau, which has kept some splendid palaces: Joumblatt, Ladki and Daouk.

Day 3 : Discovery of the Zokak el-Blatt district

The Zokak el-Blatt district keeps the last architectural treasures of Beirut, i. e. specimens in danger of extinction. On the southern edge of the city centre, this area still has some beautiful palaces and old residences dating from the 19th and early 20th centuries. None of them can be visited, you have to be satisfied with a walk and admire only the facades and the exterior. But it is also an opportunity to discover a small district of the capital. From Zokak el-Blatt, you can follow Spears Street in the opposite direction, which also has some old buildings with beautiful volumes and facades with the famous arcades, including the Yamouth residence (known as Zico House, which hosts artistic activities). Before arriving in Hamra, you cannot miss the garden of Sanayeh, the largest in Beirut. Beirut comes very early to walk or play cards. Created in 1907 by the wali Khalil Pasha, it is a relaxing place. To finish the day, head for Verdun Street, the shopping temple in Ras Beirut. Several shopping malls are home to international franchises. Several restaurants and cafés are located there.

Day 4 : Gemmayzé and Monnot districts

The day should start with a visit to the Gemmayzé district. As pubs and restaurants are closed, it is during the morning that it is possible to discover this area bordering the city centre at its best. A walk along Gouraud Street offers the opportunity to admire some beautiful façades of old buildings and beautiful residences. Gouraud Street leads to the Mar Mikhael district, known to house the EDL (Electricité du Liban) building. The main road is then called the rue du Fleuve, garages see new art galleries and small restaurants arrive, the most famous of which is Tawlet, a highly appreciated organic product that offers a delicious buffet for lunch.

Back in Gemmayzé, go up the Saint-Nicolas staircase which leads to Sursock Street. It houses several 19th and 20th century palaces, as well as the new Sursock Museum, which is worth a visit. Then cross Avenue Charles Malek, the Saint-Nicolas garden with its vintage pool is welcome to take a break. Take Bustros Street, then Mar Mitr in the opposite direction to enjoy ice cream at Hanna Moussa's, one of the best glaciers in the city. Go up Mariam Geahchan Street to reach Sassine Square and the ABC shopping centre. From Place Sassine, you can go down Abdel Wahab el Inglizi Street to reach the Monnot district and the Sodeco crossroads. It is impossible to miss the facade of the Barakat building, a yellow building that has been very badly damaged following the war and which has just been completely renovated and which should soon house a museum on Beirut's history.

Day 5 : A day in the museums

What a pleasure to start the day with the National Museum, which houses an impressive collection of objects covering all periods of Lebanese history! Inaugurated in 1942, it was renovated after the civil war. This museum exhibits unique pieces such as bas-reliefs, mosaics and many sarcophagi. Further up the rue de Damas, in front of the French Embassy, do not miss the visit of the musée des minéraux, which is located in the grounds of the University of Saint-Joseph.

A small tour by taxi-service (LBP 2,000 per trip) to reach the Jisr el-Wati sector where the Beirut Art Center is located, an exhibition hall mainly oriented towards contemporary art. Again, a short taxi service trip to discover Borj Hammoud, an Armenian district on the edge of the Beirut river. This district is a city in itself.... It is very lively and offers the opportunity to discover good Armenian cuisine and to admire the know-how of Lebanese and Armenian jewellers.

If you have any time left, head for the heights of Beirut towards Beit Meri. 25 minutes from the capital, this village is best known for hosting the Al-Bustan festival in February, but it also has two remarkable and little-known historical sites: the chapel of the convent of Saint-Jean-Baptiste built in 1750 on the foundations of an ancient Roman temple and the ruins of a Romano-Byzantine village.

Day 6 : Archaeological remains and natural site

The day will be devoted to visiting tourist sites in the northern suburbs of Beirut. At the exit of the capital, along the northern highway just after the tunnel, are the stelae of Nahr el-Kelb. Since ancient times, many conquerors have carved in stone the story of their exploits. The stelae date back to Ramses II up to General Gouraud's French troops in 1920. A stele was added in 2000 for the liberation of southern Lebanon. Once at the top of the promontory, the view of the coast makes you forget the noise of the highway.

After Nahr el-Kelb, take the expressway on your right which goes up towards Faraya station. After a few kilometres you will find the Jeita caves, which are one of the most beautiful natural sites in Lebanon. Discovered in 1936, then in 1958, they consist of two galleries, one of which is crossed by an underground river that can be visited by small boat. The second gallery allows you to venture about 700 m underground. It's beautiful!

From Jeita, you can go down to Jounieh. This small coastal town is pleasant. Its historical heart is limited and can be visited quickly. By taking the cable car, it is possible to have a magnificent panorama. Located in front of Saint-Louis Hospital, the cable car takes you to Harissa Cathedral, which overlooks the bay. In the evening, it's beautiful!

Day 7 : Lazing around on the beach

After several days in traffic jams and walking to discover Beirut, why not use your last day in Lebanon to enjoy its sun and private beaches. There is no shortage of choice. In Beirut, you can relax at the Saint-Georges, the Sporting or the swimming pool of the Riviera hotel. For more change of scenery, it is necessary to leave Beirut towards the south to enjoy the beaches of Damour, Jiyé or Rmeilé. The complexes follow each other along the old shipping route. Each one offers quality services. Have a nice swim!

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Une semaine à Beyrouth

  • 7 jours
  • Toutes saisons
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Famille
  • Amis
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Farniente
  • Moyen

Les cinq premiers jours de la semaine sont principalement consacrés à la visite de Beyrouth. Les suivants sont l'occasion de découvrir d'autres paysages à la périphérie de la capitale libanaise.

Galerie photos

<p>Mosquée Mohamed el-Amine</p> <p>La plage de Beyrouth</p> <p>Plats traditionnels libanais appelés " title="

Plats traditionnels libanais appelés "Mezzés"

" /> <p>Cathédrale Saint-Georges des Grecs orthodoxes</p> <p>Le Grand Sérail est le siège du gouvernement</p> Quartier Hamra <p>Les mezzés des plats traditionnels libanais</p>

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Beyrouth
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Une semaine à Beyrouth - 7 jours

Jour 1 : Centre-ville de Beyrouth

La visite de Beyrouth peut commencer par son centre-ville : vitrine touristique, centre ancien rénové, nouveau centre moderne. Il porte à lui seul plusieurs casquettes. La balade dans le centre est l'occasion de découvrir un quartier à part dans la capitale. Les rues y sont propres, les trottoirs neufs et larges, la sécurité omniprésente, et les vitrines élégantes. La place des Martyrs est dominée par la mosquée Al-Amine, qui peut se visiter en dehors des horaires de prière. Juste à côté de la mosquée se trouve la cathédrale Saint-Georges des Maronites et son imposant campanile, puis sur la droite des thermes romains datant du Ier siècle. Juste derrière, vous atteindrez la place de l'Etoile avec son horloge centrale, le Parlement libanais et les deux églises Saint-Georges des Orthodoxes et Saint-Elie. Au sous-sol de l'église orthodoxe, la visite de la crypte archéologique est enrichissante. Toujours vers le nord, vous arriverez au pied de la mosquée Omari construite dans une ancienne cathédrale, puis à l'entrée des nouveaux Souks de Beyrouth. Ce vaste centre commercial, inauguré en 2010, regroupe des dizaines de franchises internationales. Après avoir arpenté les ruelles des Souks, vous pouvez continuer votre shopping dans le secteur piétonnier de Foch-Allenby, également une adresse très recherchée du luxe local et mondial. Le jardin Samir Kassir offre une halte ombragée. Au nord de ce secteur, on distingue au loin le Beirut Exhibition Center qui est situé sur des terres gagnées sur la mer à proximité de la salle d'exposition BIEL. Vous pouvez alors longer la corniche du centre-ville qui est dominée par des immeubles résidentiels de luxe et des hôtels et vous rendre vers la baie du Saint-Georges, désormais baptisée Zaitunay Bay. Un endroit agréable pour boire un verre et dîner en terrasse.

Jour 2 : Promenade sur le bord de mer et quartier de Hamra

Il suffit d'une belle matinée ensoleillée pour bien profiter de la corniche qui s'étire sur plusieurs kilomètres d'Ain el-Mreissé à Ramlet el-Baïda. Rénovée à plusieurs reprises, la promenade le long des rochers de la côte est typique et très agréable ! Une fois arrivé à Manara, jetez un coup d'oeil lointain à l'immeuble rose très dégradé avec ses arcades, au pied de l'ancien phare noir et blanc. Une halte au café Raouda s'impose. Quel plaisir de boire son café au bord de l'eau ! Si l'envie vous prend, vous pouvez aller vous baigner au Sporting, une plage privée au look désuet des années 1950, tellement authentique. Fini le bronzage, la petite côte de Manara vous mène à Raouché. Vous aurez une vue fantastique sur le site de la grotte aux Pigeons, deux gros rochers calcaires au milieu de l'eau. Puis la corniche continue en direction de la plage publique de Ramlet el-Baïda.

Après cette longue marche le long de la corniche, profitez du trajet en taxi-service entre Ramlet el-Baïda et Hamra pour reprendre des forces. Demandez à descendre à côté de l'hôtel Commodore ou Coral Hamra pour ensuite pouvoir profiter de la terrasse du café Younes, notre préféré du quartier. Une balade rue Hamra permet de découvrir l'un des quartiers les plus vivants de Beyrouth et le plus représentatif de la mixité libanaise. Les intellectuels et les artistes aimaient s'y retrouver dans les années 1960-1970. Certaines façades décrépites d'immeubles de bureaux (Strand, Eldorado, Piccadilly, Al-Hamra) nous rappellent que Hamra fut dans le temps un centre d'affaires moderne. Après un bon mezzé libanais, descendez au campus de l'Université américaine de Beyrouth (AUB). Son musée archéologique vaut le coup d'oeil. Puis promenez-vous dans les allées du campus. Implantée sur ce site depuis 1871, l'AUB compte plusieurs immeubles anciens : College Hall datait de 1873, détruit par une bombe, il a été reconstruit à l'identique ; Assembly Hall de 1891 ; Post Hall de 1902. Si vous sortez par la Medical Gate (la porte la plus à l'est du campus), vous pouvez admirer les façades vitrées noires du centre Gefinor, très vintage. Si le temps vous le permet, vous pouvez continuer vers Clemenceau qui a gardé quelques palais splendides : Joumblatt, Ladki et Daouk.

Jour 3 : Découverte du quartier de Zokak el-Blatt

Le quartier de Zokak el-Blatt garde les dernières richesses architecturales de Beyrouth, c'est-à-dire des spécimens en voie de disparition. A la limite sud du centre-ville, ce secteur compte encore quelques beaux palais et vieilles résidences datant du XIXe et du début du XXe siècle. Aucun ne se visite, il faut se contenter d'une balade et d'en admirer seulement les façades et l'extérieur. Mais c'est également l'occasion de découvrir un petit quartier de la capitale. De Zokak el-Blatt, vous pouvez suivre à contre-sens la rue Spears qui compte également quelques bâtiments anciens avec de beaux volumes et des façades avec les fameuses arcades dont la résidence Yamouth (connue sous le nom de Zico House qui accueille des activités artistiques). Avant d'arriver à Hamra, vous ne pouvez pas manquer le jardin de Sanayeh, le plus grand de Beyrouth. Les Beyrouthins y viennent très tôt pour marcher ou jouer aux cartes. Créé en 1907 par le wali Khalil Pacha, c'est un lieu reposant. Pour finir la journée, direction la rue Verdun, le temple du shopping à Ras Beyrouth. Plusieurs galeries marchandes abritent des franchises internationales. Plusieurs restaurants et cafés y sont implantés.

Jour 4 : Quartier de Gemmayzé et quartier Monnot

Il faut commencer la journée par la visite du quartier de Gemmayzé. Les pubs et les restaurants étant fermés, c'est au cours de la matinée qu'il est possible de découvrir à sa juste valeur ce secteur limitrophe du centre-ville. Une promenade à pied le long de la rue Gouraud offre l'occasion d'admirer quelques belles façades d'immeubles anciens et de belles résidences. La rue Gouraud conduit au quartier Mar Mikhael, connu pour abriter l'immeuble EDL (Electricité du Liban). L'axe principal s'appelle alors la rue du Fleuve, les garagistes voient arriver de nouvelles galeries d'art et de petits restaurants dont le plus célèbre est Tawlet, un bio très apprécié qui propose un délicieux buffet pour le déjeuner.

De retour à Gemmayzé, remontez l'escalier Saint-Nicolas qui mène à la rue Sursock. Elle abrite plusieurs palais datant des XIXe et XXe siècles, ainsi que le nouveau musée Sursock qui mérite le détour. Traversez ensuite l'avenue Charles Malek, le jardin Saint-Nicolas avec son bassin vintage est le bienvenu pour faire une pause. Prenez la rue Bustros, puis Mar Mitr à contre-sens pour déguster une glace chez Hanna Moussa, l'un des meilleurs glaciers de la ville. Montez la rue Mariam Geahchan pour rejoindre la place Sassine et le centre commercial ABC. De la place Sassine, vous pouvez redescendre la rue Abdel Wahab el Inglizi pour rejoindre le quartier Monnot et le carrefour Sodeco. Il est impossible de manquer la façade de l'immeuble Barakat, une construction jaune très dégradée suite à la guerre qui vient d'être entièrement rénovée et qui devrait prochainement accueillir un musée sur l'histoire de Beyrouth.

Jour 5 : Une journée dans les musées

Quel plaisir de commencer la journée par le Musée national qui abrite une collection impressionnante d'objets couvrant toutes les périodes de l'histoire du Liban ! Inauguré en 1942, il a été rénové après la guerre civile. Ce musée expose des pièces uniques comme des bas-reliefs, des mosaïques et de nombreux sarcophages. Plus haut sur la rue de Damas, en face de l'ambassade de France, ne manquez pas la visite du musée des minéraux, qui se trouve dans l'enceinte de l'Université Saint-Joseph.

Un petit tour en taxi-service (2 000 LL le trajet) pour rejoindre le secteur de Jisr el-Wati où se trouve le Beirut Art Center, une salle d'exposition principalement orientée vers l'art contemporain. A nouveau, un petit trajet en taxi-service pour découvrir Borj Hammoud, un quartier arménien à la limite du fleuve de Beyrouth. Ce quartier est une ville en soi... Il est très vivant et offre l'occasion de découvrir la bonne cuisine arménienne et d'admirer le savoir-faire des bijoutiers libanais et arméniens.

S'il vous reste du temps, direction les hauteurs de Beyrouth vers Beit Meri. A 25 minutes de la capitale, ce village est surtout connu pour accueillir en février le festival Al-Bustan, mais il compte également deux sites historiques remarquables et méconnus : la chapelle du couvent Saint-Jean-Baptiste construit en 1750 sur les bases d'un ancien temple romain et les ruines d'un village romano-byzantin.

Jour 6 : Vestiges archéologiques et site naturel

La journée sera consacrée à la visite des sites touristiques de la banlieue nord de Beyrouth. A la sortie de la capitale, le long de l'autoroute du nord juste après le tunnel, se trouvent les stèles de Nahr el-Kelb. Depuis l'Antiquité, de nombreux conquérants ont gravé dans la roche le récit de leurs exploits. Les stèles remontent à Ramsès II jusqu'aux troupes françaises du général Gouraud en 1920. Une stèle a été ajoutée en 2000 pour la libération du Sud-Liban. Une fois en haut du promontoire, la vue sur le littoral fait oublier le vacarme de l'autoroute.

Après Nahr el-Kelb, prenez la voie rapide sur votre droite qui monte vers la station Faraya. Après quelques kilomètres se trouvent les grottes de Jeita qui représentent l'un des plus beaux sites naturels du Liban. Découvertes en 1936, puis en 1958, elles se composent de deux galeries, l'une est parcourue par une rivière souterraine que l'on visite en petite barque. La seconde galerie permet de s'aventurer à environ 700 m sous terre. C'est superbe !

De Jeita, vous pouvez descendre vers Jounieh. Cette petite ville côtière est agréable. Son coeur historique est limité et se visite rapidement. En prenant le téléphérique, il est possible d'avoir un magnifique panorama. Situé devant l'hôpital Saint-Louis, le téléphérique vous conduit à la cathédrale de Harissa qui domine la baie. Le soir, c'est splendide !

Jour 7 : Farniente sur la plage

Après plusieurs jours dans les embouteillages et à marcher à la découverte de Beyrouth, pourquoi ne pas utiliser votre dernier jour au Liban pour profiter de son soleil et de ses plages privées. Le choix ne manque pas. A Beyrouth, on peut se prélasser au Saint-Georges, au Sporting ou à la piscine de l'hôtel Riviera. Pour plus de dépaysement, il faut sortir de Beyrouth vers le sud pour savourer les plages de Damour, Jiyé ou Rmeilé. Les complexes se suivent le long de l'ancienne route maritime. Chacun affiche des prestations de qualité. Bonne baignade !

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur