Saint-Martin and the surrounding islands

  • 4 days
  • All seasons
  • General public
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Faune and flora
  • Discovery
  • Adventure / Sports & Leisure
  • Free time
  • Relaxation / Well-being
  • High

It is interesting to escape for a day, or even more if your time is not limited. The islands surrounding Saint-Martin are not lacking in charm and they will contribute to enrich your trip.

You can organize your escapade alone (by contacting the aviation or shipping companies), but as the prices are almost identical, we advise you to go through an incoming or specialized agency that offers you a complete package according to your needs.

Photo gallery

Governor Port Zante, Basseterre, Nevis Island.

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Basseterre
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Saint-Martin and the surrounding islands - 4 days

Day 1 : Saint-Barthélemy

About 24 km southeast of Saint-Martin (13 nautical miles), internationally renowned, Saint-Barth has its customs, values and rules. Comfort, calm, safety, a certain nonchalance are part of an incomparable way of life to which the Saint-Barths are very attached. Saint-Barth has been able to attract elite from the very beginning of its tourist exploitation and become the true Saint-Trop of the Caribbean. The quality and top-of-the-range menu is the niche on which the inhabitants have focused. This is evidenced by the sumptuous hotels by the sea and the spacious villas, which stand on the coast of this small volcanic island whose surface area does not exceed 24 km². Take advantage of your stay in Saint-Martin to discover Saint-Barthélemy, if only for a day trip! The island is connected by plane or boat and all travel agencies offer day trips.

Day 2 : Anguilla

A flat, elongated island (eel-shaped), it is located north of Saint-Martin, about 15 km (8 nautical miles) away. Covering an area of 113 km², it is 26 km long and 5 km wide. Offering a different face from that of Saint-Martin in terms of both geography and social aspects, it contains few tourist structures that focus more on charm and quality.

Its beautiful large beaches are rarely visited. Independent since 1980 (parliamentary monarchy) and a member of the Commonwealth, it depends on the British Crown, represented on the spot by a governor. It can be reached by boat or by plane. The port of Blowing Point is connected to Sint Maarten and Sint Maarten several times a day by shuttles. The crossing takes about 20 minutes for US$15 per adult and US$10 for children aged 2 to 6 years plus a US$5 tax on the outward and return journey. Passport required.

Day 3 : Saba

About 41 km (22 nautical miles) southwest of St. Martin, it would take its name from the day it was discovered by Christopher Columbus (and as very often, opinions differ on this subject): Sabato, which simply means "Saturday". It is a small volcanic rock of 13 km² (about 1,150 inhabitants)

Its airstrip is one of the smallest in the world. It exists thanks to the tenacity of a pilot from Saint-Barthélemy who was certain, unlike the engineers, that landing was possible in Saba. The entire population mobilized and built with their hands the runway, which was completed in 1959. Saba does not have a beach. It consists of steep cliffs all around the island.

Access by plane via Saint-Martin or Saint-Eustache. It is also served by sea, with Fort Bay being connected several days a week to Saint-Martin by boat. The journey can take a little more than 1 hour and a half depending on the sea state. Count from 60 US$ depending on the shuttle. Taxis offer a guided tour of the island with photo stops. Hiking in the rainforest of Saba is absolutely essential (a donation of US$3 is required for trail maintenance).

Day 4 : Saint Kitts and Nevis

About 49 km (26 nautical miles) south of St. Barth, these two sister islands (261 km²), although different, offer lush vegetation, tropical forests and botanical gardens.

They have peaceful beaches for swimming and abound in many diving spots.

Their two historic capitals, Basseterre and Charlestown, were founded by the English and are among the most beautiful and best preserved cities in the Leeward Islands. Indeed, both islands have preserved dwellings on 18th century plantations and forts. Both share a great respect for the Caribbean heritage and place particular emphasis on the highest quality of hospitality. The year in Saint-Kitts is punctuated by music and festivals, beauty contests, carnivals and sporting events.

The local population is warmly welcomed, the hotel infrastructure is of high quality, the road network is adapted, the economy is based on tourism and the reception and well-being of its visitors.

It can be reached by plane via Saint-Martin or by boat. From 25 EC$ for a round trip by ferry.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Saint-Martin et les îles alentour

  • 4 jours
  • Toutes saisons
  • Tout public
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Faune et flore
  • Découverte
  • Aventure / Sports et loisirs
  • Farniente
  • Détente / Bien être
  • Élevé

Il est intéressant de s'évader le temps d'une journée, voire plus si votre temps n'est pas compté. Les îles qui entourent Saint-Martin ne manquent pas de charme et elles contribueront à enrichir votre voyage.

Vous pouvez organiser votre escapade seul (en prenant contact avec les compagnies d'aviation ou maritimes), mais les prix étant pratiquement identiques, nous vous conseillons de passer par une agence réceptive ou spécialisée qui vous offre un package complet selon vos besoins.

Galerie photos

Gouverneur Port Zante, Basseterre, île de Nevis.

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Basseterre
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Saint-Martin et les îles alentour - 4 jours

Jour 1 : Saint-Barthélemy

À environ 24 km au sud-est de Saint-Martin (13 milles marins), de renommée internationale, Saint-Barth a ses coutumes, ses valeurs, ses règles. Le confort, le calme, la sécurité, une certaine nonchalance font partie d'un art de vivre incomparable auquel les Saint-Barths sont très attachés. Saint-Barth a su attirer le gotha dès le début de son exploitation touristique et devenir la véritable Saint-Trop des Caraïbes. La carte de la qualité et du haut de gamme est le créneau sur lequel les habitants ont misé. En témoignent les somptueux hôtels en bord de mer et les spacieuses villas, qui s'égrènent sur la côte de cette petite île volcanique dont la superficie ne dépasse guère 24 km². Profitez de votre séjour à Saint-Martin pour partir à la découverte de Saint-Barthélemy, ne serait-ce que pour une escapade à la journée ! L'île est reliée par avion ou bateau et toutes les agences de voyages proposent l'excursion à la journée.

Jour 2 : Anguilla

Île plate et allongée (en forme d'anguille), elle est située au nord de Saint-Martin, à environ 15 km (8 milles marins). D'une superficie de 113 km², elle s'étale sur 26 km de longueur et 5 km de largeur. Offrant un autre visage que celui de Saint-Martin tant sur l'aspect géographique que sur l'aspect social, elle renferme peu de structures touristiques qui misent plus sur le charme et la qualité.

Ses belles grandes plages sont peu fréquentées. Indépendante depuis 1980 (monarchie parlementaire) et membre du Commonwealth, elle dépend de la Couronne britannique, représentée sur place par un gouverneur. On peut s'y rendre au choix par bateau ou par avion. Le port de Blowing Point est relié à Saint-Martin et Sint Maarten plusieurs fois par jour par des navettes. La traversée dure environ 20 min pour 15 US$ par adulte et 10 US$ pour les enfants de 2 à 6 ans plus une taxe de 5 US$ à l'aller et au retour. Passeport indispensable.

Jour 3 : Saba

À environ 41 km (22 milles marins) au sud-ouest de Saint-Martin, elle prendrait son nom du jour où elle fut découverte par Christophe Colomb (et comme très souvent, les avis diffèrent à ce sujet) : Sabato, qui signifie tout simplement " samedi ". C'est un petit caillou volcanique de 13 km² (environ 1 150 habitants)

Sa piste d'atterrissage est l'une des plus petites du monde. Elle existe grâce à la ténacité d'un pilote de Saint-Barthélemy qui était certain, contrairement aux ingénieurs, que l'atterrissage était possible à Saba. Toute la population s'est mobilisée et a construit de ses mains la piste qui a été achevée en 1959. Saba ne possède pas de plage. Elle est constituée de falaises abruptes tout autour de l'île.

Accès par avion via Saint-Martin ou Saint-Eustache. Elle est desservie également par la mer, Fort Bay étant reliée plusieurs jours par semaine à Saint-Martin par bateau. Le trajet peut durer un peu plus de 1 heure 30 selon l'état de la mer. Comptez à partir de 60 US$ selon la navette. Des taxis proposent une visite guidée de l'île avec des arrêts photos. La randonnée dans la forêt tropicale de Saba est à faire absolument (un don de 3 US$ est demandé pour l'entretien des sentiers).

Jour 4 : Saint-Kitts et Nevis

À environ 49 km (26 milles marins) au sud de Saint-Barth, ces deux îles soeurs (261 km²), mais toutefois différentes, offrent une végétation luxuriante, des forêts tropicales et des jardins botaniques.

Elles disposent de plages paisibles pour le plaisir d'une baignade et regorgent de nombreux points de plongée.

Leurs deux capitales historiques, Basseterre et Charlestown, ont été fondées par les Anglais et comptent parmi les villes les plus belles et les mieux conservées des îles Sous-le-Vent. En effet, les deux îles ont préservé des habitations sur des plantations et des forts du XVIIIe siècle. Toutes deux partagent un grand respect pour l'héritage caribéen et placent un accent particulier sur une hospitalité de la plus haute qualité. L'année à Saint-Kitts est rythmée de musique et de festivals, de concours de beauté, de carnavals et d'événements sportifs.

L'accueil de la population locale est chaleureux, les infrastructures hôtelières de qualité, le réseau routier adapté, une économie axée sur le tourisme et sur l'accueil et le bien-être de ses visiteurs.

On peut s'y rendre par avion via Saint-Martin ou par bateau. Comptez à partir de 25 EC$ pour un aller-retour selon le ferry.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur