Bombay for a weekend

  • 2 days
  • Spring
  • Autumn
  • Winter
  • General public
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Low

The large city of the south of the island, of course, welcomes many travellers. Moreover, it is regarded by many as one of the main gateways of the sub-continent. It is very easily accessible to travellers around the world, the adventurous and homebodies.

Photo gallery

<p>Statue of Halahala Lokeshwara at the Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya (formerly Prince of Wales Museum).</p> <p>India door.</p>

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Mumbai
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Bombay for a weekend - 2 days

Day 1 : Bombay, The Gateway of India

Once you are relieved of your luggage, take a taxi and go directly to the Gateway Of India. This building, emblematic of the city, was built as a triumphal arch to commemorate the visit of King George V and Queen Mary. Ironically, when the Raj ended in 1947, this colonial symbol also became the exit gate of the last British army regiment. Go back and enter the very famous Taj Mahal Hotel. Inside, shops, tea rooms, restaurants and a bookstore selling postcards. Go back to Shivaji Maharaj Marg, towards the Regal Cinema. Opposite, the Café Royal, the Mondegar or the Leopold Café for a beer or fruit juice break. The neighborhood is full of all kinds of shops. On your left, Colaba Causeway. This street is linked to the physical history of Mumbai. It was built by the British to connect the island of Colaba to Bombay. It's time for the lunch break, you are spoiled for choice.

Then, go back to Kala Ghoda to the National Gallery of Modern Art on Madame Cama Road. This gallery regularly exhibits contemporary art exhibitions, many paintings and some sculptures. Continue on the same street to the David Sassoon library. Enter and take a tour in this Venetian gothic style building that was completed in 1870. Turn left, on Fuller Road and follow Karmaveer Bhaurao Patil Marg. Opposite, the Oval Maidan and the cricket players, and on your right, the beautiful Rajabai Clock Tower, the University of Mumbai and Hight Court. Walk straight ahead, turn right, you're on the edge of the Flora Fountain. Going back to Nariman Road, Horniman Circle and Jimmy Boy Café, ideal for a new break. Turn left, take SA Brelvi Road, then Sir Pherozeshah Metha Road, you arrive at the Bombay Store. This store is an Ali Baba cave full of original gifts-souvenirs to bring in your luggage. On the facade of a building opposite, if you raise your head and look carefully, you will find a billboard with a small dog and a gramophone. George Harrison, the guitarist of the Beatles, recorded a disc there in 1968. Feel free to stroll through the Fort district, authentic and fascinating. Continue our road towards Chatrapati Shivaji Terminus, C.S.T., only railway station classified UNESCO World Heritage. Continue a little further to arrive at the Crawford Market, a colorful market, the ideal place if you want to bring some spices from your trip.

Back to Fort for dinner: there are many good restaurants

Day 2 : Bombay, Malabar Hill

Take a taxi, head to Malabar Hill, residential area. A few moments on the beach of Chowpatty. A short trip to Mani Bhavan, the house of Mahatma Gandhi, and then on the way to the Hanging Gardens and the Tower of Silence. Lunch break at Oh Calcutta, one of the best bengalaise cuisine restaurants. The afternoon will be devoted to the visit of the Jain Temple, Mahalaxmi Temple and Haji Ali Dargah. Before taking the train at Mahalaxmi station, visit the Dhobi Ghât. Back to the Churchgate station, then head to Marine Drive, on the roof of the Intercontinental Hotel, at the Dome, for a drink while watching the sunset on the "pearl necklace". Your stay ends in a very nice way.

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Bombay le temps d'un week-end

  • 2 jours
  • Printemps
  • Automne
  • Hiver
  • Tout public
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Faible

La grande ville du sud de l'île accueille bien entendu de très nombreux voyageurs. Elle est d'ailleurs considérée par beaucoup comme l'une des principales portes d'entrées du sous continent. Elle est très facilement accessible aux voyageurs du monde entier, aux aventureux comme aux plus casaniers.

Galerie photos

Statue de Halahala Lokeshwara au Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya (anciennement musée Prince of Wales). Porte de l'Inde.

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • MUMBAI
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Bombay le temps d'un week-end - 2 jours

Jour 1 : Bombay, The Gateway of India

Une fois délesté de vos bagages, prenez un taxi et partez directement en direction de la Gateway Of India. Cet édifice, emblématique de la ville, a été construit comme un arc de triomphe pour commémorer la visite du roi George V et de la reine Mary. Ironiquement, lorsque le Raj a pris fin en 1947, ce symbole colonial est aussi devenu la porte de sortie du dernier régiment de l'armée britannique. Retournez-vous et pénétrez dans le très célèbre Taj Mahal Hotel. A l'intérieur, des boutiques, des salons de thé, des restaurants et une librairie qui vend des cartes postales. Remontez Shivaji Maharaj Marg, en direction du Regal Cinema. En face, le Café Royal, le Mondegar ou le Leopold Café pour faire une pause bière ou jus de fruits. Le quartier regorge de boutiques en tout genre. Sur votre gauche, Colaba Causeway. Cette rue est liée à l'histoire physique de Mumbai. Elle a été construite par les Britanniques pour relier l'île de Colaba à Bombay. C'est l'heure de la pause-déjeuner, vous n'avez que l'embarras du choix.

Remontez ensuite sur Kala Ghoda en direction du National Gallery of Modern Art sur Madame Cama Road. Cette galerie présente régulièrement des expos d'art contemporain, beaucoup de peintures et quelques sculptures. Continuez sur la même rue jusqu'à la bibliothèque David Sassoon. Entrez et faites un tour dans ce bâtiment de style gothique vénitien qui fut achevé en 1870. Tournez à gauche, sur Fuller Road et longez Karmaveer Bhaurao Patil Marg. En face l'Oval Maidan et les joueurs de cricket et, sur votre droite, le magnifique Rajabai Clock Tower, l'université de Mumbai et Hight Court. Marchez tout droit, tournez à droite, vous êtes aux abords de la Flora Fountain. En remontant sur Veer Nariman Road, l'Horniman Circle et le Jimmy Boy Café, idéal pour une nouvelle pause. Tournez à gauche, empruntez SA Brelvi Road, puis Sir Pherozeshah Metha Road, vous arrivez au Bombay Store. Ce grand magasin est une caverne d'Ali Baba remplie de cadeaux-souvenirs originaux à rapporter dans vos bagages. Sur la façade d'un immeuble en face, si vous levez la tête et cherchez bien, vous trouverez un panneau publicitaire avec un petit chien et un gramophone. George Harrison, guitariste des Beatles, y a enregistré un disque en 1968. N'hésitez pas à flâner dans le quartier de Fort, authentique et fascinant. Continuons notre route en direction de Chatrapati Shivaji Terminus, C.S.T., seule gare classée au patrimoine mondial par l'Unesco. Continuez un peu plus loin pour arriver au Crawford Market, un marché aux mille couleurs, le lieu idéal si vous désirez ramener de votre voyage des épices.

Retour vers Fort pour le dîner : les bonnes tables y sont légion.

Jour 2 : Bombay, Malabar Hill

Prenez un taxi, direction Malabar Hill, quartier résidentiel. Quelques instants sur la plage de Chowpatty. Un petit tour au Mani Bhavan, la maison du Mahatma Gandhi, puis en route pour les Hanging Gardens (Jardins suspendus) et la Tower of Silence (Tour du silence). Pause-déjeuner au Oh Calcutta, l'une des meilleures tables de cuisine bengalaise. L'après-midi sera consacré à la visite du Jain Temple, du Mahalaxmi Temple et du Haji Ali Dargah. Avant de prendre le train à la station Mahalaxmi, visitez le Dhobi Ghât. Retour à la station Churchgate, puis direction Marine Drive, sur le toit de l'Intercontinental Hotel, au Dome, pour prendre un verre en contemplant le coucher de soleil sur le " collier de perles ". Votre séjour se termine en beauté.

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonté dans l’éditeur