Vientiane and Luang Prabang

  • 7 days
  • Spring
  • Autumn
  • Winter
  • General public
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Low

In any season, it will be a good idea to stop in Laos, even for a short period of time such as a week. This period will not be so short because it will allow you to discover the two main cities of the country: Vientiane and Luang Prabang. Another positive point: in these cities you will find infrastructures that will allow you to stay with your family, even with young children.

Photo gallery

<p>Vat Vat.</p> Rice plantation. Monks beginners. Wat Xieng Thong, the monastery of the golden city. <p>Vat Ho Pra Bang.</p> <p>Patuxai, the triumphal arch in Vientiane.</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Vientiane
  • Luang Prabang
  • Muang Sing
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Vientiane and Luang Prabang - 7 days

Day 1 : Vientiane

Rest and discovery of the capital. Bike ride through the city for a first glimpse; visit the Vat That Luang past the Patuxai (Arc de Triomphe); typical meal in one of the city's downtown restaurants.

Day 2 : Vientiane

Tour to the Morning Market, the Talat Sao, to familiarize yourself with the crafts and textiles of Phaeng Mai or Khang, the atmosphere of the city. Taste the candies and noodle soup (pho). In the afternoon, visit Vat Si Saket, the oldest temple in Vientiane, and the Vat Ho Phra Keo museum (just opposite). Admire the sunsets at the Suntara. For dinner, go to one of the gargotes on the Fa Ngum Pier.

Day 3 : Vientiane

Excursion to Xieng Khuan Buddha Park, outside the city. In the afternoon, take a tour of the National Museum to learn a little more about the history of Laos and the revolution. Book a time to go to the centre of COPE: essential to understand the extent of the bombing during the secret war. Night bus to Luang Prabang or flight early the next morning.

Day 4 : Luang Prabang

Visit of the Royal Palace which houses the national museum of this city classified as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Then the very old Vat Xieng Thong (one of the most beautiful temples in Laos) whose architecture is typical of the region... For sunset, we will climb Mount Phousi to have a superb panoramic view.

Day 5 : Luang Prabang

At dawn, around 5:30 am, attend (discreetly!) the monks' offering ceremony in the central sector of the city, then go on an excursion to the Pak Ou caves by boat and possibly to the surrounding craft villages (Ban Phanom, among others). On the way back, from 6pm, take a tour of the night craft market located in the main artery. Dinner in one of the small restaurants on the banks of the Mekong

Day 6 : The surroundings of Luang Prabang

Trek in the surroundings with in particular the discovery of the Kuang Si waterfalls, picnic at lunchtime and swimming (go there early in the morning), return in the middle of the afternoon. In the evening, dinner in one of the city's restaurants.

Day 7 : Return to Vientiane

Shopping day. If you still have an evening off, take a look at the night market on the banks of the Mekong River from 6pm (in front of the Vat Chan). Dinner in a gourmet restaurant

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Vientiane et Luang Prabang

  • 7 jours
  • Printemps
  • Automne
  • Hiver
  • Tout public
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Faible

En toute saison, il fera bon de s'arrêter au Laos, même pour une courte période comme une semaine. Cette période ne saura d'ailleurs pas si courte car elle vous permettra de découvrir les deux principales villes du pays : Vientiane et Luang Prabang. Autre point positif : dans ces villes vous trouverez des infrastructures qui vous permettront de loger en famille, même avec des enfants en bas-âge.

Galerie photos

<p>Vat Aham.</p> Rizière. Moines novices. Vat Xieng Thong, le monastère de la ville dorée. <p>Vat Ho Pra Bang.</p> <p>Patuxai, l'arc de triomphe de Vientiane.</p>

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Vientiane
  • Luang Prabang
  • Muang Sing
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Vientiane et Luang Prabang - 7 jours

Jour 1 : Vientiane

Repos et découverte de la capitale. Balade à vélo dans la ville pour avoir un premier aperçu ; visite du Vat That Luang en passant devant le Patuxai (Arc de Triomphe) ; repas typique dans l'un des restaurants du centre-ville.

Jour 2 : Vientiane

Tour au marché du Matin, le Talat Sao, pour se familiariser avec l'artisanat et avec les textiles de Phaeng Mai ou de Khang, l'ambiance de la ville. Goûter aux friandises et à la soupe de nouilles (pho). L'après-midi, visite du Vat Si Saket, le plus ancien temple de Vientiane, et du musée du Vat Ho Phra Keo (juste en face). Admirer les couchers de soleil au Suntara. Pour le dîner, rendez-vous dans l'une des gargotes installées sur le Quai Fa Ngum.

Jour 3 : Vientiane

Excursion jusqu'au Buddha Park de Xieng Khuan, à l'extérieur de la ville. L'après-midi, faire un tour au musée national pour en apprendre un peu plus sur l'histoire du Laos et la révolution. Réserver un moment pour aller au centre de la COPE : incontournable pour comprendre l'ampleur des bombardements pendant la guerre secrète. Bus de nuit pour Luang Prabang ou vol tôt le lendemain matin.

Jour 4 : Luang Prabang

Visite du Palais Royal qui abrite le musée national de cette cité classée au patrimoine mondial de l'Unesco. Puis du très ancien Vat Xieng Thong (l'un des plus beaux temples du Laos) dont l'architecture est typique de la région... Pour le coucher de soleil, on grimpera le Mont Phousi pour avoir une superbe vue panoramique.

Jour 5 : Luang Prabang

A l'aube, vers 5h30, assister (discrètement !) à la cérémonie d'offrandes aux moines dans le secteur central de la ville, puis partir en excursion jusqu'aux grottes de Pak Ou en bateau et éventuellement dans les villages d'artisans des alentours (Ban Phanom, entre autres). Au retour, à partir de 18h, faire un tour au marché artisanal nocturne installé dans l'artère principale. Dîner dans un des petits restaurants au bord du Mékong

Jour 6 : Les environs de Luang Prabang

Trek dans les environs avec notamment la découverte des cascades de Kuang Si, pique-nique le midi et baignade (s'y rendre tôt le matin), retour en milieu d'après-midi. Le soir, dîner dans l'un des restaurants de la ville.

Jour 7 : Retour à Vientiane

Journée shopping, si on a encore une soirée de libre, faire un tour au marché nocturne qui se tient au bord du Mékong à partir de 18h (en face du Vat Chan). Dîner dans un restaurant gastronomique.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur