Bombay in one week in all seasons

  • 7 days
  • Spring
  • Autumn
  • Winter
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Friends
  • Group
  • Culture / Heritage
  • Low

The majority of travelers unfortunately dedicate only a limited time to Bombay and it is a pity as the city has something to offer! Here is how to discover the quintessence of this vast megalopolis in southern India.

Photo gallery

Statue of Halahala Lokeshwara at the Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya (formerly Prince of Wales Museum). India door. Plage beach. Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya (Prince of Wales Museum), Mumbai.

Loading in progress...

Please wait

Steps

  • Mumbai
add steps

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Details of the stay: Bombay in one week in all seasons - 7 days

Day 1 : Gateway Of India

Your stay begins at the Gateway Of India. Admire the Taj Mahal Palace and then walk through Colaba, go down to the end of the town in Navy Nagar. Here, you can find one of the most interesting churches of Mumbai, the Afghan Church. Return to your steps, head to Fort for a lunch break in one of the many parsis restaurants in the area. Stroll through the neighbourhood streets, around the Horniman Circle, Ballard Estate, and the country's stock exchange, and then admire C.S.T. station, the former Victoria Terminus station listed as World Heritage. Continue the visit by the Crawford Market and its surroundings. The old covered market abounds with stalls of spices and dried fruit. Return to the hotel to cool off and change before dinner.

Day 2 : The island of Elephanta and Colaba

After breakfast, go to the Gateway Of India: take the boat to the island of Elephanta. Tours and crossings should take you from 4 to 5 hours. Return to Colaba for lunch in one of the many cafés, restaurants, bars of the district (the Mondegar, Leopold...) and share with other tourists your first impressions. A visit to the Prince of Wales museum is required. Built to commemorate King George's visit, the museum was inaugurated in 1923. It offers exhibitions of art, archaeology and natural history, as well as important Western painting donations from the Tata family. In the evening, return to Kala Ghoda for a meal in Khyber. We will end the evening in an old Art Deco cinema still active, such as Regal in Colaba or Eros in Churchgate. A surrealist atmosphere guaranteed.

Day 3 : Malabar Hill

Take a taxi, head to Malabar Hill, residential area. A few moments on the beach of Chowpatty. A short trip to Mani Bhavan, the house of Mahatma Gandhi, then on the road for the Hanging gardens and Tower of Silence. Lunch break at Oh Calcutta, one of the best bengalaise cuisine restaurants. The afternoon will be devoted to the visit of the Jain Temple, Mahalaxmi Temple and Haji Ali Dargah. Before taking the train at Mahalaxmi Station, visit the Dhobi Ghât. Back to Churchgate station, then head to Marine Drive, on the roof of the Intercontinental Hotel, at the Dome, for a drink while watching the sunset on the "pearl necklace". Your day ends in a very nice way.

Day 4 : Churchgate et Juhu

Take the train to Bandra at Churchgate Station: on the program shopping in trendy boutiques, stroll on the promenade Carter Road and then, lunch at one of the many trendy restaurants of Pala Hill. In the afternoon, go to Juhu by autorickshaw: visit of the ISKCON temple and the surrounding streets. In the late afternoon, walk along the Juhu beach to observe the multitude of mumbaikers coming to take the cost, while enjoying the Mumbai Street Food, a speciality of the city. Return by autorickshaw to Santa Cruz station and then to Churchgate by train.

Day 5 : Chor Bazaar

Chor Bazaar, the market for thieves, is a kind of flea market, the largest in India, renowned for its antique shops. But if you have not revised your short manual of Victorian art, it is better not to risk it. On the other hand, you'll find very beautiful Bollywood posters from 1950s, 1960s and 1970s in good condition. Afternoon relaxation in a Spa with Ayurvedic massage at the Rudra Spa and Salon at Kemp's Corner.

Day 6 : Borivali

Departure early in the morning at Borivali Gandhi National Park in Borivali. Greenery as far as the eye can see, hills, lakes, forests and lots of free animals, such as panthers, tigers, reptiles and lots of birds and especially the Kanheri Caves, a set of Buddhist rock caves. The Sanjay Gandhi Park is the lung of the city. Lunch in the neighbourhood then, go to Gorai to admire the World Peace Pagoda, a breathtaking Buddhist pagoda.

Day 7 : Dharavi

Some tourist agencies enjoy the success of the film Slumdog Millionaireand offer slums tours, especially that of Dharavi. The circuits are very interesting and will allow you to discover the life of the largest slum in Asia. You can also opt for a bike tour of the city, accompanied by a guide who will explain all the secrets of "Maximum City".

You will be able to modify it at will in the editor

Bombay en une semaine en toute saison

  • 7 jours
  • Printemps
  • Automne
  • Hiver
  • Solo
  • Couple
  • Amis
  • Groupe
  • Culture / Patrimoine
  • Faible

La majorité des voyageurs ne consacrent malheureusement qu'un temps limité à Bombay et c'est bien dommage tant la ville a à offrir ! Voici comment découvrir la quintessence de cette vaste mégalopole du sud de l'Inde.

Galerie photos

<p>Statue de Halahala Lokeshwara au Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya (anciennement musée Prince of Wales).</p> <p>Porte de l'Inde.</p> Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya (Prince of Wales Museum), Mumbai. <p>Le Taj Mahal Palace.</p>

Chargement en cours...

Veuillez patientier

Étapes

  • Mumbai
ajouter les étapes

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur

Détail du séjour : Bombay en une semaine en toute saison - 7 jours

Jour 1 : Gateway Of India

Votre séjour commence à la Gateway Of India. Admirez le Taj Mahal Palace et promenez-vous ensuite dans Colaba, descendez jusqu'à l'extrémité de la ville à Navy Nagar. On y trouve l'une des plus intéressantes églises de Mumbai, l'Afghan Church. Revenez sur vos pas, direction Fort pour une pause déjeuner dans l'un des nombreux restaurants parsis du quartier. Flâner dans les rues du quartier, autour de l'Horniman Circle, de Ballard Estate, et du centre boursier du pays puis allez admirer C.S.T. station, l'ancienne gare Victoria Terminus classée au patrimoine mondial. Continuez la visite par le Crawford Market et ses environs. Le vieux marché couvert foisonne d'échoppes d'épices et de fruits secs. Retour à l'hôtel pour vous rafraîchir et vous changer avant le dîner.

Jour 2 : L'île d'Elephanta et Colaba

Après le petit déjeuner, direction la Gateway Of India : prenez le bateau pour l'île d'Elephanta. Visites et traversées devraient vous prendre de 4 à 5 heures. Retour à Colaba pour déjeuner dans l'un des nombreux cafés, restaurants, bars du quartier (le Mondegar, le Leopold...) et partager avec d'autres touristes vos premières impressions. Une visite du musée Prince of Wales s'impose. Construit pour commémorer la visite du roi George, le musée a été inauguré en 1923. Il propose des expositions d'art, d'archéologie et d'histoire naturelle ainsi que d'importants dons de peinture occidentale de la famille Tata. Le soir, retour à Kala Ghoda pour un repas au Khyber. On terminera la soirée dans un vieux cinéma Art déco encore en activité comme le Regal à Colaba ou l'Eros à Churchgate. Ambiance surréaliste garantie.

Jour 3 : Malabar Hill

Prenez un taxi, direction Malabar Hill, quartier résidentiel. Quelques instants sur la plage de Chowpatty. Un petit tour au Mani Bhavan, la maison du Mahatma Gandhi, puis en route pour les Hanging Gardens (Jardins Suspendus) et la Tower of Silence. Pause-déjeuner au Oh Calcutta, l'une des meilleures tables de cuisine bengalaise. L'après-midi sera consacré à la visite du Jain Temple, du Mahalaxmi Temple et du Haji Ali Dargah. Avant de prendre le train à la station Mahalaxmi, visitez le Dhobi Ghât. Retour à la station Churchgate, puis direction Marine Drive, sur le toit de l'Intercontinental Hotel, au Dome, pour prendre un verre en contemplant le coucher de soleil sur le "collier de perles". Votre journée se termine en beauté.

Jour 4 : Churchgate et Juhu

Prenez le train pour Bandra à la station Churchgate : au programme shopping dans les boutiques branchées, balade sur la promenade à Carter Road puis déjeuner dans l'un des nombreux restaurants trendy de Pala Hill. L'après-midi direction Juhu en autorickshaw : visite de l'ISKCON temple et des rues environnantes. En fin d'après-midi promenade sur la plage de Juhu pour observer la multitude de mumbaikers venus prendre le frais, le tout en dégustant de laMumbai Street Food, une spécialité de la ville. Retour en autorickshaw vers la station Santa Cruz, puis en train vers Churchgate.

Jour 5 : Chor Bazaar

Chor Bazaar, le marché aux voleurs, est une sorte de marché aux puces, le plus grand d'Inde, réputé pour ses boutiques d'antiquités. Mais si vous n'avez pas révisé votre petit manuel de l'art victorien, mieux vaut ne pas s'y risquer. Vous trouvez par contre de très belles affiches de Bollywood des années 1950, 1960 et 1970 en bon état. Après-midi détente dans un Spa avec massage ayurvédique au Rudra Spa and Salon à Kemp's Corner.

Jour 6 : Borivali

Départ tôt le matin au Sanjay Gandhi National Park de Borivali. Du vert à perte de vue, des collines, des lacs, des forêts et des tas d'animaux en liberté, comme des panthères, des tigres, des reptiles et des tas d'oiseaux et surtout les Kanheri Caves, un ensemble de grottes bouddhistes rupestres. Le parc Sanjay Gandhi est le poumon de la ville. Déjeuner dans le quartier puis direction Gorai pour admirer la World Peace Pagoda, une pagode bouddhiste époustouflante.

Jour 7 : Dharavi

Certaines agences de tourisme surfent sur le succès du film Slumdog Millionaire et propose des visites de bidonvilles et notamment celui de Dharavi. Les circuits sont fort intéressants et vous permettront de découvrir la vie du plus grand bidonville d'Asie. Vous pouvez aussi opter pour une visite à vélo de la ville, accompagné par un guide qui vous expliquera tous les secrets de " Maximum City ".

Vous pourrez le modifier à volonter dans l’éditeur