The Grand tour of Switzerland in 12 days

  • 12 days
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Couple
  • Family
  • Friends
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Faune and flora
  • Discovery
  • Adventure / Sports & Leisure
  • Relaxation / Well-being
  • High

Of course, visit Switzerland in 12 days is well-ambitious and you will spend a lot of time on trains. But they are very comfortable and will pass through magical landscapes. Moreover, nothing prevents you from taking this route as a base but staying in every place longer, and also visiting points of interest located between the main cities indicated.

Photo gallery

Vue de Lausanne. Flowery banks of Montreux. <p>Sainte-Pierre-et-Paul Church, the cathedral, the old town, Kornhausbrücke.</p> <p>Interlaken.</p> <p>. above Interlaken.</p> <p>Zurich Zoo.</p> <p>Chinese garden.</p> <p>.</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Bern
  • Interlaken
  • Brienz
  • Lucerne
  • Zürich
  • Geneva
  • Lausanne
  • Lavaux
  • Saint-Saphorin
  • Chexbres
  • Vevey
  • Montreux
  • Fribourg
  • Travers
  • Ascona
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: The Grand tour of Switzerland in 12 days - 12 days

Day 1 : Geneva

Known for being "the smallest metropolis of the world" or "the city of peace", Geneva is an international city. Start the visit by a stroll along the lake - with its famous waterjet - then in the alleys of the old town by stopping in front of St. Peter's Cathedral and the Reformers' Wall. Enjoy the international charm of the city by visiting the United Nations headquarters (Palais des Nations) and enjoy its Latin temperament by discovering a renowned gastronomy and wines.

Day 2 : Lausanne

Take a train from Geneva to Lausanne (from 30 to 45 minutes). In the morning, visit the medieval city of Lausanne, its cathedral and its steep alleys, especially on Saturdays when a lively market is held there. After having lunch in the center, two possibilities: Art lovers will be able to climb the heights of Lausanne to visit the Hermitage Foundation, which always offers very beautiful temporary exhibitions, while sportsmen and women traveling with family can descend on the docks of Ouchy and visit the Olympic Museum. In the evening, exit in one of the connected areas of Flon.
Alternatively, get off at the port of Ouchy and embark on a boat from the CGN (General Navigation Company) for a cruise on the lake to Chillon. Visit the castle, then take the boat (or bus VMCV 1) to Vevey. After a lunch in Vevey, take the vines to Chexbres, very beautiful village. Balade through the vineyards of Lavaux, to Saint-Saphorin (30 minutes), or to Cully (2 hours). Then take a SBB train to Lausanne/Geneva from either of these villages.

Day 3 : Montreux

Visit of Montreux, the "Pearl of the Riviera", especially during the Jazz Festival in July (but book a hotel in advance!). On foot or by bike (in loan to Lausanne and Vevey), follow the promenade along the lake to the castle of Chillon. In the evening, take a train for Fribourg (the journey lasts 1 hour 10) and spend the evening in a lively bar.

Day 4 : Fribourg Berne

One of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe and the busiest in Switzerland thanks to its many students. In the early afternoon, take a train (about 25 minutes) for Bern (World Heritage of UNESCO) and its 6 km of arcades that allow you to visit it easily even in rainy times!

Day 5 : Interlaken Interlaken

Early in the morning, take a train for Interlaken (about 1 hour), located between Lake Thun and Lake Brienz. The city does not have much interest in itself, but it is an excellent starting point for hiking or excursions, in particular towards the Jungfrau, Europe's highest railway station (3 454 m), from which we measure the impressive silhouette of the large Aletsch glacier.

Day 6 : Towards Ascona

Leave Interlaken for Ascona, a long journey of about 4 hours.

Day 7 : Relaxation in Ascona

Known as the pearl of Lake Maggiore, Ascona is an invitation to return to Ticino, to explore the other villages bordering the lake. Enjoy fine Italian cuisine or simply sunbathe on a boat...

Day 8 : Directorate Grisons

Still a long journey by train 5 hours 30 but for an unavoidable destination: Grisons.

Day 9 : Saint Moritz St. Moritz

Relax in the charming resort but with the family atmosphere of Saint Moritz, with winter skiing or summer hiking, especially around the lake of St. Moritz (1 hour).

Day 10 : Appenzel

Spend 4 hours on average from St-Moritz. Small town south of Lake Constance and customs still very present. Admire the picturesque facades of the houses. In the evening, continue the journey to Zurich (1 hour 40).

Day 11 : Zurich

Walk in the streets of the old town and on the shores of the lake, not forgetting a shopping point in the chic Bahnhofstrasse. Visit the Museum of Fine Arts: the Kunsthaus. In the evening, take a train for Lucerne (4 hours 30).

Day 12 : Lucerne

In the morning, visit the old town of Lucerne (and cruise on Lake of the Four Cantons if you have time). Then visit Basel (1 hour 10 from Lucerne). Stroll through the picturesque streets of this city of culture and history, placed on the banks of the Rhine. Admire the city hall, and the cathedral known to house Erasme's grave.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Le grand tour de la Suisse en 12 jours

  • 12 jours
  • Printemps
  • Eté
  • Couple
  • Famille
  • Amis
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Faune et flore
  • Découverte
  • Aventure / Sports et loisirs
  • Détente / Bien être
  • Élevé

Bien sûr, visiter la Suisse en 12 jours est bien ambitieux et vous passerez beaucoup de temps dans les trains. Mais ces derniers sont très confortables et vous traverserez des paysages magiques. Par ailleurs, rien ne vous empêche de prendre ce circuit comme base mais en séjournant dans chaque endroit plus longtemps, et en visitant également les points d'intérêt situés entre les principales villes indiquées.

Galerie photos

<p>La chambre des témoins, MICR</p> Vue de Lausanne. Les quais fleuris de Montreux. Église Saints-Pierre-et-Paul, la cathédrale, la vieille ville, Kornhausbrücke. Le train à crémaillère de Jungfraujoch. <p>Zoo de Zurich.</p> <p>Jardin chinois.</p> <p>Landesmuseum.</p>

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Berne
  • Interlaken
  • Brienz
  • Lucerne
  • Zürich
  • Genève
  • Lausanne
  • Lavaux
  • Saint-Saphorin
  • Chexbres
  • Vevey
  • Montreux
  • Fribourg
  • Travers
  • Ascona
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Le grand tour de la Suisse en 12 jours - 12 jours

Jour 1 : Genève

Connue pour être " la plus petite métropole du monde " ou encore " la ville de la paix ", Genève est une cité internationale. Commencez la visite par une balade au bord du lac - avec son célèbre jet d'eau - puis dans les ruelles de la vieille ville en vous arrêtant notamment devant la cathédrale Saint-Pierre et le Mur des Réformateurs. Humez le charme international de la ville en visitant le siège de l'ONU (Palais des Nations) et bénéficiez de son tempérament latin en découvrant une gastronomie et des vins renommés.

Jour 2 : Lausanne

Prenez un train de Genève pour Lausanne (de 30 à 45 minutes). Le matin, visite de la cité médiévale de Lausanne, sa cathédrale et ses ruelles escarpées, notamment le samedi quand s'y tient un marché animé. Après avoir déjeuné dans le centre, deux possibilités : les amateurs d'art pourront monter sur les hauteurs de Lausanne pour visiter la Fondation de l'Hermitage, qui propose toujours de très belles expositions temporaires, tandis que les sportifs ou ceux qui voyagent en famille pourront descendre sur les quais d'Ouchy et visiter le Musée olympique. Le soir, sortie dans l'un des endroits branchés du Flon.
Autre possibilité, descendez au port d'Ouchy et embarquez-vous à bord d'un bateau de la CGN (Compagnie générale de navigation) pour une croisière sur le lac jusqu'à Chillon. Visitez le château, puis reprenez le bateau (ou le bus VMCV 1) jusqu'à Vevey. Après un déjeuner à Vevey, prenez le train des vignes jusqu'à Chexbres, très joli village. Balade à travers les vignobles de Lavaux, soit vers Saint-Saphorin (30 minutes), soit vers Cully (2 heures). Prenez ensuite un train CFF pour Lausanne/Genève depuis l'un ou l'autre de ces villages.

Jour 3 : Montreux

Visite de Montreux, la " perle de la Riviera ", surtout à l'occasion du Festival de jazz en juillet (mais réservez un hôtel longtemps à l'avance !). À pied ou à vélo (en prêt à Lausanne et Vevey), suivez la promenade qui longe le lac jusqu'au château de Chillon. Le soir, prenez un train pour Fribourg (le trajet dure 1 heure 10) et passez la soirée dans un bar animé.

Jour 4 : Fribourg - Berne

L'une des plus belles villes médiévales d'Europe et des plus animées de Suisse grâce à ses nombreux étudiants. En début d'après-midi, prenez un train (environ 25 minutes) pour Berne (patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO) et ses 6 km d'arcades qui permettent de la visiter aisément même par temps de pluie !

Jour 5 : Interlaken

Tôt le matin, prenez un train pour Interlaken (environ 1 heure), située entre le lac de Thoune et le lac de Brienz. La ville n'a pas beaucoup d'intérêt en soi, mais constitue un excellent point de départ de randonnée ou d'excursion, notamment vers la Jungfraujoch, la plus haute gare ferroviaire d'Europe (3 454 m), d'où l'on mesure l'imposante silhouette du grand glacier d'Aletsch.

Jour 6 : Vers Ascona

Quittez Interlaken pour Ascona, un long voyage de 4 heures 10 environ.

Jour 7 : Détente à Ascona

Surnommée la perle du lac Majeur, Ascona est une invitation à revenir dans le Tessin, pour explorer les autres villages qui bordent le lac. Savourez une cuisine italienne raffinée ou, tout simplement, bronzez sur un bateau à pédalier...

Jour 8 : Direction les Grisons

Encore un long trajet en train de 5 heures 30 mais pour une destination incontournable : les Grisons.

Jour 9 : Saint-Moritz

Détendez-vous au sein de la station huppée mais à l'ambiance néanmoins familiale de Saint-Moritz, avec au choix ski l'hiver ou randonnée l'été, notamment autour du lac de Saint-Moritz (1 heure).

Jour 10 : Appenzel

Prévoir 4 heures de train en moyenne depuis St-Moritz. Petite ville au sud du lac de Constance et aux coutumes encore très présentes. Admirez les façades pittoresques des maisons. Le soir, poursuivez le voyage jusqu'à Zurich (1 heure 40).

Jour 11 : Zurich

Baladez-vous dans les ruelles de la vieille ville et sur les rives du lac, sans oublier une parenthèse shopping dans la très chic Bahnhofstrasse. Visitez le Musée des Beaux-Arts : le Kunsthaus. Le soir, prenez un train pour Lucerne (4 heures 30).

Jour 12 : Lucerne

Le matin, visite de la vieille ville de Lucerne (et croisière sur le lac des Quatre-Cantons si vous avez le temps). Puis rendez-vous à Bâle (1 heure 10 depuis Lucerne). Promenez-vous dans les ruelles pittoresques de cette ville de culture et d'histoire, posée sur les bords du Rhin. Admirez l'hôtel de ville, et la cathédrale connue pour abriter la tombe d'Érasme.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur