Route of wine and large monasteries

  • 4 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Friends
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Faune and flora
  • Medium

En route to the major wine fields and the finest Orthodox monasteries in the country, located less than 70 kilometres from the capital. From the oldest factories to the most modern ones, you will have a complete overview of the country's wine sites, all very different, and the visits will be more valuable. On this list, you will miss the domains of Purcari and Castel Mimi, but if you have a day or even two more, don't hesitate and the tour will be complete!

Your route will also lead you to hostels or hostels for staying or simply lunch, which will allow you to share cooking and local wine this time, as well as Moldovan traditions.

Photo gallery

<p>Saint-Panteleimon Church.</p> <p>Archaeological site of Orhei Vechi.</p> Monastery of Capriana. <p>Wine establishment of Purcari.</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Capriana
  • Chişinău
  • Cricova
  • Cojusna
  • Mileștii Mici
  • Butuceni
  • Branești
  • Ivancea
  • Orhei
  • Orhei Vechi
  • Trebujeni
  • Curchi
  • Căușeni
  • Purcari
  • Puhoi
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Route of wine and large monasteries - 4 days

Day 1 : Modern winery and the most beautiful monasteries

At the exit of Chisinau, take the direction of Orhei for the visit of Château Varmuni where the wines produced come from vineyards in the center and south of the country. The term "castle" refers to the fields of production of our French wines and expresses the process of grape cultivation until bottling in one place, and that is what is done in the Domaine Varmuni domain. This company has a vibrant infrastructure of modernity, the complex is luxurious and the site is grandiose because it overlooks the beautiful hills of the so-called Moldavian Switzerland. (You will find the European grape varieties: cabernet-sauvignon, sauvignon, merlot, pinot noir, pinot gray, chardonnay, tramway, and Moldovan grape varieties such as feteasca.) Take your time, the visit and the tasting will last about 45 minutes, but the area is great and worth the attention before going to the excellent table of the restaurant Varches that you have booked in advance.

 

A 20-minute drive, you will arrive at the sublime monastery of Curchi, which passes to be the most beautiful orthodox convent in the country. Completely renovated, it is as new as new ones despite its centuries of history. The area is wide and once again, it has to take its time, it is a very nice walk between the different building bodies and the various baroque chapels richly decorated.

At the end of the afternoon, take the road to the village of Ivancea to stop at Katerine and its guest-house (which you will have booked in advance also). Total immersion in Moldovan culture, with the Ukrainian touches of Katerine's origins and most inhabitants of this village.

Day 2 : Wine field of Brăneşti

After a good breakfast, it's time to leave because 10 minutes from there awaits you the factory of Branesti. Very different from Varmuni, here you enter huge underground cellars to understand and follow the principles of manufacture and conservation of wine. Despite a less modern aspect, let us not be mistaken: Branesti is one of the country's most important wine mills, with its 180 names of white and red wines, 7 original collections which include wines such as cabernet, free pinot, merlot, sauvignon, feteasca, chardonnay, feteasca, chardonnay... 75 meters deep, Poiana Branesti.

For lunch, choose one of the hostels in the beautiful village of Trebujeni, the Vila Roz, for example, Liuba the owner offers traditional Moldovan dishes: soup, mamaliga, placinera and clatita.

After this good meal, a beautiful walk is required on the archeological site of Orhei Vechi. This outdoor complex takes place in a natural circus defined by the winding curves of the river Raut, a tributary of the Dniestr. Geto-daces, Roman, Turkish fortresses and cave monasteries make this visit one of the most striking.

In the evening, choose to elect to the Agro Pensiunea Butuceni: this agribusiness pension, located in the beautiful picturesque village of Butuceni, welcomes you in the pure style and tradition of Moldavia. The whole is a real complex. It is tastefully designed and consists of several houses. It is at the corner of the burst of the chimney of the beautiful and large dining room that you will see the famous placina in your eyes... This warm pension provides high quality local accommodation, two beautiful indoor and outdoor swimming pools and a spa. In spite of all these new features, you will feel at home, an excellent resting stop.

Day 3 : The prestigious Cricova, the sublime Capriana monastery

You're well rested, so get to Cricova, 50 minutes by car. A prestige of the Republic of Moldova, the wines presented here are logés in underground limestone galleries over 60 kilometres in length. Cricova is to say a city under ground, and you will appreciate its extent by browsing the avenues with the prestigious names Cabernet, Feteasca, Pinot, Aligoté... In the silence of the cellars, the bottles are ageing at an ideal temperature between 12 and 14 degrees (plan to cover you, it is cold even in summer). Cricova is the only company that produces sparkling wine, in the pure French champagne tradition, Cricova champagne, raw or half-crude (very good). In large rooms you will enjoy all the wines from this factory, often accompanied by a small snack. (You will stay about 1 hour on the site.)

For lunch, don't hesitate to take the road for 45 minutes because a huge museum restaurant is unavoidable, La Badis.

Perhaps you want a little nap, but you still don't know what the Monastère Monastery is, which you are only a 15 minute drive away. In the picturesque forest of Codru populated by centuries-old trees, the other fabulous monastery of Moldova has its origins dating back to the th century. Under the reign of Stefan cel Mare, originally wooden, the church of the Assumption of the Virgin is rebuilt in stone in the th century. Later, the site acquired two other beautiful churches with that of Saint-Georghe in 1840 and Saint-Nicolae in 1903. At that time, the monastery contained the largest library of religious works in the territory. Closed and devastated during the Soviet period, it reopened in 1989 as a symbol of the survival of the people and the Moldovan nation.

If you are still an attack, on the return to Chisinau, make a small stop at the castle Cojusna, other wine area. Here, each wine has its history and the cellar itself is a place of memory. Also taste its cognac.

Choose to return for the night in Chisinau.

Day 4 : Domains Mileştii Mici and Asconi

You will necessarily be tempted by the visit to Milestii Mici, the largest cellar in the world (if it is!). The calcareous galleries are at a depth of between 45 and 80 m, over a distance of about 200 km. Spectacular! The wines preserved here come from Moldovan production sites over a period between 1968 and 1991. The spirit of the years is omnipresent in this huge underground city, which houses the Golden Collection and its 2 million bottles. A prestigious collection that is discovered by car. Moldovan brands such as Pinot, Traminer, Muscat, Riesling, Feteasca, Codru, Negru de Purcari and Trandafirul Moldovei are represented. Many times rewarded for its collection, Milestii Mici is an indispensable treasure.

Take a seat during the tasting because another factory is waiting for you in the afternoon.

Arrive until the village of Puhoi (40 minutes) and before the visit, eat the Asconi wine field. Small traditional cellar but modern with its picturesque architecture. They are 500 hectares of vineyards of different varieties, including new varieties to be discovered with the malbec grapes, saperavi, muscat rose and glwill. These grapes are used to create small collections or to be mixed to others, thus enriching the range of wines offered.

Return to Chisinau at the end of the day, the cheeks certainly a little red of all these beverages tasted throughout your journey.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Route des vins et grands monastères

  • 4 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Amis
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Faune et flore
  • Moyen

En route pour les grands domaines vinicoles et les plus beaux monastères orthodoxes du pays, situés à moins de 70 kilomètres au maximum de la capitale. Des plus anciennes fabriques aux plus modernes, vous aurez un aperçu complet des sites vinicoles du pays, tous très différents, et les visites n'en seront que plus appréciables. À cette liste, il manquera les domaines de Purcari et de Castel Mimi, mais si vous avez une journée, voire deux de plus, n'hésitez surtout pas et le tour sera complet !

Votre route vous conduira aussi aux portes d'auberges ou de pensions agrotouristiques pour y séjourner ou simplement déjeuner, ce qui vous permettra de partager la cuisine et le vin local cette fois-ci, ainsi que les traditions moldaves.

Galerie photos

Église Saint-Panteleimon. Site archéologique d'Orhei Vechi. Monastère de Capriana. Etablissement viticole de Purcari.

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Capriana
  • Chişinău
  • Cricova
  • Cojusna
  • Mileștii Mici
  • Butuceni
  • Branești
  • Ivancea
  • Orhei
  • Orhei Vechi
  • Trebujeni
  • Curchi
  • Căușeni
  • Purcari
  • Puhoi
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Route des vins et grands monastères - 4 jours

Jour 1 : Domaine vinicole moderne et le plus beau des monastères

A la sortie de Chisinau, prenez la direction d'Orhei pour la visite de Château Vartely où les vins produits sont issus de vignes présentes dans le centre et dans le sud du pays. Le terme de " château " fait référence aux domaines de production de nos vins français et exprime le processus de la culture du raisin jusqu'à la mise en bouteille en un même lieu, et c'est bien ce qui se fait au domaine de Château Vartely. Cette entreprise s'est dotée d'une infrastructure rutilante de modernité, le complexe est luxueux et le site est grandiose car il surplombe les belles collines de ce qu'on nomme la " Suisse moldave ". (Vous y trouverez les cépages européens : cabernet-sauvignon, sauvignon, merlot, pinot noir, pinot gris, chardonnay, traminer, et les cépages moldaves comme le feteasca.) Prenez votre temps, la visite et la dégustation dureront 45 minutes environ, mais le domaine est grand et vaut la peine qu'on s'y attarde avant de passer à l'excellente table du restaurant Vartely que vous aurez réservé à l'avance.

 

À 20 minutes de voiture, vous arriverez au sublime monastère de Curchi qui passe pour être le plus beau couvent orthodoxe du pays. Totalement rénové, il est comme flambant neuf malgré ses siècles d'histoire. Le domaine est vaste et là encore, il faut prendre son temps, c'est une très belle promenade entre les différents corps de bâtiment et les différentes chapelles baroques richement décorées.

En fin d'après-midi, prenez la route vers le village d'Ivancea pour vous arrêter chez Katerine et sa guest-house (que vous aurez réservée à l'avance également). Immersion totale dans la culture moldave, avec les touches ukrainiennes des origines de Katerine et de la plupart des habitants de ce village, d'ailleurs.

Jour 2 : Domaine vinicole de Brăneşti

Après un bon petit déjeuner, c'est le moment de repartir car à 10 minutes de là vous attend la fabrique de Branesti. Très différente de Vartely, ici vous entrez dans d'immenses caves souterraines pour comprendre et suivre les principes de fabrication et de conservation du vin. Malgré un aspect moins moderne, ne vous y trompez pas : Branesti est une des plus importantes fabriques de vin du pays, avec ses 180 dénominations de vins blancs et rouges, 7 collections originales qui incluent les vins comme le cabernet, le pinot franc, le merlot, le sauvignon, le feteasca, le chardonnay... Profitez-en pour goûter l'eau naturelle prélevée à plus de 75 mètres de profondeur, la Poiana Branesti.

Pour le déjeuner, choisissez une des auberges du beau village de Trebujeni, la Vila Roz par exemple, Liuba la propriétaire propose des plats traditionnels moldaves : soupes, mamaliga, placinta et clatita.

Après ce bon repas, une belle promenade s'impose sur le site archéologique d'Orhei Vechi. Ce complexe en plein air prend place dans un cirque naturel défini par les courbes sinueuses du fleuve Raut, un affluent du Dniestr. Sites géto-daces, romains, forteresses turques et monastères rupestres font de cette visite certainement une des plus marquantes.

En soirée, choisissez d'élire domicile à l'Agro Pensiunea Butuceni : cette pension agrotouristique, située dans le très beau village pittoresque de Butuceni vous accueille dans le pur style et tradition moldaves. L'ensemble est un véritable complexe. Conçu avec goût, il est constitué de plusieurs maisons. C'est au coin de l'âtre de la cheminée de la belle et grande salle de restaurant, que vous verrez dorer sous vos yeux la fameuse placinta... Cette chaleureuse pension, assure un hébergement local de grande qualité, possède deux belles piscines, intérieures et extérieure, ainsi qu'un spa. Malgré toutes ces nouveautés, vous vous sentirez comme chez vous, halte récupératrice par excellence.

Jour 3 : La prestigieuse Cricova, le sublime monastère de Capriana

Vous êtes bien reposé, alors embarquez-vous pour Cricova, à 50 minutes de voiture. Prestige de la République de Moldavie, les vins présentés ici sont logés en enfilade dans des galeries souterraines de calcaire sur plus de 60 kilomètres de longueur. Cricova est pour ainsi dire une ville sous terre, et vous en apprécierez l'étendue en parcourant les avenues aux noms prestigieux de Cabernet, Feteasca, Pinot, Aligoté... Dans le silence des caves, les bouteilles vieillissent à une température idéale entre 12 et 14 degrés (prévoyez de vous couvrir, il fait froid même en été). Cricova est la seule société qui produit un vin pétillant, dans la pure tradition champenoise française, le champagne Cricova, brut ou demi-brut (très bon). Vous dégusterez dans de grandes salles somptueuses tous les crus issus de cette fabrique, souvent accompagnés d'un petit encas. (Vous resterez environ 1 heure sur le site.)

Pour le déjeuner, n'hésitez pas à reprendre la route pour 45 minutes car un immense restaurant musée est incontournable, La Badis.

Peut-être que vous aurez envie d'une petite sieste, mais vous ignorez encore ce que vous réserve le monastère de Capriana, dont vous êtes à seulement 15 minutes de route. Dans la forêt pittoresque du Codru peuplée d'arbres séculaires se dresse l'autre fabuleux monastère de Moldavie dont les origines remontent au XVe siècle. Sous le règne de Stefan cel Mare, à l'origine en bois, l'église de l'Assomption de la Vierge est reconstruite en pierre au XVIe siècle. Plus tard, le site se dote de deux autres belles églises avec celle de Saint-Georghe en 1840 et Saint-Nicolae en 1903. A l'époque, le monastère renfermait la plus grande bibliothèque d'ouvrages religieux du territoire. Fermé et dévasté pendant la période soviétique, il a rouvert en 1989 en devenant le symbole de la survie du peuple et de la nation moldave.

Si vous êtes encore d'attaque, sur le retour vers Chisinau, faites une petite halte au château Cojusna, autre domaine vinicole. Ici, chaque vin a son histoire et la cave elle-même est un lieu de mémoire. Goûtez aussi son cognac.

Choisissez de revenir pour la nuit à Chisinau.

Jour 4 : Domaines Mileştii Mici et Asconi

Vous serez forcément tentés par la visite à Milestii Mici, la plus grande cave du monde (si, si !). Les galeries calcaires se situent à une profondeur comprise entre 45 et 80 m, sur une distance de 200 km environ. Spectaculaire ! Les vins conservés ici proviennent des sites de productions moldaves sur une période comprise entre 1968 et 1991. L'esprit des années est omniprésent dans cette immense cité souterraine, qui abrite la Golden Collection et ses 2 millions de bouteilles. Une collection prestigieuse qui se découvre en voiture. Les vins de marques moldaves tels que Pinot, Traminer, Muscat, Riesling, Feteasca, Codru, Negru de Purcari et Trandafirul Moldovei y sont représentés. Plusieurs fois récompensé pour sa collection, Milestii Mici est un trésor incontournable.

Ménagez-vous pendant la dégustation car une autre fabrique vous attend dans l'après-midi.

Arrivez jusqu'au village de Puhoi (40 minutes) et avant la visite, déjeunez au domaine vinicole d'Asconi. Petite cave traditionnelle mais moderne avec son architecture pittoresque. Ce sont 500 hectares de vignes de différents cépages, dont de nouvelles variétés à découvrir avec le raisin malbec, saperavi, rosier muscat et glera. Ces raisins sont utilisés pour créer des petites collections ou destinés à être mélangés à d'autres, enrichissant ainsi la gamme des vins proposés.

Retour à Chisinau en fin de journée, les joues certainement un peu rouges de tous ces breuvages goûtés tout au long de votre périple.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur