Between villages and ethnic minorities: 15 days in northern Laos

  • 14 days
  • Spring
  • Autumn
  • Winter
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Friends
  • Group
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Low

A visit to northern Laos is an opportunity to discover remote areas where the minorities meet and immerse themselves in authentic Laos. And why not majestically through China or.

Photo gallery

<p>Vat Vat.</p> Rice plantation. Monks beginners. Wat Xieng Thong, the monastery of the golden city. <p>Vat Ho Pra Bang.</p> <p>Patuxai, the triumphal arch in Vientiane.</p> Jarres plains. <p>One of the caves of the Lao Lao movement.</p> River views Nam Ou near the village to Nong Khiaw. <p>Dance in the shadow of volcanoes.</p> <p>Majestic volcano.</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Vientiane
  • Ban Na
  • Luang Prabang
  • Nong Khiaw
  • Muang Sing
  • Xieng Kok
  • Sam Neua
  • Vieng Xai
  • Ponsavanh
  • Muang Khoun
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Between villages and ethnic minorities: 15 days in northern Laos - 14 days

Day 1 : Vientiane

Rest and discovery of the capital. Bike ride through the city for a first glimpse; visit the Vat That Luang past the Patuxai (Arc de Triomphe); typical meal in one of the city's downtown restaurants.

Day 2 : Vientiane

Tour to the Morning Market, the Talat Sao, to familiarize yourself with the crafts and textiles of Phaeng Mai or Khang, the atmosphere of the city. Taste the candies and noodle soup (pho). In the afternoon, visit Vat Si Saket, the oldest temple in Vientiane, and the Vat Ho Phra Keo museum (just opposite). Admire the sunsets at the Suntara. For dinner, go to one of the gargotes on the Fa Ngum Pier.

Day 3 : Vientiane

Excursion to Xieng Khuan Buddha Park, outside the city. In the afternoon, take a tour of the National Museum to learn a little more about the history of Laos and the revolution. Book a time to go to the centre of COPE: essential to understand the extent of the bombing during the secret war. Night bus to Luang Prabang or flight early the next morning.

Day 4 : Luang Prabang

Visit of the Royal Palace which houses the national museum of this city classified as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Then the very old Vat Xieng Thong (one of the most beautiful temples in Laos) whose architecture is typical of the region... For sunset, we will climb Mount Phousi to have a superb panoramic view.

Day 5 : Luang Prabang

At dawn, around 5:30 am, attend (discreetly!) the monks' offering ceremony in the central sector of the city, then go on an excursion to the Pak Ou caves by boat and possibly to the surrounding craft villages (Ban Phanom, among others). On the way back, from 6pm, take a tour of the night craft market located in the main artery. Dinner in one of the small restaurants on the banks of the Mekong River.

Day 6 : Luang Prabang and its surroundings

Trek to discover the Kuang Si waterfalls, with picnic at lunchtime and swimming (go there early in the morning), return in the middle of the afternoon. In the evening, dinner in one of the city's restaurants.

Day 7 : Return to Vientiane

Shopping day, if you still have an evening of free, take a tour to the night market which stands on the edge of the Mekong from 18 h (opposite the Vat Vat). Dinner in a gourmet restaurant.

Day 8 : Phonsavan

Arrival in Phonsavan (by bus), capital of Xieng Khouang province. From there, we will explore the Plaine des Jarres (allow a good half-day); visit organized by the tourist office or a local guide. While crossing the different sites, visit the ancient capital now called Muang Khoun and admire its remains.

Day 9 : Sam Neua

Sam Neua by bus or songtheo (collective taxi); in this case, stop on the way to discover the megalithic site of Suan Hin (archaeological park). Night to Sam Neua.

Day 10 : Vieng Xai

Direction Vieng Xai in songtheo (45 minutes) to visit the caves of the Pathet Lao, a historic site of resistance of the party during the war of Indochina.

Day 11 : Surrounding Vieng Xai

Rent a bike to travel around Vieng Xai, visit villages of ethnic minorities, admire the landscapes... Return to Sam Neua at the end of the day (careful not to miss the last songtheo). Night to Sam Neua.

Day 12 : En route to Nong Khiaw

Day trip to Nong Khiaw, peaceful village on the edge of the country. Accommodation in summary bungalow, immersion in local life.

Day 13 : Back to Luang Prabang

Walk on the river by canoe to return Luang Prabang, with a stopover in Muang Ngoi Neua (1 hour boat by Nong Khiaw). To take the journey to Luang Prabang in the day, you must count between 6 and 9 hours of navigation.

Day 14 : Last day in Luang Prabang

Navigation or day in Luang Prabang (if arrival the day before). If so, relax in the city: massages and Red Cross sauna, last shopping. (Night bus for Vientiane if you leave there, count 10 hours of travel).

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Entre villages et minorités ethniques : 15 jours dans le nord du Laos

  • 14 jours
  • Printemps
  • Automne
  • Hiver
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Amis
  • Groupe
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Faible

Une visite au nord du Laos est l'occasion de découvrir des régions reculées où côtoyer les minorités et s'immerger dans un Laos authentique. Et pourquoi pas en voguant au fil de la Nam Ou.


Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Vientiane
  • Ban Na
  • Luang Prabang
  • Nong Khiaw
  • Muang Sing
  • Xieng Kok
  • Sam Neua
  • Vieng Xai
  • Ponsavanh
  • Muang Khoun
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Entre villages et minorités ethniques : 15 jours dans le nord du Laos - 14 jours

Jour 1 : Vientiane

Repos et découverte de la capitale. Balade à vélo dans la ville pour avoir un premier aperçu ; visite du Vat That Luang en passant devant le Patuxai (Arc de Triomphe) ; repas typique dans l'un des restaurants du centre-ville.

Jour 2 : Vientiane

Tour au marché du Matin, le Talat Sao, pour se familiariser avec l'artisanat et avec les textiles de Phaeng Mai ou de Khang, l'ambiance de la ville. Goûter aux friandises et à la soupe de nouilles (pho). L'après-midi, visite du Vat Si Saket, le plus ancien temple de Vientiane, et du musée du Vat Ho Phra Keo (juste en face). Admirer les couchers de soleil au Suntara. Pour le dîner, rendez-vous dans l'une des gargotes installées sur le Quai Fa Ngum.

Jour 3 : Vientiane

Excursion jusqu'au Buddha Park de Xieng Khuan, à l'extérieur de la ville. L'après-midi, faire un tour au musée national pour en apprendre un peu plus sur l'histoire du Laos et la révolution. Réserver un moment pour aller au centre de la COPE : incontournable pour comprendre l'ampleur des bombardements pendant la guerre secrète. Bus de nuit pour Luang Prabang ou vol tôt le lendemain matin.

Jour 4 : Luang Prabang

Visite du Palais Royal qui abrite le musée national de cette cité classée au patrimoine mondial de l'Unesco. Puis du très ancien Vat Xieng Thong (l'un des plus beaux temples du Laos) dont l'architecture est typique de la région... Pour le coucher de soleil, on grimpera le Mont Phousi pour avoir une superbe vue panoramique.

Jour 5 : Luang Prabang

À l'aube, vers 5h30, assister (discrètement !) à la cérémonie d'offrandes aux moines dans le secteur central de la ville, puis partir en excursion jusqu'aux grottes de Pak Ou en bateau et éventuellement dans les villages d'artisans des alentours (Ban Phanom, entre autres). Au retour, à partir de 18h, faire un tour au marché artisanal nocturne installé dans l'artère principale. Dîner dans un des petits restaurants au bord du Mékong.

Jour 6 : Luang Prabang et ses environs

Trek pour partir à la découverte des cascades de Kuang Si, avec pique-nique le midi et baignade (s'y rendre tôt le matin), retour en milieu d'après-midi. Le soir, dîner dans l'un des restaurants de la ville.

Jour 7 : Retour à Vientiane

Journée shopping, si on a encore une soirée de libre, faire un tour au marché nocturne qui se tient au bord du Mékong à partir de 18h (en face du Vat Chan). Dîner dans un restaurant gastronomique.

Jour 8 : Phonsavan

Arrivée à Phonsavan (en bus), capitale de la province de Xieng Khouang. De là, on ira explorer la plaine des Jarres (compter une bonne demi-journée) ; visite organisée par l'office de tourisme ou un guide local. En traversant les différents sites, visitez l'ancienne capitale maintenant appelée Muang Khoun et admirez-en ses vestiges.

Jour 9 : Sam Neua

Direction Sam Neua en bus ou en songtheo (taxi collectif) ; dans ce cas précis, s'arrêter éventuellement en chemin pour découvrir le site mégalithique de Suan Hin (parc archéologique). Nuit à Sam Neua.

Jour 10 : Vieng Xai

Direction Vieng Xai en songtheo (45 minutes) pour visiter les grottes du Pathet Lao, lieu historique de la résistance du parti pendant la guerre d'Indochine.

Jour 11 : Les environs de Vieng Xai

Louer une moto pour sillonner les environs de Vieng Xai, visiter des villages de minorités ethniques, admirer les paysages... Retour sur Sam Neua en fin de journée (attention à ne pas louper le dernier songtheo). Nuit à Sam Neua.

Jour 12 : En route vers Nong Khiaw

Voyage de jour jusqu'à Nong Khiaw, paisible village au bord de la Nam Ou. Hébergement en bungalow sommaire, immersion dans la vie locale.

Jour 13 : Retour vers Luang Prabang

Balade sur la rivière en pirogue pour regagner Luang Prabang, avec une escale à Muang Ngoi Neua (à 1 heure de bateau de Nong Khiaw). Pour effectuer le trajet jusqu'à Luang Prabang dans la journée, il faut compter entre 6 et 9 heures de navigation.

Jour 14 : Dernier jour à Luang Prabang

Navigation ou journée à Luang Prabang (si arrivée la veille). Si c'est le cas, détente dans la ville : massages et sauna de la Croix Rouge, dernières emplettes. (Bus de nuit pour Vientiane si on repart de là, compter 10 heures de trajet).

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur